We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner's son makes bachelor party on your roof until 5AM!!= Athens visit ruined”
Review of Eridanus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eridanus Hotel
Ranked #155 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Owner's son makes bachelor party on your roof until 5AM!!= Athens visit ruined”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

If you want to ruin your visit to Athens come here, you will not give credit to the service they are capable to give!!!.
Everything began by giving us an upgrade to the "Best room" 5th floor and amazing view to the Parthenon. We were told we could not have dinner in the roof terrace because there was a "private event". It turned out that the private event was the owners bachelor party. We had loud music and a BIG LOUD party in our roof until 5 AM!!. We complaint at 11pm because it was impossible to sleep and the answer was "so sorry but it will be over at 2 AM". At 2 AM of course was not over, then we tried to phone again to front desk and did not pick up. We came downstairs to complaint again and the answer was sorry but I can not do anything for you. So simply we need to stand it and NOT sleep!! Next morning we had our balcony full of garbage, outside the room the floor was discusting AND smelly, it was like a nightclub!!. Saturday morning we asked to speak to the Manager, of course she was not in the hotel until 11 am. Ok we came back at 11 and she still was not there, they told us @230 she will be around. Nothing happend. Then at 3pm we got a bottle of wine and fruit to appologize. I had migrane, laying in the room instead of being out having fun in athens, and while I want to speak with the manager I recieve wine and fruit as an answer UNACCEPTABLE!. I rejected the present and then finally the manager appeared. She told me she was totally embarrassed and appologizing. I had to make clear what was the minimum they could do for us and got free stay, nevertheless the DAMAGE was done. I did not Enjoy the full saturday laying in bed with migrane. I have to say personnel was really in a difficult situation because it was the owner's party, nevertheless it appears the owner DOES NOT REALIZE HE HAD A CONTRACT WITH US THAT HE BROKE and, even further, spoiled my holidays. We will never come back here. You feel totally ABUSED!!

Room Tip: When you arrive, ask if the owner's son is planning to have a party on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarthaM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    102
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
30
149
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Nice smart hotel with very friendly and helpful staff? Breakfast very good and free evening meal offer a pleasant bonus.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The neighborhood is not the greatest but it's not dangerous and it's a perfect launching point to see Athen's sites on foot. Likely because of the neighborhood the price/value relationship is excellent for a European City Center hotel.
If you need a place to stay for one or two nights in order to sightsee Athens this in a good place to consider.
The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. The room was large with a comfortable bed and a tiny balcony. The bathroom was quite nice with both a shower and a tub. The breakfast, included in the room rate, was good, though the attendant was quitet surely. The only major disappointment for us was that we were expecting to be able to eat at least one meal on the advertised roof terrase with view of the Acropolis - unfortunately that was not possible since it was closed for our entire stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

You must stay here if you travel to Athens. This is the only hotel I've ever actually longed to return to while I was touring the city. The hotel is in a rougher side of Athens (not dangerous though) and you might even miss it if you weren't looking for it. Staff is extremely helpful, breakfast is awesome and plentiful, rooftop bar up the elevator with breathtaking views of Acropolis, Ethernet internet in rooms only but if you're on the first floor-WiFi is possible as it's available in the lobby. The rooms are as good as a JW Marriott room but for a fraction of the price, AC is strong, flatscreen tv with the English standard, bathroom has a super advanced shower system, and everything was clean enough to eat off of. These rooms would easily be $250-$300 in an American city. 10 minutes from Thissio metro. Cheap way to get there is to take bus x95 from the airport (an hour ride), get off at last stop which is Syntagma, then a 5 euro cab ride to the hotel. I think we paid $110 a night and it was the best $110 I've ever spent.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I visited this hotel and was very surprised at the neighborhood. After exiting the metro/train station and walking a short distance, I was in a neighborhood that was quite run down - and walls covered in graffiti. The main road is littered in moped dealerships and repair shops, and then the Eridanus Art Luxury Hotel appears. It's quite a jewel, with large rooms, Hermes toiletries, and a very well appointed breakfast in the mornings.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms to choose from -- I was on the same level as the front desk & the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nateairnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
1,504 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#68 of 326 in Athens
2,036 reviews
Semiramis
#3 of 10 in Kifisia
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#67 of 326 in Athens
1,589 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eridanus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eridanus Hotel

Property: Eridanus Hotel
Address: 78 Piraeus Street, Athens 10435, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#73 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): $88 - $318
Hotel Class:5 star — Eridanus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eridanus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eridanus Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing