We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff, wine, food, all outstanding!”

Cinque Wine & Deli Bar
Ranked #1 of 2,836 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Psirri / Gazi
Description: It s a small and cosy wine and deli bar. The wine list contains approx 30 wine from the greek vineyard,in a glass of 150 ml. The food menu contains club sandwiches,toasts,sandwiches,plate with greek PDO cheeses and smoked meats and some authentic greek recipes. You can also find coffees,teas,homemade lemonade with ginger and small desserts. We offer free wine tasting of oirginal greek grapes so you can choose wich wine it is your favorite.Also we have special wine flights with rare greek wines. And tailor made wine services!!The important thing it is the personal contact,so if you are patient,in case it is full,you will travel to Greece thow the wines!!Yamas!!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had seen rave reviews on Tripadvisor so were concerned that we couldn’t get a seat. But no, the staff made us feel so welcome, advised that the sofa was booked for later but sat us down there. Evangelina (I think that's her name) came and explained the various wines and discussed our choices with no hint of direction, she actually liked our own choices. We accompanied the wine with a mixed charcuterie and cheese platter, 5 of each, yes 5 meats, 5 cheeses and 5 chutneys. They were all sensational. At no time did the staff ever mention that the table booking had turned up meaning that we had to eat up and go! I am unsure whether the booking actually arrived, more fool them if they did not! For a place which is so simple in its offering, wine and cheese/charcuterie, how come Cinque does it with such simplicity, style and ambience that others fail to match by a considerable distance? It is situated in the small narrow streets of down-town Athens, but Cinque is well worth searching for. I found the Greek people very kind and considerate in various restaurants we frequented but Cinque's team took this to a new level. Thank You.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hullresidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

We accidentally ran into this bar by slamming the streets and we ran nicely. The space is small but sweet. The staff is very professional, it's a family business and really works at every level. I certainly recomme

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ANTONIOK1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evangelie T, Ιδιοκτήτης at Cinque Wine & Deli Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thank you so much for visiting our small place and taking the time to write this so warm review!
We always try to offer warm hospitality and high quality products.
Thank you again for appreciating!
Yamas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Cinque has great reviews and it DOES NOT disappoint. A huge selection of Greek wines with descriptions. We chose a wine and were then given a free taste of that and 2 others picked (both cheaper) by the owner. A result we changed our choice - this is really top service.
We also had the cheese and meat platter for 2, not only was it exceptional, but the explanation of what it was and where it came from interesting.
This is obviously run as much by the owner for his own pleasure as making money and the result is perfection.
It gets busy, so worth booking if you can.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gordon0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evangelie T, Ιδιοκτήτης at Cinque Wine & Deli Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thank you for visiting Cinque and also for this so warm review!
Wine is our passion and we love to share it with winelovers from all over the world!
Also the warm hospitality is in our greek genes !!
Thank you for appreciated that we offer!
Yamas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

We walked here from the Acropolis metro station and the walk alone is fabulous, little side streets and lots of cafes and restaurants lit up beautifully. The bar itself is small and I would recommend seats at the bar as get to see all the goings on. You have tasting options and we asked to try the reds, ended up with a lovely reserve and cheese board. Only request would be to have chairs with backs but the service and everything else wonderful. Many a happy hour spent here! Great family run hotspot.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 428carolinef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

First of all: This is not a restaurant*, it's a wine bar...
After the place was too crowded on Saturday, I tried again on a Monday evening and this was quite a good idea. I got there very early and not too many people were sitting around so that the owner had enough time for a little wine talk.
I decided to start with a little wine tasting and ordered the charcuterie platter with chutneys for 13 €uro.
The wine was not only served, but very well explained. Guys, they love their job at Cinque...
After I enjoyed three different wines (tasting size ;-) and a excellent platter, I ordered another glass of white wine and let the day fade away.
To cut a long story short: The Cinque is definitely one of the best wine bars I've ever been to. Absolute recommendation.

* - Even if the Cinque is not a restaurant, the charcuterie platter was about fantastic.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 992dang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evangelie T, Ιδιοκτήτης at Cinque Wine & Deli Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

THANK YOU!!
What can I reply to this so warm and true review!!
Thank you so much for visiting our small place (twice!) and taking the time to write this so inspired review!
We really love the wine, the food but mostly the hospitality!
Thank you again for appreciating!
Hope to see you next time in Athens!
Yamas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cinque Wine & Deli Bar also viewed

 

Been to Cinque Wine & Deli Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing