We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real holiday hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunrise from pool with sea view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise from pool with sea view
Sea views/sunrise from pool Spa pool and terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Sunrise from pool with sea view
Sea views/sunrise from pool
Spa pool and terrace
Sunrise and pool
Sun terrace
Sun terrace with spa pol
Sun terrace
Courtyard in bloom
Courtyard with grapevine
Courtyard
Kitchen
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2 with laundry machine
Sunrise from the house
Local taverna 'Metaximas' just a minutes walk
Sunrise from the house
Easter in the neighbouring village of Prygos
Sunrise from the houseover the island of anafi
Sunset from nearby Santo wines winery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Steve S
Ringstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A real holiday hideaway”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This accommodation was very different from anywhere we've stayed before - in fact we hadn't appreciated how far underground it extended. A long passageway led to two of the bedrooms which remained cool during the summer heat even though we didn't use the a/c at all. The large well-equipped kitchen contained a very welcome supply of basics including beer and wine on arrival from the airport. Two bathrooms proved most convenient for our party which spent a great deal of time in the delightful courtyard where we ate all our meals. The sun-worshippers among us made good use of the terrace and refreshing splash pool above the apartment - a great place to enjoy a long cool drink. We really didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely quiet location.
Liked least: It was all just right but you can't get a car right up to the property - though maybe that's a good thing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyliemcq
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family friendly oasis in perfect location”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Words cannot describe how thrilled we were to arrive at Cavern House Helios after a hectic two weeks in the UK with 22 month-old in tow. The house really is an oasis within the perfectly located village of Exo Gonia and only a stone's throw away from the best (and best value for money!) Taverna on the island. Hosts Sarah and Eddy not only had a cot all set up for our son to have a nap straight away but welcomed us into the house with wine, beer and a welcome pack of fresh bread, delicious cheese and ham. The house is well-appointed with a full kitchen and plenty of equipment as well as a laundry (if you're desperate to do some washing, which we were!).

Apart from the excellent facilities and the fantastic dip-pool on the roof (which our son just loved) the thing that makes a stay here a fantastic experience is the knowledge and advice that Sarah and Eddy provide about how to get the best out of your stay in Santorini. Living locally themselves, they are always happy to point you in the direction of the best beaches to visit and the best places to eat - vegetarian foods a speciality. Their warmth and enthusiasm for making their guests welcome and to have a good time is one of the reasons we will definitely be going back to stay at the Cavern House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cavern House was like a home away from home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey C
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and comfortable cave house near the best taverna on the island!”
Reviewed 30 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I recently stayed at Helios for five days in September with a group of friends and we thouroughly enjoyed our stay here. We rented a car for the time we were on the island and on arrival we were met at the nearby town of Pyrgos and shown the way to our accomodation. Sarah and Eddy were very helpful and provided us with an information pack for the house and things to do on the island, as well as a complimentary bottle of local wine and a few other goodies. They were also able to recommend and book us a sunset boat tour which was lots of fun!

The inside of Helios is a good size but cosy, nicely furnished and has lovely cave tunnels going to the back bedrooms (very comfy beds too)! We ended up spending a large amount of time in the lower courtyard which was shady and comfortable and we even had a barbeque one evening. Just off the courtyard there are stairs up to the patio with plunge pool and sunbathing area which has views over the valley and a shady area for when the sun is too hot!

The accomodation had all the ammenities we could need for the week, and we spent many evenings catering for ourselves and a couple of evenings at the local taverna which I would highly recommend. The food was delicious and very good value for money. It also had a very nice local atmosphere.

The only minor disadvantage of the property is that it is relatively isolated, and although we were within walking distance of local wine tasting and probably the best taverna on the island, I would recommend hiring a car or quad bike to see the rest of the island and to pick up things from the supermarket. (I would recommend this wherever you stay though!) Also, the patio is in the shade in the late afternoon and evening (so not ideal if you are a very late rising sunbather).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful shady courtyard, homely feel, comfy beds, fantastic taverna nearby!
Liked least: Slightly isolated location but this is not a problem if you are renting a car or quad bike or are looking for a quiet holiday away from it all :)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birds0fpa...
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful Villa on a Beautiful Island!”
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Cavern House Helios was a gem. Our trip to Santorini was one of my favorites. (And I have visited about 34 countries!) If you stay in the Cavern House Helios you will need a rental car. (about $40 per day). Sarah will go out of her way to help you with anything, They met us at the airport, arranged a rental car and took us to the villa. When departing Eddy accompanied us to the airport and assisted in turning in rental car. There is an excellent restaurant about 100 metters from the villa, called Maximas, excellent! We went on a day cruise on a catamaran, we went to Calderas Spa for a couples massage, we participating in a cooking class and watched the most beautiful sunsets. We will be back! Enjoy your stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location on Santorini, almost midway to everything.
Liked least: Our stay was way to short!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice G
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise in Paradise”
Reviewed 1 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I arrived by ferry. Our ferry was about 45 minutes late but Eddy waited for us patiently at the port. He then drove us up to the villa and helped us get our luggage inside. We were overwhelmed by the beauty of this place. The photos just cannot even capture how wonderful it is. We arrived to find plenty of food and beer/wine in the fridge which is just what we needed after our long ferry ride. Eddy let us settle in and then drove us down to the bike shop and helped us hire quad bikes so we could get around the island. He also recommended some great places for us to go to - such as the nearby taverna (Metaximas?) which is by far the best food on the island, and the nearby winery (Santo wines) which has a gorgeous view of the sunset (personally I thought it was better than Oia - which gets too crowded during the sunset). Four more of our friends arrived a bit later, so there were 6 of us staying in the villa. We were very comfortable and the rooms were nice and cool and spacious. We had everything we could possibly need at the villa, but I'm sure if there was something we needed Sarah and Eddy would not hesitate to help us. The location of the villa is perfect. It is situated in Exo Gonia, right in the middle of the island, which makes it very easy to explore everywhere on quad bike. The outdoor courtyard was an ideal place for BBQs, surrounded by beautiful flowers and grape vines. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place. Sarah and Eddy are very lovely people and will make you feel entirely comfortable. Sarah was extremely helpful when we found out our afternoon ferry to Ios was cancelled and had to return our bikes, pack, get to the port and buy our tickets for another ferry all within an hour - she rushed over immediately after finding out and drove us around. Thank you for the most wonderful week of my life so far. I am most definitely returning sometime in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sun terrace with sea views and the pool
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 276
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing