We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,252)
Filter reviews
1,252 results
Traveller rating
589
514
96
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
589
514
96
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews acropolis museum peacock restaurant great location within walking distance acropolis view two blocks junior suite rooms are small breakfast room top floor metro station restaurants and shops rooftop bar and restaurant wonderful hotel quiet street lit up at night plaka district
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 1,252 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Had a great experience at Hera hotel. The Location was very close to the Acropolis you can literally walk there. Close to the metro station as well. Great restaurant nearby mhani-mhani(sp). The rooftop restaurant of the hotel was actually real good along with the Acropolis views. The food was very delicious! Clean comfortable rooms and convenience and very friendly service! Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 212furhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit.

Hope to see you again,

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

After traveling around Greece and on our way to other European cities, we stayed here for one night to treat ourselves before we left Athens. We made a good choice with the hotel. It is ideally located on what we call the quiet side of the Acropolis. While Plaka is still easily accessible, it is the back end of Plaka and it is several blocks away. You have more dining choices if you walk toward the Koukaki or more into Makrianni neighborhoods. The Acropolis metro stop is also a short walk. The lobby is modern and clean with a friendly and helpful staff working the front desk. After checking in we headed up to our room in the typically small elevator. We found the carpets in the hall were stained and need a good cleaning. Our room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was large with a tub and shower. Beautiful brownish colored marble was used throughout the bathroom, but it seems like housekeeping has rubbed the shine off with harsh chemicals. Water has obviously spilled from the shower because the wood near the shower by the floor is rotted, and the bottom of the door shows peeling from moisture. The only other thing we noticed was the air conditioner struggled to cool the room. We ended up leaving the air conditioner on while we went out to dinner (We used the second key to keep the power on, and took one key with us.) Of course, we did have the sun beating on our room all day, and it was in the 90s. We drew the drapes to keep the sun out. When you enter the room there is ample closet space in the form of built-ins. At night we went out on our balcony to admire the illuminated Parthenon. Beautiful! We also had drinks at their rooftop bar but did not eat here. In the morning we enjoyed the buffet which had hot and cold offerings, plus different breads. We also watched as a man who appeared to roll out of bed in his pajamas enter the breakfast room barefooted and in the aforementioned pajamas. An employee noticed him, but did not say anything to him about dressing and putting on shoes. Ick. I would not expect this at the cheapest motel, so I would suggest that staff be trained to gently remind guests that appropriate attire is required in the dining room. We enjoyed our stay here and slept very well, but at this price point attention to detail needs a little more work. Staff here is wonderful and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Babu2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback. So nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding your comment on the air condition, it is true that when we have high temperatures it is difficult, to cool the room very quickly.However, if you keep the power on the temperature is very pleasant in the room! As far as your morning "encounter" with the guest, I am sorry to read about it. I will inform the staff about it!

Once again thank you for staying at Hera Hotel, and hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We recently stayed here for 2 nights pre cruise. The drive into Athens from the airport was a little disconcerting after 4 nights in London, (Be wary of cab drivers attempting to rip you off and charge more than the set fare!), we were happy to arrive at Hera. The hotel is right in the touristy part with great restaurants and shops right nearby. Funny fact, theres a tiki bar right next door! The Acropolis, which looks fantastic lit up at night from the rooftop restaurant, is only about 5 minutes walk away. Breakfast can be had in the pleasant garden room but the buffet isnt too special. The staff are friendly but as there were quite a number of guests checking out on the same day for the cruise, the girls on the front desk did get a bit frazzled and frustrated. The rooms are very spacious as was the bathroom and the bed was very comfy. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here if I ever returned to Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank familytravellers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review!

So nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, some times check out time might be very busy!

Looking forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Athens!

best regards

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Our family of 5 adults arrived to the Hera Hotel late morning after a long flight from the U.S. They didn't have any rooms ready for early arrival. Fortunately, my husband had arrived the night before and was able to book a room. We were all able to shower and change before heading out for the afternoon. The hotel is in a great location as others have mentioned. Our purpose was to visit the Acropolis and its museum for our 1 day stay in the city. We could not have chosen a better location to stay. The museum is just around the corner from the hotel! Upon returning to the hotel later in the afternoon, the additional 2 rooms were ready and our room had been cleaned. No complaints for tidiness and cleanliness. Breakfast in the morning is served in a lovely room and the food was varied and excellent! We recommend this boutique hotel if what you want is proximity to attractions in Athens, and a fair priced no-frills room that is clean and offers modern amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for your feedback.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again and stay for more days and explore the city!

best regards,

Iro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

The location is ideal. A quiet area out of the hectic area of Athens. Within walking distance to the Acropolis museum and many restaurants. The hotel is historical but so are the rooms! The walls are paper thin and the bathtub/shower walls had very noticeable mold. The carpeting in the public areas are stained and worn. This hotel would be an excellent choice if they remodeled and cleaned up the rooms. Until that time I do not recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HDChrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback.

I am sorry to read that you didnt like our rooms. Please note that we are in the process of renovating them. We have already finished with our room floors and have started some bathrooms. The carpets in the main corridors, will be replaced this year. However, please note that they are thoroughly cleaned twice a month, but due to the daily use, with luggage and foot prints, stains are not easily removed.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again ,where you will see the new changes!

best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews