We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap, good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ionis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ionis Hotel
Ranked #243 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cheap, good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

the breakfast alone was worth the very reasonable price, of course a few migrants and hookers, but like stray dogs i left them alone and they left me alone. I didnt feel anymore unsafe than new york or london, and reading other reviews no one said they were actually mugged.All of athens smells either of urine or teargas, i,ve known cleaner cities .so omonia square no different.useful jumping off points to everywhere

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgan250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    29
    43
    25
    21
See reviews for
11
36
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just got back from a trip to Athens,The city is very nice and full of history. Before booking the ionia hotel on Expedia.com i wanted to read reviews on this site, some people said to stay away from this hotel and area and i was like how bad could it be in a city like Athens? So i went ahead and booked my trip. When i got to Athena i spent some time in the city center and found it very nice, But once i got off the Omonia station to walk to the hotel i was shocked!!! The area was full of hookers, junkies and dealers. Now, during the day it wasn't very bad since there were alot of people on the streets, But once it gets dark you will find yourself walking among hookers, junkies and dealers smelling urine every now and then like as if you are in that area trying to score something!!!
I wasn't afraid since i'm a big and heavily tattooed guy, but a female or a family with kids will have to be extra careful.
Walking back to the hotel trough this area ruined my hole experience, after all who wants to see junkies and hookers after seeing the Acropolis and the nice cafes???
The hotel is OLD, very basic. The street facing side is very noisy specially at night since there are gambling shops and wired looking man standing there all night and talking weird languages( kurdish,Gypsy) while the hookers get in and out of corner alleys after shooting heroine.
The bathroom is tiny, i had to squeeze myself between the door and the sink to shut the door. The room is relatively clean though. The Free wifi and breakfast was nice. the front reception guy could care less if you asked him something and he was smoking right at the desk. Find something else near the center or the suburbs, you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: the street facing side is loud all day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goldenratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Misha098
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Initially we had booked to stay at Apollo hotel through expedia when we arrived the manager said we are being upgraded to a better hotel - ionis.
Service has been amazing they are very helpful even assisting where we can pick up our ferry at night.
The area - I would not feel safe walking around after dark. Lots of people loitering around. Close to sights.
Room - only reasonably clean.
Great hotel if u don't want to spend much time here.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misha098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel. The location admittedly was not that fantastic, just like any hotel in downtown area of any major city in the world. However the metro was just 3 minute walk away and all major places of interest were totally easily accessible. The reception was wonderfully friendly and helpful and went the extra mile to take care of us. The food was served in the dining room was excellent, traditional food, nice greek salads served with delicious tasty greek dishes. For breakfast there was wonderful greek yoghurt served with honey plus real greek coffee made over hot sand. The staff were wonderful - delightful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Value for money, i would say that this was a hidden treasure. you just have to be a little street wise in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbiequed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rota, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Along with most of the other reviews I would like to start off stating that the location however convenient, it was very sketchy. The staff is very very very helpful and the rooms are decent. Breakfast was simple but is expected in Greece.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Novotel Athenes
#59 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#31 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#83 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#43 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionis Hotel

Property: Ionis Hotel
Address: 41 Chalkokondili, Athens 104 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Hotel Class:3 star — Ionis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ionis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing