We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will want to do better”
Review of Ionis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ionis Hotel
Ranked #242 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I recently stayed 6 nights here, and I wish I spent the extra money to stay at a location in a better area, with a better breakfast, a place that smelled better, and was just a better place. Days are bad, nights are way worse. First experience (9 am in thre morning) was a kid cooking up some heroin. The hookers appeared to be old women (or men). Once inside the hotel, the facilities are ok, JUST OK. As an American, it is tough to get used to the cigarette smoke everywhere (the lobby, the elevators, the hallways, the room, the lounge, but worst of all the towels) ick. The breakfast was poor at best. There are no restaurants or bars in the area that are safe to enter. While it is convienet from the Metro, you will have to walk the gauntlet of undesirables to get to your room. Every night was an early night because I did not feel safe walking the gaunlet. I am a tall, confident man, who has travelled the world extensively, and this was the most uncomforatable I've ever been. YouR visit will be better if you stay in a better hotel.

Room Tip: AVOID AT ALL COSTS. You will thank me later.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitch99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Ionis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in February 2011, after having a horrible experience at the Ionis' sister hotel, the Apollo Hotel across town. The Apollo was undergoing construction, and the conditions there were so miserable I finally cried uncle and asked to be moved, anywhere. They finally relented, and drove me to their sister hotel, the Ionis Hotel. The Ionis is located in a dodgy part of Athens, and I understand that makes some travelers wary. I didn't have any trouble there, even when venturing out at 10 pm in search of a Gyro. It is located in a rough part of town, but don't let that dissuade you. It's a pretty good hotel, and for the money, I think it's a good value. It's a couple blocks walk to the Metro station, maybe 5 minutes on foot, and in the morning, you can see the streets come alive with all manner of Greek custom and flair. Inside the hotel, the large lobby has free internet on computers for guests to use, and the front desk staff is very helpful and accommodating. They speak passable English, and the rooms (my room, at least) had a large balcony, and 2 large beds. Plenty of space, and it came with a nice bathroom. Clean and well appointed, the room was well cared for and it was a pleasure to sleep there. I had a good stay here, a pity I didn't start my journey here instead of the under-construction Apollo Hotel. It's in the heart of Athens, and you can experience the daily life of Greece all around you. I like that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony view, of the bustling street below.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingHoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The place where the hotel is located is absolutely the worst place in Athens. It was reflecting the economic and political situation of Greece unfortunately. Drug sellers, thieves and prostitutes were everywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank selim2399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Once inside the Ionis Hotel, it is a very pleasant place. The rooms are large, with balconies to sit and watch the weird goings on in the street below. The breakfasts are a delight. The staff are helpful and the rooms are clean. Sadly, the street in which the hotel stands is seedy, even by Omonia Square standards! I'd still recommend this hotel for seasoned travellers, and for couples - but for a woman on her own, it's a rather daunting experience getting back to the hotel entrance late in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors - the lower floors are inhabited by school trips and unive...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireGypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We have really enjoyed staying in the Hotel Ionis and we have been here for a couple of weeks now. OK the streets around are unpleasant, but once inside the hotel is clean, friendly and excellent value. The breakfast is very good.

The location is the major drawback and late at night there is a feeling of 'running the gauntlet' on the last few streets. That said nothing bad has happened to us. There are far worse areas in any big city.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scrabblemad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#173 of 324 in Athens
194 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Parnon
Hotel Parnon
#146 of 324 in Athens
176 reviews
Omonia
Iniohos Hotel
Iniohos Hotel
#231 of 324 in Athens
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Alassia Hotel
Alassia Hotel
#232 of 324 in Athens
218 reviews
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#77 of 324 in Athens
593 reviews
Delphi Art Hotel
#93 of 324 in Athens
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionis Hotel

Address: 41 Chalkokondili, Athens 104 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Hotel Class:3 star — Ionis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ionis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing