We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Atmospheric gazebo Outdoor space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Front of property
Atmospheric gazebo
Outdoor space
Night views from the veranda
Swimming pool and amazing morning views
Living room - Main house
Living room - Main house
Living room - Main house
Double bedroom - Main house
Double bedroom - Main house
Twin bedroom - Main house
Views from the swimming pool
Main house - Living room
Kitchen - Main house
Bathroom - Main house
Swimming pool and Garden
Outdoor space
Swimming pool by night
Studio
Studio
Studio
Studio - Kitchen
Studio - Bathroom
Studio - Entrance
Stone fountain
The Venetian port of Rethymno
An alley at the old town of Rethymno
Balos - Gramvousa
Rethymno
Georgioupolis
Ammoudi
Seitan Limania
Rethymno
Glyka nera
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
murphyn59
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The villa was amazing, well kept with a lovely personal touch. The villa offers you privacy and is yet only a 5 min. drive away from the old town of Rethymno. A car is a must if you rent this villa. The pool is just perfect with a great view of the mountains. Wi Fi is freely available in the main house and the studio. The owners have a lovely dog called Ermis who we loved but they will take him away if your not fond of dogs.

Overall condition of the property Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you for your positive feedback! I am glad you enjoyed yourselves!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super-villa!”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four (kids 11 and 12 years old) had the most wonderful stay at Villa Metochi in July 2015.
The villa is very well kept, well equiped (we only missed a dishwasher) and has a nice personal touch. The beds are of a good quality as well.
The owner/hostess is very friendly and serviceminded. At our arrival she had put forward appetizers (olives, cheese and bread), fresh fruits, a bottle of decent white wine and a bottle of table water. This tells you everything about a hostess, who sincerely wants you to have a good stay - mission accomplished :o)

The covered porch/terrace (with a nice view to the sea and mountains) and outdoor BBQ area are very lovely and provides you shade. If you really need to be cooled off the pool is just perfect! With a depth of 1,40 meters and app. 10 meters in length it is possible for adults to actually have a fairly good swim. People with younger children might miss a baby-pool. However, we and especially our children loved to play, dive and swim in the pool!
The villa offers you privacy and is yet only a 5 min. drive away from the fascinating and very cozy old town of Rethymno. A car is a must if you rent this villa as there is no bus service in the area. Before going to Rethymno we stayed a week in Chania, which also a is very nice town but it misses some of Rethymnos intimacy.
The villa is also perfectly situated in terms of doing excursions all over Crete.

We also loved Villa Metochis dog (Ermis). It is very sweet and absolutely not aggressive in any way. He can without a worry be trusted by people not used to dogs. If you do not want the dog at the villa during your vacation, the owner will take care of that as well.
The only bad thing we have to say about our stay at Villa Metochi is that we every night got disturbed several times by the neighborhood dogs barking. When one dog got started the neighboring dogs joined in. Ermis is also taking part in this...
However, Greece is known for having a lot of dogs (and dogs do bark :o), so we assume this is more or less a part of the "greek package". We had the same "barking problem" at the other villa we rented in Chania.

All in all we will most definitely recommend a stay at Villa Metochi to anyone whishing to visit the lovely town of Rethymno and enjoying privacy at the same time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire villa and the pool.
Liked least: Lack of dishwasher and barking dogs at night.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thank you Henrik for your detailed review and for taking great care of the villa during your stay. We would be glad to have you again as our guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob I
1 review
“Brilliant- that's it......... Just brilliant”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just come back from a fab week at the villa. First time in many years when we can honestly say we didn't want to come home. The place was great, loads of room for our family of 4 and the kids loved the pool and the very friendly dog. Location was just right, only 5 minute drive down the hill to the main town and plenty of parking available around the beach front.

Highly recommend the villa and location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Many thanks for the excellent review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall quality of the house
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer .
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kate V
Loutra, Greece
1 review
“Wonderful impressions about Villa Metochi and Rethimno”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What to say about Villa Metochi and about Rethimno… We are a family of 4 (2 kids 5 and 3 years old) and our stay at the villa was brilliant! We absolutely liked everything: location, countryside, outdoor, interior of the house. The villa is close enough to Rethimno and finding grocery shops is more than easy. The outdoor of the villa is just gorgeous: a lot of green, beautiful and colorful flowers, fruit trees, big spaces for kids to play around, many places to sit and enjoy the sun or the shadow, big BBQ, grass, etc. It seems that owners have spend a lot of time looking after all these trees and plants. The interior is equally beautiful and tasteful. It has an amazing rustic style with nice details in the furniture. In the upper part of a wall there were several old farming tools and it was interesting to see how local farmers were working many years ago. The kitchen is small but very functional and fully equipped. Rooms were spacious with excellent mattresses in the beds and enough space in the closets. Both the veranda and the BBQ area were excellent and spacious enough for having lunch or for just sitting and looking around the area, the stunning views, the garden and the swimming pool. The wifi was working perfectly and the speed was good.
The town of Rethimno was a lovely surprise! A nice, picturesque, lively town with many worth visiting places such as the beautiful old town, the castle and the old port. The beach was another nice surprise: a very long sandy beach, well organized, shallow waters ideal for kids. We also visited Chania and Heraklion, but we consider that Rethimno is irresistible and charming.
Our overall impressions were more that excellent. We were welcomed warmly by owner and we were given some special details. We will recommend this place to our friends and family and we would definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing