We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 223
USD 216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Porto Antico Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
USD 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Kriti Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
USD 139
USD 131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel(Chania Town)
USD 159
USD 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avra City Hotel(Chania Town)
USD 209
USD 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samaria Hotel(Chania Town)
USD 171
USD 146
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amalthia Beach Resort(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
USD 164
USD 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 321/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 154
USD 130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
USD 106
USD 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,465)
Filter reviews
1,465 results
Traveller rating
1,160
260
33
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,160
260
33
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet endold townsea viewvenetian harbourwonderful hotelfresh orange juiceperfect locationwater fronthotel is locatedsuperior suiteharbour sidewatch the worldbreakfast was excellentbreakfast roomreception staffthird floorsmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,465 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Awesome location with very friendly staff. I enjoyed every moment of my stay. Food was great and excellent service. The room was great and the cleaning service excellent. Located on the old harbour very close to good restaurants and pubs. All within walking distance. Nice touch is the free bicycles provided by the hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank CapeTownSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I stayed at the Porto Veneziano Hotel in Room 101, their disabled accessible room, from Thursday 29 March until Sunday 1 April 2018 and the entire stay was amazing. The hotel is modern and contemporary in style and located on the waterfront on the quieter end of Chania's Old Venetian Harbour. It's a small hotel with about 50 rooms.

The hotel is located on the far eastern side of the Old Venetian Harbour in the centre of the town. The location is perfect, very central, as it's directly on the harbour front and it's a step free, level walk round the Old Venetian Harbour. All around are restaurants and bars, although this is the quieter end of the harbour, so you still get a quiet night's sleep. I took a taxi from the taxi rank at Chania Airport. The journey took about 20 minutes and it cost 25 euros (March 2018). The Old Venetian Harbour is pedestrianised, however where the hotel is located there are side streets which are accessible by car which meant that the taxi could drive down and park outside the hotel.

The hotel has one fully accessible room, room 101, on the first floor. The room is accessible via stairs or lift. The room opens with a key fob. The room is beautifully decorated and well maintained, as is all the hotel. The layout of the room consisted of two adjacent single beds, with a firm and comfortable mattress. There were bedside tables, desk, chair and flat screen TV. There was a large wardrobe with shelving and inbuilt safe at a medium level. The bathroom had a step free, walk in shower with two grab rails and an emergency cord. There was a single grab rail on the left hand side of the toilet and a free standing bath stool which was very sturdy. There were French windows leading to a balcony, which had two chairs and a table. The only slight downside is that the room overlooks the rear of the hotel, so the view is of their garden and the road and car park behind the hotel and a glimpse of the sea, it isn't an unpleasant view and certainly not a deal breaker but it doesn't have a view of the Old Venetian Harbour.

The hotel has a lift, dining room, bar, lobby and outdoor seating directly on the harbour and in their rear garden. The entrance to the hotel has 3 or 4 steps without a hand rail and automatic doors. However if you need step free they will put a ramp out for you but you will need to inform them in advance. The hotel’s public toilets on the ground floor of the hotel are not accessible, they are step free but they are a regular cubical size and they have no grab rails.

The staff are exceptional, very welcoming, friendly and helpful. At reception check in and check out were very quick. I was given a map of the area when I arrived and when I was checking out they phoned for my taxi. The waiters at breakfast were very welcoming and my room was cleaned and well maintained throughout my stay.

This hotel is exceptional. A self-service breakfast, with an impressive selection of good quality food is included in the price of the room and served in a ground floor dining room which overlooks the harbour. There is a selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, cheeses, meat, hot food, bread, pastries and a good selection of hot and cold drinks, including a fresh orange juice maker machine. Crete has its own regional foods, cheese and pastries, which are delicious, and they were well represented in the breakfast selection as well as more usual fare.

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for a comfortable, accessible, centrally located hotel with restaurants and sightseeing within walking distance and Chania itself is a charming town to explore.

Room Tip: Room 101 is fully accessible with walk in shower, however it doesn't have a harbour view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My husband and I travel a lot, both for business and for pleasure; and I do not give five stars easily. But the Porto Veneziano Hotel was simply perfect in every way. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful, and reliable. Breakfast was abundant and excellent (and let me add, the staff in the breakfast room were also really friendly and helpful). We had a room overlooking the harbor, and it was a fine room with all the amenities. The room, and indeed the whole hotel, were quite clean. The view was fabulous, and the location also great, in walking distance to any destination in the old city.

Room Tip: We had a harbor-view room, and it was an excellent room with a great view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gskenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is such a wonderful hotel in a fantastic location. The staff are really lovely and helpful, always smiling and very attentive. The rooms are spotless and have everything you need including a lovely plate of fruit on arrival, tea & coffee making facilities and the bed is so comfortable. Breakfast is fantastic and there is a huge choice of hot breakfast, fruit, beautiful pastries, fresh rolls & bread, continental choices, wonderful freshly squeezed orange juice and every coffee you can think of. The bar is lovely too and the bar staff are really great! We loved it so much we have already booked to celebrate our wedding anniversary in 2019 and we would never stay anywhere else in Chania.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra money as the view of the harbour is beautiful
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Holiday-Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Had a lovely room overlooking the Venetian Harbour in the old town in Chania. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Car parking can be a premium so check with reception about parking. Always sorted in a very Greek way.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Tony2083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews