We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Valentine break in Athens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Electra Palace Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #12 of 334 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Valentine break in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Electra Palace Hotel, Athens.
On arrival we were very pleased to be upgraded to a room with a view of the Acropolis and what a view. We booked half board and had to sit in the roof top restrauant looking out at a flood lit Acropolis every evening eating in one of the best places in Athens.
The room was the best we have ever stayed in with luxury bathroom, quality fittings and even slippers and dressing gown provided.
The roof top pool was closed but it was february and a bit cold for outdoor swiming so we used the indoor pool and leisure facilities.
We had an excellent buffet breakfast in the ground floor restraunt with views of the garden.
The bar served hot choclate drinks at the same prices as most cafes.
The service provided by every member of staff was 5* and we would recomend this hotel with its fantastic location and world class views of the Acropolis to every reader of Tripadviser

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awalysblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    894
    222
    71
    31
See reviews for
733
1,274
80
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny South
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

It's just a shame that Greece is going through such turmoil right now (as I type, anyhow). The Electra Palace holds many a special memory for my family and we've been returning there on an annual basis. We've seen the hotel change into the jewel of the Plaka and it's also so comforting to see their friendly faces.

Location is PERFECT! You can safely walk to the Plaka and the many historical sites in the area.

You'll never go hungry in the Plaka, that is for sure. Try Palea Athina for the best meal that you'll have in Greece.

Love this hotel. It's a classic. Clean. Updated and perfect location!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellerSunnySouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Great staff, great room, great amenities.

We were upgraded to a suite with multiple balconies overlooking the parthenon. Also received wine and fruit for staying with them on our honeymoon.

The restaurant for breakfast offers a little bit of everything and offers a great meal. The location is very good, an easy walk to most parts of Athens. We were easily confused many times and got lost as many of the streets change names, end, or don't go parallel to others. Be sure to study the area a bit before venturing out.

We were out at night time and did not feel 100% comfortable. There are definately dark alleys nearby so be sure to stay with others and in the main areas.

They also have a very nice pool that overlooks the Parthenon. We were lucky enough to lay out and tan one day.

This is hotel is definately worth the 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony overlooking the Parthenon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Quite simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Entrance of the hotel was beautiful and clean and very grand,reception staff could not have been more helpful on arrival and departure. The room was perfect, spacious with a large comfortable bed and a large bathroom (all very clean at all times) and even though we never asked for a room with a view we were given one with the stunning sights of Akropolis. On the first night we went to the roof top restaurant which quite simply would be the best restaurant you could ever eat in, beautiful views of Athens and its historical buildings were what set the atmosphere but the staff were fantastic (Eva) one of the restaurant staff was so professional in her job and very friendly, and finally the food was outstanding, great value for money and an all round brilliant experience. The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the temple of zeus and a 15 minute walk from akropolis which was perfect for sightseeing. Plus only 5 minutes by walk from the city centre. What made this hotel stay perfect was on check out we had a few hours until our flight and didnt really know what to do, the hotel held our bags for us and let us use the health suite at no charge for as long as we wanted, that kind of hospitality is not seen very often nowadays (especially not in the UK).

Room Tip: Ask for room 331
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this 5 star hotel. Its location is absolutely ideal: 3 min walk from Syntagma square and metro station and another 3 min walk from picture-perfect Plaka, and yet nested in a small narrow road with few traffic.
It is a very elegant hotel, very clean, its rooms are simple but elegant and well equipped (minibar, safe, WiFi (paid) etc), and it has very friendly and helpful staff.
The superior double rooms on the 5th floor have a fantastic view over the Acropolis and Parthenon, which becomes pure magic during the night hours when the whole monument is lighten up.
The restaurant on the 5th floor has the same great view and is one of the best in Athens.
Breakfast buffet is rather typical and not reallly surprising, although everything is fresh.
If you can afford its price, then this is one of the best choices in Athens.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 334 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 334 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#16 of 334 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): $202 - $338
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing