We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we thought”
Review of Prince Of Lillies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince Of Lillies
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We had checked out Trip Adviser prior to making this booking and had been pleased with the rating and positive comments. However, this hotel I feel is sailing on previous good reviews received from when the hotel was offering better facilities.

No taverna, no great atmosphere, no friendly staff. All the things that had sold it to us.

The pool area is adequate with sunloungers/umbrellas and a bar area, always seemed quiet.
The beds, very hard, linen changed every other day.
Breakfast was basic, overseen by a rather snappy, miserable lady. Don't question the availability of more coffee etc. should they run out!!

Also I tried to asked for information on cashpoint/exchange.(Not available in Kateros). No help just shrugged.

Bakery across the street is lovely and very reasonably priced too. Also the taverna (turned left outside hotel and just across street on the right). A godsend!. Lovely staff, really great food (extra large servings) with free desserts/drinks offered and very reasonable.

Just not what we hoped for, no warm welcome, homely feel, atmosphere................shame.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2016

spent shortest night in that hotel. the beds were way too hard and very uncomfortable. The room was very warm and humid and the air wasnt circulating at all. there was a AC but no way to turn it on. we only found out next morning that for 5 euros u can get AC. which is alot for just an AC.
During the night there was a ton of mosquitos!!! the humidity and warmth must have attracked them all! we woke up several times during the night finding out we were having stings in the face eve, cause we tried to cover ourselves with the blanket.
the bathroom was very old, the shower was very poor, the shower curtain holder almost falling down, u couldnt fix the showerhead on the wall and always had hold it with one hand...
the night was also very loud, the walls are extremely thin, u hear the airplaines starting and landing from the airport nearby very well too.
the location was good though, and also the staff was quite friendly. Checkout took quite long to only get a simple bill from the stay.
also the pool was nice to have and the taverna across the street was rly close and friendly and good and cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank melissawalde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

To say worst is not enough for this hotel. Not at all recommended to go with kids as their is a risk of falling from balcony, as the woods are old creepy. Not even a matchbox available at hotel. Wifi just around reception. The people sitting at a lousy reception does not even have audacity to say hello or bye. The room is like a cave, if you shut the doors for 5 minutes, it smells like public toilets. taps were 100 years old and leaking. Air condition does nothing except for clicking noise. You may need binoculars to watch television which is only connected with 3 channels. Worst experience ever, will never forget and never return.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank divinekirki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We needed a hotel close to the airport en route to our resort. This hotel is just 2 miles away from the airport. The service here is very friendly. The front desk person helped us arrange a cab to our resort. Cute little poolside bar with drinks and snacks. The bakery across the street is a treat.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank becky t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Convenient location from the airport with 24hr reception. The hotel has many rooms and provides Wi-Fi BUT only at the lobby - bummer! I will personally ally won't stay her again as the room where we stayed at had really bad A/C and the room stunk! No proper ventilation. So many insects outside that we couldn't even open the balcony window for some fresh air.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
5.1 km away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#43 of 58 in Heraklion
138 reviews
6.8 km away
Iraklion Hotel
Iraklion Hotel
#17 of 58 in Heraklion
306 reviews
8.0 km away
Life Boutique Hotel
Life Boutique Hotel
#38 of 58 in Heraklion
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#41 of 58 in Heraklion
281 reviews
12.7 km away
Hotel LiLi
Hotel LiLi
#19 of 58 in Heraklion
100 reviews
6.6 km away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Of Lillies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Of Lillies

Address: Karteros, Heraklion, Crete 715 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range: $43 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prince Of Lillies 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart family run hotel near Heraklion (10 minutes from the airport). Pool with pool bar (seasonal) and breakfast dining area. 250m from the sandy beach of Karteros. Local shops and beach bars. A very quiet hotel. Car hire and local horse riding. 3*** rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Prince Of Lillies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Lillies Hotel Heraklion
Prince Of Lillies Heraklion, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing