We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,500)
Filter reviews
2,500 results
Traveller rating
1,133
958
284
85
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,133
958
284
85
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungefree shuttlecafe zoeshuttle servicesyntagma squaretram stopguest relationsbig hotelan upgraderooms are bigper daysitting areanice poolacropolis viewmini barthe hotel offersvery nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 2,500 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We stayed in that hotel for our Athens holiday with family at the end of this July. The rooms and hotel look good. But the room service is very dodgy. They can knock on the door and even try to enter anytime even though I did not mention making my room, that too, in the evening.
Also, in our room, I have lost my beloved Rayban sunglasses gifted to me by my wife on my birthday. Just left it in the room somewhere and went out on the first day and could not find it afterward. Must have got wings, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sum2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marthapallis, Assistant Front Office Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Sum2C,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for writing a review. Our guests’ satisfaction is what we strive for and any comments that help us maintain the high standards for which InterContinental is known are warmly welcomed. We have taken note of your comments regarding the daily service provided by our Housekeeping staff and would like to suggest that on a future visit, when you do not wish to be disturbed whilst you are in the room, to place the “Come Back Later” sign outside your door, as this indicates to all our staff that you wish to have your room serviced at a later time. With regards to your lost sunglasses, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that all our staff members are longstanding employees of the hotel and we have not faced issues of theft from guest rooms by our staff. As such, we would like to assure you that your sunglasses were not taken from within your room by our staff members. We thank you once again for your comments and trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on a future visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed for thee days with a family in adjoining rooms. Hotel has plenty of good amenities including a pool and a good gym, especially for a hotel. Service was good across the board. Only negative was the blog across the street was abandoned some time ago and was a bit of an eyesore

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marthapallis, Assistant Front Office Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Jeff N,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental for your recent visit to Athens and for sharing your feedback. It is a pleasure to learn that our accommodations as well as our level of service met with your expectations. We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We spent two nights at this hotel -- at the beginning and end of our vacation in Greece -- and were very happy with it. The room was spacious and clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the pool was nice. The staff are excellent, and they have a very nice rooftop lounge with a wonderful view of the Acropolis and Mount Lycabettus. That being said, it is very expensive and the location isn't the greatest -- the street it is on has lots of strip clubs and doesn't feel safe at night. Parking at the hotel was an extra 21 EUR per day, and we didn't bother eating at the hotel because the prices were way too high. We ate at a lovely restaurant just down the road called Pilot Cafe.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marthapallis, Assistant Front Office Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Stephen A,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens earlier this month with your family. We truly appreciate your taking the time to write a review and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our accommodations, facilities and staff’s excellent service. We have taken note of your comments with regards to the location in which the hotel is situated and would like to advise your that it is a safe business and residential area. With regard to our restaurant prices may we advise you that they reflect the high quality of product and service offered in the hotel. We thank you again for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Palliss
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Special thanks to Hara Alevizou & Eleni for very professional & courteous service. Recognized us as spire elite member & provided us with an upgrade. Room was very spacious for 3 of us. Free shuttle to Syntagma square was convenient for visiting all important locations like Akropolis, monastraki plaka etc. We strongly recommend this property to anyone visiting Athens. Hotel has a exceptional views of the Acropolis from lounge.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank freedom20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marthapallis, Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear fredom20172017,
Thank you for having chosen the Athenaeum InterContinental for your visit to Athens and for writing a review about your experience.
We are delighted to learn, that the level of service provided by our staff as well as the comfort of our rooms contributed towards an enjoyable stay in our hotel. In addition, it pleases us greatly to learn that our accommodations and convenience of our location made your stay with us enjoyable.
We thank you again for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens on your next visit to our city.
Yours sincerely,
Martha Pallis | Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Beautiful hotel and large, beautiful room; good service. Only one complaint - the high bathtub. Not easy to climb in and out for someone like me whose balance can be a bit off. If you have tubs like these, how about also a walk-in shower.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapplebaum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marthapallis, Assistant Front Office Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear sapplebaum2,

Thank you for staying with us at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for taking the time to write a review. Our guests’ satisfaction is what we strive for and we are delighted to learn that our staff service and accommodations met with your expectations. With regards to your comments for the high bathtub in your room, kindly be informed that the hotel has a few rooms with walk-in shower, therefore please contact us directly for your reservation when you next visit our city. We thank you again for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens.

Yours sincerely,

Martha Pallis
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews