We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Great Place to Stay in Athens”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In the shadows of Acropolis.. The front door of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
In the shadows of Acropolis..
The front door of the house
A view of the roof garden
The sitting area of the roof garden
Another view of the roof garden
The main entrance of the house
The living room
A view of the living room looking at the main entrance of the house
A view of the living room looking at the main entrance of the house
Another view of the living room
Another view of the living room
The kitchen
The first bedroom in the main floor
Another view of the first bedroom in the main floor
The second bedroom in the main floor
Another view of the second bedroom in the main floor
The main floor bathroom
Another view of the main floor bathroom
The main floor WC
The upstairs bedroom
Another view of the upstairs bedroom
Another view of the upstairs bedroom
The upstairs bathroom
The upstairs bathroom with jacuzzi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Athens, Attica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
boatwench
Virgin Gorda
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay in Athens”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was a very well-equipped apartment in Athens - and we have stayed in LOTS of places in the past 10 years:) It is close to the Acropolis, lots of local Tavernas, restaurants, bars, a bakery, small grocery stores - everything you need really. Spiros showed us in, told us how it all worked and where there were some good local places. There were some basic things in the apartment : tea, coffee, sugar, washing powder, soap, etc which was very welcome. Although right in "the middle of it all", it was very quiet at there at night.

We walked everywhere from the apartment.

Alexandros was very good at replying to questions via email - very prompt and helpful.

I would rate this accomodation very highly. Just be aware there are very steep, spiral stairs to the upstairs bedroom. Easy for the able-bodied but maybe not for someone elderly, or not so fit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities.
Liked least: Nogthing really.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda F
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place in Athens!”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had been searching for weeks for a house in Athens to stay with another couple and their two college-age daughters. We are so happy we found the Acropolis Griffin House! The location could not have been better! The house was beautiful -- just as the pictures indicate. The pre-arrival emails with Alexandros were extremely prompt and informative. Spyros was terrific about picking us up at the airport, and giving us all the information we needed about the house and the neighborhood: best bakery, restaurants, places to visit, etc. He gave us great advice about some things we would have missed, as they are not mentioned in the guide books. While we stayed in Athens during our few days, Spyros can provide you with day-trip tours if you want to venture further out. A huge note of thanks and appreciation to both of them for making our stay the best possible. We can't wait to come back to Acropolis Griffin House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Location, decor, Alexandros & Spyros.
Liked least: Not a problem for us, but sprial staircase to 2nd floor could be a challenge for some.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahomag...
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice apartment, great amenities, excellent location”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is our first time renting an apartment, so I have nothing to compare it to but the overall experience was positive. First, the location was absolutely excellent - within 3 blocks of the New Acropolis Museum, lots of great cafes, shopping in Plaka and more. Banks and grocery store within quick walking distance. The rooms were very nice and beds comfortable. In the evenings, windows left open brought a lovely breeze. If needed, air conditioner units added additional cooling comfort. The upstairs patio was private and pretty. Spiros, a family friend, met us with the key. He took the time to put several of us in his cab and drive around the neighborhood pointing out the local bakery, grocery, ATMs, etc. what a nice extra welcome to the area and apartment! Two items to share that need to be clear to renters - the upstairs room is accessed via a narrow spiral staircase. The patio is also upstairs and accessed by a steep set of outside stairs. We had a member of our party with limited knee function and the stairs were ldifficult to negotiate. Also, the kitchen is what you might expect in an apartment where space is at a premium - it is well equipped but really only a one or two person kitchen at most. The washer is actually both a washer and dryer combo! Very interesting. But we didn't use it much - we went to the laundromat very close by (which is actually a laundromat/sports bar) as it took less time. Overall. We had a good experience!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amyourant...
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing People, View, and Location”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This was my first time in Greece and this apartment was so beautiful. The rooftop is absolutely amazing as are the amenities provided. I felt like I was able to experience what it would be like living there. The owner of the apartment was such an amazing person. He showed us around town the first night and brought us to a delicious restaurant. He also made sure we had everything we needed.

The apartment has everything you would need. It is truly a home away from home and is located in the heart of athens. I cannot wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable
Liked least: Sewerage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyle
Perth, Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The very best ....”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about Acropolis Griffin House - accommodation, location, amenities, ambience - lived up to the high expectations the description and other reviews led us to expect. Put quite simply, this lovely house is without a doubt the best holiday house we have ever rented. Aris is a charming and helpful host - together, the combination of his warmth and hospitality and his very special home made our stay in Athens a highlight of our European holiday.

The only slight reservation I would have is recommending the house to anyone who has a problem with stairs as one of the bedrooms and the laundry are accessed by a very tight spiral staircase. That said, there are two bedrooms and a bathroom on the ground floor .... And someone else in the party can always see to the washing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about Aris's house was so ideal - anyone who stays there should count themselves very fortunate to have secured it for their stay in Athens.
Liked least: There was absolutely nothing to dislike about this very special house.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing