We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rethymnon old town apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious living room with home theater and air-conditioning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with home theater and air-conditioning
The sound system can be connected with your iPod/smartphone Second floor patio with views to the castle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Spacious living room with home theater and air-conditioning
The sound system can be connected with your iPod/smartphone
Second floor patio with views to the castle
Second floor patio with views to the castle
Stay in the heart of the Old Town
First floor balcony with views to the Old Town
Fully equipped kitchen with fridge, freezer, oven with hob and microwave
A dishwasher is provided
French press, kettle, espresso machine, teapot, juicer, toaster and blender
Second floor twin bedroom
Second floor twin bedroom
First floor queen bedroom
First floor queen bedroom
First floor queen bedroom
This sofa can be converted to an additional bed
Double bed for additional guests
Second floor bathroom
First floor bathroom with clothes washing machine
Ample dining space
A hairdryer is available
We provide clean towels, shampoo and shower gel
We offer beach towels
English board games are provided; including Jenga, Scrabble, Monopoly, Uno, chess
Available on request
Map of Rethymno town center, displaying the property's convenient location
Exterior of the house
The entrance to the house is on the left
This fabulous beach is a 5 minute walk from the house
The Venetian Harbour is down the street
Rimondi fountain is around the corner
The street where the house is located
Explore the picturesque alleys of the Old Town around the house
Shop for souvenirs in the quaint little stores
The surrounding area has rich nightlife if you fancy a drink
Alana restaurant offers fine dining nearby
A grocery store is available in the neighbourhood
Enjoy fresh produce every day of the week
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
steveD240...
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Rethymnon old town apartment”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Excellently placed in the old town with its restaurants & bars. Spacious and nice roof terrace. Very clean and well appointed; excellent sound system, dishwasher fridge/freezer coffee machines etc. Only minor points would be a bit more crockery so you did not keep having to taking it out of the dish washer because you ran out, which is obviously petty so you can see can see I am struggling to find negatives.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val B
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Accomodation”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time I have been to Rethymno and both times stayed with famil and friends in the Old Town Veranda House. The location is perfect, right in the town and a few steps to shopping, bars and restaurants. The house itself sleeps four people and is like a home away from home. Everything possible is available, board games, DVD's, kitchen equiped with a large fridge and all the basics to begin your holiday. A washing machine, beach towels and much much more. Highly recommend this place for a comfortable, roomy and convenient holiday home in the beautiful Rethymno.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: convenience and comfort
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angiecal2...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic place to stay! Our family of four - two adults, two teenage children were very sad to leave.
The house is spotless and very spacious, the photos do not do it justice. The kitchen has everything you would need, but the excellent variety of cafes and restaurants literally on our doorstep meant we ate out most of the time. There are two large shower rooms - a huge benefit when holidaying with teenagers!
We particularly loved sitting on the front balcony having our morning coffee while watching the busy street below.
The location is perfect - right in the middle of the old town, there is a supermarket nearby and the organised beach is about a 15 minute walk away. The property is in a busy location, but once the door to the balcony is closed the house is quiet.
The owner Valanti was very helpful and was always available to respond to our queries. We did not arrive in Rethymnon till 1am due to flight delay but he was still there to greet us.
I cannot recommend this property enough, we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris Z
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place to stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The unit is centrally located in the Old Town section..It is a very busy area with many great places to eat and a lot of shops. We felt very comfortable allowing our teenage grandchildren to explore the area on their own. The house is above a bakery with a little balcony from which we could look down upon all bustling activities in the street below. With the doors closed it was quiet and comfortable inside. The owners helped us bring in our luggage and had homemade cookies waiting for us. Th houses clean and roomy and the beds are comfortable. The centra location is good for exploring the countryside if you have a car.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chillihit
Whitstable
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great House in a great town”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A great house - we could happily have lived in it, not just for a holiday. It's really big - spacious lounge diner and kitchen area and good bedrooms. Plenty of kitchen equipment, bedding, towels (including beach towels). It was probably the best equipped place we have ever stayed. There is a washing machine and a clothes line, also a dvd player so bring along some of your favourite films or programs to watch. Wifi was excellent - we just plugged in the surface pro and had a working office for our stay. Wifi was generally good throughout Rethymnon. The roof terrace was a suntrap and the balcony was lovely for sitting and watching the action in the street.

Valanti met us at the harbour when we arrived to show us to the house - all very easy. He speaks excellent English and we saw him quite a few times during our stay.

The bakery below sold excellent bread and cakes (NB nicer bread than the supermarket - we liked the large white loaf best). There was a supermarket round the corner which stocked pretty much everything at reasonable prices.

The house is in the heart of the old town withs atmospheric maze of streets. As it's a university town it has a nice young vibe and was pleasantly bustling even in early season. The harbour and the beach are a 10-15 minutes walk, a bit further if you want to go the nicer stretches of beach a bit further along the seafront. You can walk through backstreets if you want some shade. We liked the bit by the Batis hotel where the guy was really friendly and you could use his sunbeds if you bought a drink (which he was happy to bring on the beach for you).

We hired a car and it's true the Cretans drive like nutters (also ride their scooters right in front of you and just step out in front of you to cross the road). We joked that is is like one of those driving video games. It's nice and quiet driving in the countryside but the towns are a bit scary. We found the best route into Rethymnon was to take the 3rd Rethymnon exit on the road from Heraklion (or the first from Chania direction). This takes you out past the fort and you can then go back towards the fort without passing through town. When you approach the fort there is a dusty car park which was our preferred parking - you could then walk down the road where the supermarket is to get back to the house (5 minutes or less).

If you don't fancy hiring a car the bus station is the other side of the fort (about 10 minutes walk). In any case we spent most of our time walking around Rethymnon - there is plenty to see and do.

There are literally hundreds of restaurants to choose from - we found the food in Crete to be excellent. It has an amazing climate and so much fresh produce. Our favourites were Raki ba Raki (traditional but innovative greek cooking) and BBQ Mamalukis (a kebab place crammed every night with students and locals where you could get a meal with wine for 20-30 euros for the three of us). Lemonokipos (on the large square round the corner) was a lovely place to spend the evening. We ate at lots of places and never had a bad meal. The bar Cul-de-Sac (by the fountain) was the place to sit with a drink and people watch - always packed with locals and tourists despite the smelly drain nearby! Excellent cold beer and wine and nippy waitresses who could balance whole trays on their fingertips and always remembered your favourites.

If you get the chance go to the market on Thursday morning - amazing produce and atmosphere.

Hoping to return sometime soon - loved everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Dear Ceri & George,
Thank you for providing such a detailed and honest review. Future visitors will sure appreciate all these great tips and recommendations. Rethymno indeed has a young vibe - lots of university students. There is a large number of quality restaurants in the Old Town, so one can eat to his heart’s content. Next time you visit Crete, dinner is on us!
Kind Regards,
Valanti Gasparis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing