We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small hotel”
Review of Hotel Filoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Filoxenia
Ranked #70 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Early season visit to Crete, just getting into gear. Nice hotel, very clean and good location about 10 minutes walk from Venetian Harbour and 15 minutes from main town. No beach nearby. Taxi to anywhere can be booked at reception and will arrive in minutes. Lovely fruit and veg market nearby every Saturday which makes the area very busy. Would definitely book again if we wanted to stay in Chania.

Room Tip: No ground floor rooms but hotel does have a lift. No views but every room has a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2014

Family business with all staff very helpful for all things. Restaurant recommendation was superb. Easy walk to the old town, and a handy swimming spot 150m down the road from the Hotel - just walk down the steps into the water. Stayed 10 days and would have been very happy to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grant282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My third visit was a total disaster as the proprietor acted in the unfriendliest and most mean-spirited way possible simply because I had a cousin pop in for a quick shower before dinner as we'd been at the beach together.

I tried to reason with the gentleman but all he cared about was the fact we used extra water for the third person to shower.

If I hadn't already paid for my two nights in advance I would have left on the spot. Huge shame as I've previously loved the location and simple yet user friendly rooms.

My cousin was rope-able and paid him €5 for his water.

Keep away. All they want is your money while sitting behind their desk smoking and drinking coffee. They didn't help with cases or anything else when we arrived and they certainly had no intention of helping at the end.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel_Philemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Filoxenia, Owner at Hotel Filoxenia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Sir,

It is true that I have this hotel and I want money from my customers and I try the best for them and their staying to the hotel and the city of Chania.

Sorry but if you want your cousins, brother, friends or others that are not registered in the hotel please book somewhere else (I recommend "Rooms to let" to skip more trouble) especially if you don't know how the hotels work and you think you can break some laws without even asking.

I didn't ask for the 5 euros you thrown it to me trying to cause troubles.

You wrote what you had to say... I wish you to enjoy the rest of your holidays and I will continue to enjoy my coffee and cigarette to the lobby and serving my guests with the best way I can.

Regard
Christos
The hotel owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is placed a few steps from the sea and a small beach surronded by local taverns. Despite of that the area is not noisy. The old town is located 15 min walk from the hotel. if you value a good night sleep don't choose anything in the old town. We were so glad we picked this area. The hotel was very confortable. I'm surpised to see (just now) it's a 2 star hotel. It has all you need on holidays. AC, small fridge, large wardrobe, decent (but very tiny) bathroom. Service is provided every day and the room we stay in was spotless clean. The location was just awesome, people in the hotel very nice and friendly, happy to advise where to go, what's worth to see on Crete and how to get to the places you want. I also highly recommend 2 tavers nearby KAFE KOUTI and the other one just next to it. Very friendly owners and fantastic frappe :)

Room Tip: we stayed on the 2nd floor and the room was perfect. Can't say anything about other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piotr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We loved this apartment. It was only minutes walk away from the town and beach but far enough away to avoid any noise from the bars. The apartment was spotlessly clean and had excellent Wifi coverage. The host was very friendly, kind, informative and helpful. There's free parking on the main street bang next to the beach and the apartment is literally a 1 minute walk away from your car. There's also a supermarket and bakers located 3 minutes walk away . Paleochora itself is a nice resort., the scenery is stunning and it's a perfect base for walking. It's unspoilt like many beach resorts but it was extremely busy when we went and overun with familes and children (we did go in July!). I would imagine out of season it's absolutely perfect. We would most likely visit again and if we did we'd stay here again!

Room Tip: I would imagine the rooms on the top floor have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mountaintrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#63 of 111 in Chania Town
57 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Tina
Hotel Tina
#91 of 111 in Chania Town
68 reviews
6.6 km away
Sunrise Studios
Sunrise Studios
#65 of 111 in Chania Town
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Nefeli Hotel
Nefeli Hotel
#58 of 111 in Chania Town
79 reviews
6.7 km away
Lena Beach Hotel
Lena Beach Hotel
#79 of 111 in Chania Town
31 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#15 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Filoxenia

Address: 36 Dodekanissou, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $57 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Filoxenia 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Chania’s lively Koum Kapi district, just 40 metres from the small sandy beach and close to Chania’s Venetian harbour, this friendly hotel offers warm hospitality and free wireless internet. Hotel Filoxenia has been completely renovated and offers warmly decorated rooms. Relax in your comfortable room and check your emails, using free wireless internet access. Enjoy a drink in the friendly bar area. Filoxenia Hotel is surrounded by Koum Kapi’s traditional tavernas and bars, as well as a great beach scene. A short walk will take you to Chania’s old harbour and historic attractions. Should you wish to further explore Crete, you can rent a car from Hotel Filoxenia and take advantage of the free public parking available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Filoxenia Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing