We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,623)
Filter reviews
2,623 results
Traveller rating
583
1,346
534
113
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
1,346
534
113
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool nice hotel larissa station sofa bed omonia square minute walk taxi driver breakfast buffet late at night top floor central athens neighborhood xbox metro acropolis taxis immigrants
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 2,623 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

The room was nothing like the pictures. We paid for a room for 2 adults and 2 kids. We were shown a picture of the room which had a double bed and a sofa bed made up when we booked through the agent. When we arrived we were told that we could open the sofa bed, no linen provided just told to do it ourselves. So the kids were to sleep on a dirty sofa bed with no linen. We all crammed together on a double bed. The bathroom had holes in the hand basin. We only stayed here because of the pool and I will never make that mistake again. The place was not worth the money spent we should have gone to inn Athens instead of coming here. It was situated near a refugee housing, very scary at night. We basically wasted money being here in Athens. We should have stayed in Thessaloniki at the Met hotel which was amazing in every way. I don’t recommend Novotel Athens to anyone at all.
Very disappointed with our experience.
Rita

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank ritagL391NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear ritagL391NQ,
We would like to thank you for having shared your feedback further your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel.
You express your disappointment regarding the room and we apologize if it was not up to your expectations. However, the Novotel room composed by a queen size bed and a sofa convertible into a bed, offers the choice to the guest by opening and closing the sofa bed by itself. The sofa bed is ready to use with clean linens inside. In case that our guests face difficulties, our personnel is always available to help.
We look forward satisfying your needs upon your next stay at the Novotel Athens hotel.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

This hotel is a mixed bag. The restaurant on the roof-top deck serves great food and has great views of the city. The pool is great for a cool-down after roaming Athens.

On the downside, however, is the location. It's in the middle of what appears to be a ghetto. We should have stayed in the Plaka area.

But the worst is the noise from all the kids. The hotel seems to cater to families on tour packages. There's no escaping the noise (in the hallways, the rooms, the pool, the breakfast buffet). Of course, it's not the hotel's fault that parents allow their kids to run wild, but perhaps suggesting on check-in that we upgrade to a floor without kids (code language is usually "executive" or "business") would be helpful.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a business floor if possible
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertMattioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear RobertMattioli,
We would like to thank you for sharing your review in Tripadvisor. You enjoyed the rooftop terrace with its pool & open air restaurant and your satisfaction is our best reward.
However, we apologize if our little guests made noise and disturbed your stay. We took into great consideration your suggestion for a floor dedicated to adults only.
We look forward receiving you again and we sincerely hope you'll give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

The Novotel has the potential to be a great hotel, but wasn't really for us.
We stayed for one night after returning to Athens from Zakinthos and before flying home. I booked this hotel looking for a bit of luxury for our last night, unfortunately we didn't get that.
We arrived on an early flight and the staff were very accommodating and provided us with the only room available at the time which was a wheelchair accessible room, which didn't bother us at all.
We then left the hotel to go explore Athens. Two minutes after leaving the hotel we quickly realised that the area surrounding the hotel was not good. There were moments were both myself and my partner felt very unsafe and wouldn't walk in the area again. We wish the staff of the hotel would have advised us of this upon check in or advise us on a walking route to take.
We returned later in the evening and wanted to have dinner locally as we were tired. The reception staff pointed out three restaurants locally but that was it really. The restaurant menus didn't appeal to us either, so we got a TAXI to central Athens.
Bedrooms were lovely and spacious and the beds were of a good quality. The breakfast however we were not as satifised with. It offered a semi wide selection, however the standard wasn't very good with some of the hot food items being freezing cold.
We then ventured to the pool early to beat the family rush. Despite having our 'towel cards', there was no towels available to guest at 9:45am. Towels were then later provided. The pool is rather small and soon became swarmed with guests, most of which were children.
The hotel is extremely family orientated, which we did not realise before booking. The hotel is full of children running around and screaming in corridors. If traveling with a family, this hotel is probably well suited (despite bad neighbourhood). However, if you are looking for some peace and quiet like us, then this hotel is may not be for you.
Again, this hotel has great potential but it just wasn't suited to us and the bad neighbourhood would really concern me.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aimée N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Aimée N,
We thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback further your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel.
We consider your remarks since we always improve our services to offer the best of us to our clients.
We look forward welcoming you again at the Novotel Athens hotel in the future.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Spent one night during August 2018, we met lot of French people ! The pool and the view from the rooftop are really amazing but it’s not the place to have a quiet time ! Children enjoyed the pool till 7:00PM but after rooftop is a peaceful place to have diner. Few sunbeds are available and quickly taken from the pool opening (9:00PM).
Food is quite good but a little expensive. View from room are not really nice.
Neighborhood is not really welcoming but the hotel will be a good option if you only want to stay in there !

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GuillaumeKp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018


Dear GuillaumeKp,
We thank you for having shared your review in Tripadvisor.
You enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel and especially the Roof top restaurant "Clair de Lune".
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Novotel Athens hotel in the future.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Decent option in Athens as the price is reasonable and there is roof top pool, with views of the city.

This was a god-send after a hot day in Athens, although it was pretty busy.

The Novotel rooms are the same the world over and are a single design, which is basic. Don’t expect any bathroom privacy.

Breakfast was reasonable.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank 28NH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear 28NH73,
Thank you for your feedback further to your stay at the Novotel Athenes hotel. We were happy to learn you enjoyed the roof top terrace and the pool!
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews