We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, take it easy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Anissaras
Certificate of Excellence
Crete, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Relax, take it easy!”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We visited Laguna Resort and Spa hotel in Anissaras at it's final days before season closure and stayed over for one night only, just to relax from our daily routine. The scenic is amazing and fills up your eye immediately.
There is a large variety of food containing whatever and as much as you want as it is "all inclusive". There are Italian, Japanese, Greek and Mexican theme restaurants and also another one that I don't remember because it was closed at the time we were there! Of course there is a huge main bouffet too and a creperie/pastry shop which I never saw closed! The personnel were very friendly, kind and helpful and especially the reception team and its leader! The room value was quite good for what we paid and when we went. The room was big enough, had an amazing view, including mini-bar for free, comfortable bed (but not a double one though) and splendid bathroom! There was a little issue with the cleansing but not big deal. I suppose at the beginning of the season it would be much better.
The disadvantage is that the Laguna Resort is in the middle of nowhere but if you have a car you can visit Heraklion, Ag. Nikolaos and Hersonissos or Mallia in a few kilometers. Furthermore there are two large and lovely swimming pools around the complex and should be great (even if we didn't test it as it was cold outside when we were there) and also some bars by the pool and inside the main structure that offers a variety of drinks and champagne.
If you want to relax and enjoy for some days, this is the place you are looking for!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if it is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gianzo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,299
    502
    192
    57
    33
See reviews for
889
818
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohappydays
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The title in case you are wondering says "thank you" Laguna (said phonetically).
We stayed here Oct 23rd for one week having booked a late availability through Thomas Cook six weeks earlier. Flew with easy jet (not too bad, run for the four seats together but expected that) and had a good clean coach to transport us to our hotel.
We knew in advance that the weather was expecting rain on the Sunday and Monday, so was prepared for that.
The welcoming was pleasant and the receptionist gave a great explanation of the complex. Then onto a little buggy ride with our cases to our rooms.
The two rooms were spacious and clean. Our son and girlfriend had the sea facing family room with a set of doors separating two bedrooms, whilst we had the pool facing room that had the sun most of the day on our balcony. The family room had a shower over the bath and ours had a shower cubical AND a shower over the bath. These bathrooms were spotlessly clean with towels, bathrobes and toiletries provided, a hair dryer and electric shaver point. Strangely even had a telephone in the toilet???

As mentioned earlier, it was raining when we arrived and for the following day. Although the weather is out of anyone’s control, the complex is not set up for rain. By this I mean that the corridors become flooded and the outside walkways become extremely slippery especially around the area of the restaurants. Even the main entrance was flooded and they had to close the main doors for health and safety and have the guests use a side entrance with beach towels to soak up the wetness. This is the only bad point I have of the complex.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the main restaurant offered a wide range of food (I’m surprised by any comment of complaint about the food) and with five other themed restaurants on offer there was a lot of choice. The bars offered plenty of drink, the cocktails were very nice. There is also a games room for the children and a couple of card tables for the serious card gambler. A shop on the site offered daily newspapers, cigarettes, sweets, crisps and other light refreshments, drinks, postcards and a small range of the usual forgotten essentials travellers sometimes forget along with a small selection of gifts and clothing.

The hotel is set just off the beaten track, but a bus every hour will take you to Hersonissos or the other way towards Heraklion. We went for a short walk along the coast and 15 minutes down the beach you will come across other hotels and a few shops. Personally, I was glad we stayed in the Laguna.

The beach opposite the Laguna is stoney and a bit rocky trying to get into the water but that didn't stop us taking a little dip. At the end of October, the sea is warmer than the pools.

I suppose that staying as we did at the end of October, we didn’t have any problems getting a sun bed. Some folks still placed their towels on the beds to reserve them, which I felt was funny considering there were so many beds, more than the people really.

We took a trip to Heraklion (during the strikes), Hersonissos and a safari trip to the mountains. We experimented with our limited Greek, efharrystoe: Thank you, Parocalo: please/very much/you're welcome, KallyMera: good morning, KallySpeara: good afternoon and Kallynicta good night/evening and the locals really appriated it.

Most places had started or were closing as it is end of season, but again we did know this so was not a surprise for us.

All four of us thoroughly enjoyed ourselves here, with the hotel making it a very lovely place to stay.

We wanted to make a special mention to complement to kindness and professionalism to "Hara" (which means happiness in Greek). She was always happy and keen to help us with our skills of learning Greek in the restaurant. I did mention this to the receptionist at the end of our stay and hope this did get passed onto the management.
We would defiantly stay here again and recommend Laguna to everyone.

Room Tip: We found that our room was NOT facing the sea and therefore had the sun for most of the day. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ohappydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

It's true that is a nice hotel with a lot of potential ,
The location is terrible(middle of nowhere)
No beach
A new hotel Trying to find it's identity.
The week we've been there -end of october- it was almost
Terrible.
Closing day by day all departments ,the beach , the restaurants ,
No animation, no interest for nothing.
The nearest village 3km away.
Agree with the reviews below.
Simply don't go end of october.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bentley64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My boyfriend and I [both in our 20’s] stayed at this wonderful new hotel in September 2011.

Rooms: Sophisticated decor, very clean, 2 showers, bath, huge mirrors, free easy-to-use safety box and a free mini bar stocked with Pepsi, beer, bottled water etc. We stayed in the main hotel and had a great view from our balcony. It looked like the majority of rooms including the villas would have pleasant sea or pool view rooms.

Food: The crepes were nice and ideal as available all day; mushroom, cheese, chocolate etc. Waffles with creamy ice cream on top. The main dining hall was a scramble at dinner times. We sometimes didn’t get served a drink til we had finished our main course. The meat and fish from the show cooking was often not cooked well throughout. The speciality restaurants were great. You have to book the day before, I recommend trying all of them. Our favourite was the Asian; chicken with cashew nuts and fried icecream.

Bars: Variety to choose from, paper cups given for pool area. I found the staff to be very rude. I was usually served after any other nationalities and after men even if I arrived first. One of the pool bar staff even rolled his eyes at me when he miss heard my request. Drinks were often just slammed down with no ‘thankyou’.

Pool: Lovely big pools. Quiet around pool areas so good for relaxation. We didn’t have to fight for a sunbed because we went at the end of Sept and it was fairly quiet.

Beach: Covered in smelly seaweed and sharp rocks. Unsuitable for walking on bare foot. No beach bar. Water sports closed in September.

Spa: Looked lovely, here are some prices, 1h 30 use of indoor pool was 30Euros. Manicure 25Euros. Cheapest massage 40Euros. Cheapest facial 25Euros. Womens hair cut 25Euros.

Location: Its 8Euros to Hersonisos and definitely worth a visit during the day to look around the harbour and shops. By night there are loads of bars and clubs.

We loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Feel welcome to email me if you want to know anything else. Take a look at my pics too!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jennifer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I have just recently returned from a one week stay at the Mitsis Laguna and cannot recommend it enough.

Pros:

- Hotel building & rooms are lovely, very spacious and wired internet access in the room is a bonus. Mini-bar & toiletries are replenished daily.

- Reception Staff are very helpful and even arranged medication for me from a local pharmacy without me having to leave the hotel.

- Food - there is so much of it, food is always very fresh and of good quality. We preferred to eat at the Al Carte restaurants over the buffet, however we did eat at the buffet restaurant and the choices available were vast (especially the deserts!!)

Cons

- Service - although we had excellent service from reception, the same cannot be said for the service in the day bar or the outside pool bar (next to the Creperie) everyone just seemed really miserable, however it was approaching the end of season!

- Beach - the beach isn't great, but the pools and very nice sun loungers make up for this.

If you want a relaxing holiday with great food this is the resort for you. I'd also recommend the Jeep Safari Experience, it was brilliant fun!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrHoliday2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anissaras
1.9 km away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,956 reviews
3.4 km away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
75.0 km away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.3 km away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
10.1 km away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Serita Beach Hotel
Serita Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Anissaras
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Anissaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Family Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anissaras
Price range (per night): $259 - $638
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laguna Resort & Spa, a member of Mitsis Premium Collection, started its operation on May 1st, 2011. The hotel’s excellent facilities along with its well-trained and passionate personnel have well established Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa on the island of Crete. The hotel offers a wide variety of services carefully designed and managed by professionals to meet guests’ highest expectations. The golden colour of our front office desk, the handmade furnishing and the stylish decoration of the Lobby, together with our warmest welcome is where the unforgettable holidays begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Laguna Hotel Anissaras
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa Crete/Anissaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing