We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly in the lap of luxury”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
Steve D
Bolwarra
1 review
“Truly in the lap of luxury”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We travelled from Italy with our eldest son, his partner and their 4 yr old daughter to the stunning Villa Filira in mid April 2012. We were met by Anna at the airport who was our guide and "go to person", if required. The villa is approximately 22 klms west of Chania, about a kilometre off a well signposted multi lane highway near the town of Kolymbari.
The view, on arrival, was fantastic. From its elevated position the vista around the property is of the olive groves that produce the fruit for the sweet Cretan olive oils, a bottle of which was included in the generous welcome pack . To the north, from the deck and over the infinity edge pool, is a view of the beach side towns and on to the Sea of Crete. To the south east are snow capped mountains and to the west, the rugged hills and valleys of Western Crete.
Inside the two storied villa is an open planned, spacious, well appointed entry, living dining and kitchen area. It was so welcoming and comfortable, all our travel tension evaporated. The ground floor includes a large bedroom, roomy bathroom and a laundry with washer and dryer. Upstairs are two bedrooms, each with its own deck to privately soak up the Cretan sun.
The kitchen had all the appliances required to self cater including an espresso coffee machine. Dining could be inside, on the northern deck or on the western paved area. We were spoiled for choice. In all other aspects the villa had all we needed. Towels, robes, toiletries were available, truly luxurious. There were sofas on the deck, and a day bed beside the pool. The villa was cleaned and the linen changed twice during our six night stay.
Anna had advised us that there was a supermarket in the local village and the location of several restaurants worth trying. There was also a good take away, with deliveries and a post office. We ate in Chania on a couple of occasions but it is worth a road trip to the southern side of the island, to Elafonissi for fresh, locally caught seafood cooked over open fires.
Absolute highlight of our stay was an arranged meal, cooked at the villa by Roula, our gracious hostess. This topped off a marvellous time on Crete and I would recommend it to any who might stay. Roula and her husband have prepared the Villa Filara perfectly for a most relaxed vacation in what is truly in the lap of luxury. Our only mistake was not staying a month.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, comfortable, roomy, well appointed villa, glorious view, fantastic pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Reviewed 8 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ivanneary
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hospitality and Luxury”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed at Villa Filira at the end of May into Junefor two weeks. Roula the owner is the perfect hostess and the villa provides everything you could want. From the infinity pool, through the free wifi to the fluffy towels and robes everything is off high quality and artistically presented. It was our daughters 21st Birthday and Roula organised and delivered a birthday cake and balloons and candles and insisted it was a gift. There is also a vegtable garden on site for the use of guests and we were able to pick our own salads, onions, courgettes, mulberries and apricots. The owner also has links with a local travel agency Diktynna travel who organised a number of tours for us. Their local guide Anna is also a great find. She is extremely knowledgeable as a guide but is also a great person to be around and to chat to. So as an overall package the villa and the tour company provided us with a fantastic holiday. Hopefully we will be back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, Wifi,quality of furnishings and decoration, garden
Liked least: Nothing major
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Reviewed 25 February 2012 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sieger201...
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing