We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would love to return ASAP”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Knossos Estate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Pool
The kiosk
The playground
Panoramic views
Barbecue
Wheelchair ramp
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Norwegian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Vanessad1...
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would love to return ASAP”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

AMAZING!!! Just returned from a week break at Knossos Estate! 3 families consisting of 6 adults and 6 children. Had an amazing amount of space so we were never on top of each other! Pool and pool area were perfect and always spotlessly clean!
Maria manages the estate soooo well, she is always available to help and nothing is ever too much trouble!! Thank you Maria!
We had a Greek feast on the first night as catered by the villa chef! Would highly recommend!! Was lovely to have food there when we checked in too!
We also had a few take away deliveries from restaurants as recommended by Maria!! Again food was v good and great portions. Made life very easy.
Bedrooms all good sizes and kitchen and lounge areas are well equipped with everything you need.
Would really love a return visit as soon as we can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dehmandre...
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“This place is as unbelievably beautiful as it looks on the photos.!”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our family of 16 spent an incredible week in this town near to beautiful beaches and historic sites including Maroulas Village and Preveli Beach and Monastary in the hills above Rethymno. All of us from age 10 months to 60 years enjoyed the scenic mountains and flowering bushes along roadsides everywhere. The Cretan people are very friendly and welcoming and made a very heartfelt impression on all of us.!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isted
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What can I say ? Words cannot describe how amazing this villa is . 10 of my family were there for a week to celebrate my 60th birthday. The villa is beyond luxurious, Maria and Manos are there to help with your every need and Monos keeps the pool , grounds and gardens looking immaculate. The villa is very well equipped , the taxi firm know exactly where the villa is and after a day know exactly how many taxis are needed , there is a Lidl nearby €8 in a taxi , the BBQ area is stunning ,you can buy coals from Manos first bucket is free , the town with its beautiful restaurants and harbour are €8 taxi ride away . We highly recommend lemon tree garden restaurant in the old town and mouragio taverna a fish restaurant in the Venetian harbour
Will we return? yes I'm 100% we will , this is a fantastic place to holiday with friends and family , very safe and secure , no hassle and very peaceful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gegg79
Alesund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday at Knossos Estate”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just recently come back from a breath-taking holiday on Crete. We spent 16 days in the luxurious – as close to heaven on earth as possible – villa Knossos Estate in Rethymnon.
Situated on a hill overlooking the fascinating town it offers a stunning view of the old town with the castle both at daytime and also at nighttime when the castle is lit.
The villa itself is a miracle that must be experienced. We were 8 adults and 6 children and since there are 7 bedrooms, every family had their own – even the kids. The villa also has 4 bathrooms which made quarreling and queing in the mornings non-existing.
The pool was also perfect. We have never seen such an extraordinarily clean pool. With an abundance of pleasant sunbeds, there was also no need to hurry in the morning.
During our stay, we visited four restaurants, Mouragio, Agrimia, Lemon Tree Garden and Korfi, the latter just down the street within walking distance (even if walking along the street is not recommendable since there are no pavements and heavy traffic). All the restaurants can be recommended. In the villa was also the menus from local catering firms. We ordered from them twice – good and rather cheap food. If you get tired of restaurant food, you can always make your own in the villa, it is perfectly equipped with everything you need.
We made our grocery shopping at two supermarkets, the nearest being Lidl only about one kilometer from the villa. Take the main road in the direction of Chania and leave at the first exit. The place was a bit crowded so we found another one, Synka. The main road in the opposite direction, exite at about 4 km and the street back to Rethymnon.
There is an awful lot to see on Crete. Rethymnon with its old town is a must. If you have time, visit the old castle, one of the biggest castles I`ve seen. The beaches are numerous, so you must make a choice. We visited Elafonissi (which is famous for its red sand and thus awfully crowded) and Falassarna. If you have kids, you must take them to one of the waterparks, one in Heraklion and one near Chania, Limnopoulis.
Last but certainly not least, we must mention the fabulous maintenance carried out by Maria, Manos and Anna. They took superb care of both the interior and the exterior. The rooms were tended to by Maria and Anna and it was done in such a way that you could think they were expecting royal guests. The garden was groomed so well by Manos that it was a real joy to walk around in it enjoying the beautiful colours and scents.
We want to give our heartfelt thanks to the crew, Maria, Manos and Anna and to the owners Nikos Sertedakis and his wife and daughter for making it possible to have the holiday of our life.
Greetings from Sindre, Monica, Ella and Luna
Roar, Carina, Sofia, Bastian and Filippa
Geir Harald, Tanja and Nancy
Anita and Harald
MAUSEIDVAAG, NORWAY

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZenaD46
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lasting impression - just WOW”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The second Villa on this estate, Pasaifi, is set in a peaceful hill top overlooking the breathtaking views of the town of Rethymno and the sea.

This is where my family of 13 spent 10 nights in celebration of my 50th birthday, we came home on 5th July very sad to leave. The Villa was everything as described and more.

It was spotlessly clean and very well equipped with so much room that you never felt over crowded.

Waiting for our arrival was the lovely Maria, she was so warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. During our stay She booked us a sunset beach horse trek and arranged a discount and transport to the stables.
Later on in our stay Maria organised a birthday cake, on request from my family, for a celebration BBQ, which was cooked by Manos, her husband. It was a perfect night.

The pool was large enough for everyone to be in at the same time and the children's section was perfect for our little ones. Manos cleaned it every morning. The play area was brilliant for the children and a few hard faught table tennis games were played amongst the adults.

We didn't hire a car and although we took taxis into town and to the local lidals they were never any more than €9 each way.

The old town of Rethymno is full of beautiful shops selling clothes, jewellery, shoes and many souvenirs. Scattered amongst the shops and in the alleyways you will find lots of quaint tavernas, all very pretty and reasonably priced.

In the Venetian harbour there are plenty of restaurants specialising in fresh fish dishes. It was here we had the best meal of our holiday.

The Cretans are so warm and welcoming and love their Raki, which they bring out after your meal, it's an acquired taste to say the least but when in Crete..... YAMMAS

The beach to the right of the marina is worth a visit, the sand is golden and clean and with sun beds with parasols to rent €5 each and a beach bar it makes for a lovely day out.

We would love to return to Knossos Estate Villas in the future and would thoroughly recommend this to anyone wanting an amazing family/group holiday away from the hustle and bustle of a built up hotel strip.

Thank you Maria for being on call whenever we needed you, you certainly helped make our stay a perfect one.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing