We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
172
119
36
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
119
36
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking holidaywalking groupown transportorange treesgreen valleyhf holidayplane treestraditional villagehot waterwestern cretebreakfasts were excellentoutdoor poolan ideal basesuperior suitebath showercharm and characterpoolside bar
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Beautiful, spacious, and well equipped villa that was ideal for a larger family (3 generations) as a holiday home. Near enough for most sights in the area. Very friendly staff, always keen to help and give recommendations. Would go back again!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank miialankinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

We spent three pleasant days in this very nice hotel close to various locations. The swimming pool, the garden and the restaurant are also very nice. The little restaurant just above in the village is also incredible.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

As a newly married couple in our late 50's, we spent our honeymoon at the Spilia Village Hotel which was perfect for us.
A quiet, peaceful hotel situated in a quiet rural village about 40 minutes from Chania airport, with splendid views and countryside all around.

If you're looking for activities, a vibrant nightlife, bars and restaurants, then this isn't the place for you. If on the other hand, you're looking for peace and tranquillity, then you've found the perfect spot! Though you will need a car if you want to get about.
The hotel itself is partly a converted olive oil factory and partly new-build in the same rustic style with pleasant gardens surrounding the pool. It has a very nice alfresco dining area as well as a glass roofed indoor restaurant.
Apparently there is also an indoor pool and spa, but we didn't partake so couldn't comment on it.
Our room was of adequate size and well maintained, plainly decorated but clean and suitably equipped with toiletries, gowns, towels, a safe and air conditioning.
All the staff we encountered were generally excellent. Attentive and friendly but professional. Some had a better understanding of English than others....But hey they're Cretan!!
If we have any criticism at all it's that the restaurant menu is rather limited. In our experience the food that was presented was perfectly cooked, quite delicious and reasonably priced, but given that there is only one other restaurant in the village, it could have offered a wider range of options.

Room Tip: The balcony was a little on the compact side.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank durransrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We first found Spilia village on holiday lettings where we tried to book a villa for 2 weeks. After some confusion we discovered the villa was only available for 11 days so we booked into the hotel for 5 days so we could still be away for 2 weeks. Once we had booked and deposit paid we were contacted by the hotel to day we may not be guaranteed the villa we had booked? However we would stay in an equivalent. Having booked we didn’t have too much choice. When we arrived we were taken the suite we had booked for the 1st 5 days - nothing like the suite picture on their website, ok but nowhere as nice?! After 5 days we were moved to our villa which had been confirmed the night before was the one we had booked. On arrival at our villa - not the one we had booked and not one that featured on the website at all? Again very nice but much smaller and not as nice as what we had expected. We had a fantastic holiday, the hotel staff were great, the villa was cleaned every day and the inclusive breakfast really tasty. I would definitely recommend staying here but can’t hide my disappointment in not getting what I expected twice, especially staying in a villa that is not even visible on their website?

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank carolinedarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic find. A gem of a hotel located just inland from the western Crete coastline.
The hotel consists of many separate accommodation areas flowing down the hillside, with a lovely pool set in a small lawned garden area.
Many of the buildings have been restored, with the main building having been an Olive Oil production site. All the buildings retain their original character, being mainly stone built or rendered and such a contrast to the package hotels on the coast.
All the rooms seemed to have outside seating areas, some separate and some shared, with umbrellas for shade. Our balcony faced West so it was great to sit and watch the sun go down behind the hill, although some rooms didn’t have this due to being on the ground level.
Breakfast was a delight, with so much choice. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, meats, omelettes, fried eggs, bacon, rolls, pastries, toast, jam tea & coffee. Just keep helping yourself until full.
The pool bar provided cold beer, wine and soft drinks to avoid moving too far and the lunchtime snacks and salads were good value for the quantity served. A Greek Salad was sufficient for two of us given the breakfast consumed.
All the staff were very helpful when asked and were unobtrusive at other times. Special mention for Artemis who was a pleasure to get to know. Being a Spilia local she had some good advice and spoke excellent English.
The village itself is very quiet. Just one Taverna a two minute walk away. Typical Greek selection and the quality was first rate. Lower cost than the town restaurants as well. Free desert plate and of course Raki to finish. The terrace is completely covered under the branches of 6 huge Plane trees which gives it a magical atmosphere.
The nearby beaches are easy to reach by car with our favourite Falassarna about 45 mins door to Car Park.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Julian052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews