We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable!”
Review of Vezene

Vezene
Ranked #188 of 2,777 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 35 - USD 46
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Vezene is a Greek Inspired bistro cooking primarily with wood fire grills and ovens. It is located opposite the Hilton Hotel and Madrid Park with views to Lycabetus hill, very close to the Ilissia Gardens. The menu focuses on dry aged meat and local sustainable seafood.
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Being there many years ago. It was really good and i recommended it to many people.

This time? Good starters (mini burgers, bone marrow and pie. Main course? Disaster. They showed us samples of 400 grams 3 cm thick ribeye, dry aged 100 days. We ordered it. It came a max 200 grams 1cm thick. Full of nerves, not chewable. Taste below average.

Cost of this ribeye? 80 euros!!! A joke. We complained and they gave us silly excuses. If only they knew they were addressing to somebody that is cooking steaks before they were born...

It looks their days are over. Unless they are addressing only to nouveaux riches who don't know anything about food.

Just skip it.

2  Thank GeorgeBere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vezene, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Vezene, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Dear GeorgeBere,
Thank you for visiting and reporting. We are sorry that your dining experience didn’t meet your expectations. As you already know, concerning our policy, we always showcase the meat cuts of the day so that our guests can be fully informed about the race of the meet, the days of maturation, their price and of course their weight.

The day that you visited our restaurant there were two kinds of rib eye , the Longhorn , aged for 120 days and the Hereford aged for 90 days, both weighted 400 grams. The first one was thicker and smaller and the second one was slightly flatter and wider. We really can’t understand which one you‘re describing.

You ordered a rib eye steak declaring that you are cooking steaks for years, but every meat lover knows that ribeye is a meat that has zero veins. It is buttery with high marbling and the specific one that you ordered had a distinctive and aromatic yellow fat.

Even someone that isn’t a meat expert can easily scroll down Instagram pages for meat lovers and instantly recognize the quality that we are offering.

After seven years being present in the culinary scenery of Athens we are more than proud for the hard work and determination that we put to our job so that we can express our passion and love for what we do.

As you realize we are not going to put on stake our restaurant by doing something so offensive like selling a meat cut for less grams than those listed, because we live from this job and also our families are depending on it.

So please next time that you want to offend someone’s work, take some time to consider the impact of your actions. We worked very hard for every inch of what we have built and we will continue doing it.
Sincerely,
The Vezene team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Good food and service, meat dishes were appropriately cooked, fish of the day was really good.
Chips with cheese to accompany your dishes is highly recommended.
Prices are overestimated.

Thank Belangelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vezene, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Vezene, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Belangelie,

Thank you for visiting and reporting! We are very glad that you enjoyed the Vezene experience to the maximum.

Αs you already know, our pricing policy is analogical with the quality of our ingredients and services.

We hope to have you back soon.

Sincerely,

the Vezene team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Great food and wine! Lovely athmosphere and very professional staff. We had the catch of the day, a huge fish :) Very good and fresh. Will be back!

2  Thank Mickolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vezene, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Vezene, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Mickolina,

Thank you for visiting our restaurant! We are very happy that you enjoyed the Vezene experience to the maximum.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

the Vezene team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We went to Vezene for a great food experience. The food was great, and they have a great Wine selection. For main course i ordered a RibEye steak which was superb, my wife ordered the King Crab Pasta. They forgot about her Pasta, it happens. They apologised and ten minutes later we had the pasta served. It was delicious and really well prepared. Desserts followed and they were great too. NOW FOR THE AMAZING PART- we asked for the bill, the shift manager came to the table and said there is no bill, the meal is on the house. We were totally shocked and asked why , the answer was, we did not do a good job to give you a perfect experience, so there is no need to pay. People- how often do you meet a place which takes full responsibility for giving nothing less than a perfect experience? I am deeply impressed, and admire the approach of serious dinning experience that the restaurant takes on it self to deliver. Go you will not regret it!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MikeyMousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vezene, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Vezene, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear MikeyMousse,

Thank you for visiting and reporting!
We are very glad that you had a pleasant dining experience!

We hope to have you back soon.

Sincerely,

the Vezene team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

A very good restaurant in downtown Athens with some excellent meat dishes. The salads are rather colorless, the wine list could be better with the addition of some mid range reds.

Thank GerGasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vezene, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Vezene, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear GerGasp,

Thank you for visiting and sharing your experience with us!

Concerning your comment about our wine list, it is an ever changing material that we make sure to renew. Diversity and sustainability are two of the main reasons that we follow this policy, in order to offer you the maximum dining experience. We also support small winemakers that produce natural wines.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

the Vezene team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vezene also viewed

 
 

Been to Vezene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing