We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time diving during Honeymoon”

Kalypso Dive Center & School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kalypso Rock's Palace dive shop lies within the premises of Kalypso Cretan Village Resort & Spa hotel, close to the village of Plakias, on the south coast of Rethymnon prefecture in Crete. Next to the amazing Karavos beach, also known as "the Pirates' Fjord", it offers the opportunity to spend the most amazing day of your holiday, either scuba diving or snorkeling with us or enjoying the rest of your time swimming or relaxing in the hotel's luxurious facilities, which include swimming pools, bars, restaurants and of course affordable accommodation.Our dive school offers the full range of PADI certifications, as well as accompanied dives for kids and adults (scuba or snorkeling) or certified divers. We rent all necessary equipment (mask, snorkel, fins, wetsuit, tank, BCD, regulator) and we provide a free pickup and transport service from all touristic areas of Rethymnon county. Our staff can speak English, French, German, Spanish, Hungarian, Polish, Russian, Czech, Serbian and of course Greek. Come and learn how to dive in the deep blue Libyan sea! It will be a day to remember!
Reviewed 13 August 2018

My wife and I used Kalypso during our honeymoon for seeing some of the amazing underwater world around South Crete. The place is perfect for scuba diving as there is so much underwater world, plants, and much more to see.

During the introduction the organisers made sure that everyone who booked for that time was present and it was a wonderful surprise when after asking our names, they mentioned that we were on honeymoon and asked everyone for a round of applause. Really made mine and my wife's day!

Parking is a little tight in the area but we got there well in time so managed to find a decent spot.

We also hired a photographer with our dive and got some excellent pictures. Also, I think the photographer got a little mixed up because when we received the pictures, we were given a few pictures of someone else as well (3-5 I think). But even then we got plenty of pictures of us during the dive, both individually as well as together, which make for some great memories.

Only reason for the 4 star was that we weren't put together for the entire dive, it was probably around 70% of the dive, but it would've been nice to know this in advance or at least be in sight of each other. It would've also been nice to have a proper changing room where the curtian doesn't keep flying out and exposing you.

Overall, however a great experience and highly recommend it.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank Muffingg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"personal instructor"
in 4 reviews
"marine life"
in 6 reviews
"diving experience"
in 7 reviews
"star fish"
in 3 reviews
"hotel pool"
in 6 reviews
"underwater world"
in 5 reviews
"split into groups"
in 3 reviews
"mini market"
in 2 reviews
"making me feel"
in 2 reviews
"amazing instructor"
in 2 reviews
"language groups"
in 2 reviews
"languages spoken"
in 2 reviews
"shallow water"
in 3 reviews
"friendly team"
in 2 reviews
"safety talk"
in 2 reviews
"teenage children"
in 2 reviews
"open water"
in 3 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

As certified divers we booked this after speaking to Dimitrius and Emma at our hotel poolside where they were offering pool scuba try outs.

We booked for 2 dives and were collected on the morning of our dives by Jesper from Denmark. The road to the centre was long and winding but had beautiful scenery with an amazing gorge and eagles soaring on the thermals.

The centre itself is based within the grounds of a nice hotel and we were registered quickly and handed over our valuables for safe keeping.

First dive out was with Natalia, who was excellent. She showed us around and let us see lots of nice shoals of fish, a huge sea wall that was about 20m in height and a nice cave swim through which we all ventured in to. A single fish, which she said loved her, followed her and us all through the dive.

18m for about 48minutes as one of our party had problems with their BCD

2nd dive was with Jerome. We followed the same wall out for a bit then across and down to about 16m to a sunken minivan. We all swam through this and could see lots of marine life of the seabed around it. We saw some nice feather star fish and sea urchins as well as large grouper and octupus hiding in small caves. Another large swim through and down to a small wrecked boat surrounded by fish and other life. A large conch shell and lots of baby fish as well as breeding fish.

We managed an hour at max 24m which is really good for me.

I really liked the shore based diving which is ideal for snorkelers and learners. The bay is very shallow with a gentle drop so it encourages people to gain confidence as they progress through their learning and experience.

Loved the centre. Staff and customers seemed to genuinely enjoy the whole day.i

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank rossmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley J, Public Relations Manager at Kalypso Dive Center & School, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Thank you for the great review. So good to hear from someone who appreciates all that we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

The guys attending our hotel pool and allowed us to try the equipment. My son adapted well and we were sold on a full day adventure with them.
We were collected at 8am. Yes, it is a cramped little van, but it's a small centre, what do you expect?! Trip was pleasant, about 45mins. Driver told us alot about the views and showed us the best bits.
When arriving, they explain the hotel and facilities to you. But I had already asked about this and took food and water from my own hotel to avoid extra charges.
There was a brief theory session, good explanations and then questions.
Then the board is completed with your time slots on.
We snorkeled before our time and this gives you an idea of the layout and fish sticks.
The actual dive was good. Good instructors, attentive with my 16yr old son. At no point did we ever feel unsafe.
Didn't pay for the photos, as at €50 for two, I thought it was too expensive.
On drive home, we stopped in the Canyon and took photos.
All in all, excellent day out and was worth the money.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley J, Public Relations Manager at Kalypso Dive Center & School, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your Discover Scuba Diving day with us. Our main aim with novice divers is to make sure they feel 100% safe in the water and we obviously succeeded! If you are ever in Crete again, do please come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

My daughters first time, she just love it! The instructors was great and the information was good before the dive. Serious and safe with good equipment!

Good opportunity’s for our 3 years old girl to play and swim also

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Vicktoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Had a brilliant discover scuba dive experience with my 14 year old son. One to one tuition, felt safe and fun at all times. The setting was incredible- if the sun is shining well worth rest of the family coming for the pool and facilities.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Adventurer85125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley J, Public Relations Manager at Kalypso Dive Center & School, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

So glad to hear you had a positive experience with us, come back and see us again next time you are in Crete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalypso Dive Center & School also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Kalypso Dive Center & School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing