We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,218)
Filter reviews
4,218 results
Traveller rating
2,432
1,471
248
46
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,432
1,471
248
46
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant temple of olympian zeus great location acropolis museum within walking distance top floor busy street where breakfast is served superior room light sleeper our honeymoon olympic stadium an amazing view roof garden hadrian's arch plaka district major sites
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 4,218 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Check in was smooth, due to the low season we were able to get out room at 11am. Room was clean and the had a view of the Temple of Zeus. Breakfast was limited yet sufficient and delicious. Dinner at the rooftop was awesome with great service and beautiful view of the Parthenon. Couldn't find any room service menu, but there were plenty of good eating places nearby. A short 10mins walk to the Metro, 5mins walk to nearest convenience shop. If noise isn't your concern, I recommend this.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Tip: If you are a light sleeper, sleep in a cold room or require fast wifi, I would not recommend to stay here.

We booked a 4 night stay here to do some sightseeing in Athens and picked it for its centrally located location. Check-in was a breeze and was formally welcomed and personally shown to our room which we loved. We opted in for a temple of Zeus view room and got one on the 6th floor. While the view was great, the amount of noise coming from the street below was extraordinary! Noise was significant from cars and constant honking every hour of the day including after-hours even with the door closed. This was detrimental to our sleep quality. In addition, the rooms are quite stuffy and the heat/cool system was centrally controlled. The WiFi was terribly slow and took forever to load pages despite needing to do work in the hotel. Breakfast was a small spread of meats, cheeses, breads, eggs, sausage and potatoes. The rooftop restaurant had a wonderful view of the acropolis however and was worth going to breakfast for.

The good:
- Views from hotel room and rooftop restaurant
- Beds were comfortable
- Rooms are a bit small but cosy for couples
- Front desk and staff are wonderful
- Housekeeping was consistent and immaculate
- Location is outstanding, close to everything, including Plaka, the metro and temple of Zeus

The bad:
- Noise from room makes sleeping impossible for light sleepers
- Rooms get stuffy and centrally controlled AC system
- Wifi is unusable due to speed, took about a minute to download a megabyte
- Bathroom is a bit cramped
- Breakfast is a bit lacking in variety
- TV is dated and barely watchable

I would recommend this hotel for the location and plan to do sightseeing in the area. Light sleepers and computer dependants should avoid due to noise and WiFi. I really wanted to like this hotel but for the price I paid, losing sleep and lack of Internet connectivity made it not worthwhile.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank haruu2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

As part of a 2 week travel in Greece, we stayed in Athens Gate during 9-24 Dec. Given that we were a family of 5, the hotel was accommodating to our requests in putting the rooms near each other as well as other location. I am most THANKFUL for the hotel for finding a precious piece of jewelry that my wife had left in the room after we checked out. This would have a made a big difference in our trip and i would like to applaud the hotel for making our holiday in Greece even more memorable!

Room Tip: Face the Parthenon for a quieter night
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparrowhawkyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthensGate1, General Manager at The Athens Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your special comment regarding your stay at The Athens Gate Hotel. Your thank you note will be distributed to all the staff.

Following our dedication to guest satisfaction, that it is our number one priority, we strongly believe that our guests’ reviews and comments are the most successful tool in order to improve our services and fulfill each need to the highest level. We are supporting a city hotel of enduring value and we strive daily to support it with a deeply instilled ethic of personal service in the finest, relaxing yet upscale ambiance.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in our city and The Athens Gate Hotel.


With kind regards,

Yiannis Adamantopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

A good hotel in the centre of Athens. In walking distance of the main attractions and public transport.
Rooms are clean and the breakfast is tasty. The restaurant at the eighth floor has a good view of the Acropolis and Zeus temple.
Only the elevators are very small.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneToussaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

I was unluck enough to have a room overlooking the 8 lane major road immediately at the front. The traffic was 24*7 so it was immpossible to get any sleep. The rooms desperately need double or triple glazing to overcome this.
Otherwise - no complaints. Terrific views of the Temple of Zeus and the Accropolis plus very good restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the building
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews