We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An idyllic vacation spot!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Heraklion, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
SeasonedT...
Victoria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An idyllic vacation spot!”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent a memorable two weeks at Villa Irini with our daughter and her family. The house is delightful with everything to make one's stay comfortable and enjoyable. Located in Pentamodi, the oldest village in Crete, it has spectacular views of barren mountain peaks, with their lower slopes dotted with olive groves and vineyards, and the sea in the distance. The tranquil location and the inviting swimming pool were most welcome after a busy day of sightseeing.

Jocelyne and Andy were exceptional hosts who could not do enough to ensure that our stay was as pleasurable as possible. We particularly appreciated the delightful dinner Jocelyne organised at a local restaurant for a special celebration, the tour she gave us of the village, along with its surroundings, and her lovely apricot jam.

The village itself is charming, with a grocery store and taverna. We enjoyed a number of simple, but delicious meals there, served by the very friendly owners.

Should we go back to Crete, we would definitely return to Villa Irini.

Seasoned Travellers, Victoria

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you for your visit and will love to have you again.
Regards,
Jocelyne and Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghool123
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful property with friendly, helpful hosts.”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

There are wonderful views from all the rooms at the villa, which is very spacious, clean, well equipped and furnished, and comfortable. It has Wifi. There is a lovely pool (not shared), surrounded by many plants and shrubs and decorative ceramic pots. You can get water from a nearby spring, although the tap water in the villa is fine to drink. The centre of the village is a five minute walk away, and has two good tavernas, one of which is very reasonably priced, and a small shop which has all the basics. If you don't want to hire a car (we didn't), Jocelyne can arrange taxis, so we were able to do several trips; it was expensive, but worth it, as there are many places of interest to visit, including ancient sites, museums, beaches, and attractive towns and villages. Jocelyne and her husband were very helpful. She met us at the airport, and even invited us to a barbecue on our first night. They took us to a local wine festival, which was most interesting. We went to the Villa Irini with our two adult daughters, who loved the sunbathing and the pool. When we were there, at the beginning of July, the temperature varied between about 34 and 38 degrees. There was a power cut one day which lasted a couple of hours, and the last four days were very windy, which was noisy, especially at night, but it was still a lovely place to be, albeit about half an hour's drive from Herakleion. But that means that it is peaceful and has great views. Jocelyne speaks five languages, and her husband speaks several too. There are three villas, built about ten years ago, and they live in an adjacent one, so are available if you need to ask them anything; they are very experienced at organising trips.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Ever !!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were stationed on the island '81-'85. We returned to Crete after 30+ years, not knowing what to expect. Starting with the drive up the mountain to the Villa, we were absolutely amazed. The Village of Pendamodi and people of the village were so welcoming and friendly. The beautiful Villa stood out against the countryside and the swimming pool was so refreshing. We loved the decor of the Villa and the friendliness of the owners - everything was absolutely perfect ! So perfect, in fact -- we are returning again in Sept 2017 !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thank you for your stay at villa Irini Steve and Adrian, and we are looking forward for your visit in September..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan D
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem !! Outstanding location”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Not been to Crete before. Booked 1 week stay at villa Irini with my fiancée .As we do not drive we were meted by the owner Joyelyne who assisted us getting up to the villa. upon arrival we were blown away by the scenery and surrounding mountains . And the valley below with the grape and olive farms.
The villa with large private pool was absolutely huge and spotlessly clean inside and out. The pool is not heated but the Cretan sun warms that up through the day. You get the sun all day at the pool THe villa is equipped with all your everyday mod cons. Including a washing machine and dishwasher.
The local village is the oldest in Crete neither 2 old taverners and 2 old Greek style shops.
The locals are very friendly with Greek salad and homemade mousakka offered 10/10
The run into Heralion is about 15 minutes by car where you find the hassle and bustle of Creten life and all the shops including a museum Near by there are the ruins of Knossos The harbour with castle and armoury inside. Well worth the visit
Jocelyne and Andy are always there to assist you if you need guidance and are excellent down to earth people who look after the clients that stay in the villas.
Defiantly worth checking the villa out if you like Crete

10/10A+

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Dear Alan and LeeAnne,
Thank you for staying at our villa. We look forward for your next visit. It was a pleasure.
All the best,
Andy and jocelyne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B
Washington, District of Columbia, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Villas south of Iraklion”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Irini is an amazing little property perched in a gorgeous mountain valley. The grounds are beautifully tended to. The real value of this place is the privacy and tranquil environment. If you're looking for hectic social scene, this is not the place for you. The town just down the hill is small, quiet, authentic. But if you're looking to relax, enjoy your own pool, meet some great people (hopefully the wonderful owners are in town), and soak in that famous Cretan sun, then you will not be disappointed. These are newer villas, and the interior construction and decoration is excellent. Ample rooms, nice and cool, very tastefully done. I will definitely come back to this Villa on the next Cretan trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere with views
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
Thank you for visiting villa Irini, and we are happy that you enjoyed our villa and your stay on the island of Crete. Looking to see you again in the near future. Happy New Year..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing