We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,606)
Filter reviews
2,606 results
Traveller rating
579
1,338
529
113
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
1,338
529
113
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolnice hotellarissa stationsofa bedomonia squareminute walktaxi driverbreakfast buffetlate at nighttop floorcentral athensneighborhoodxboxmetroacropolistaxisimmigrants
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 2,606 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend booked this hotel as we needed to stay in Athens for a final night after flying in from Santorini and flying home the next day.

Got the train to Larissa and walked the 8 minutes to the hotel, the local area was a little 'tired' but better than other areas of Athens. Everything is accessible via the metro but not the walking distance of a more central hotel.

The interior of the hotel was modern, the rooftop bar and pool was lovely with great views although there are only around 12 sun loungers (although plenty of other seating) so I imagine in the busy season it would be a battle to get one. Downstairs bar seemed well stocked and had a tv showing sport.

Prices for food and the bar seemed a little excessive, especially for the local beer Mythos which was over 6 Euro for a 500ml bottle. Breakfast was ample with a good selection of hot and cold food with pastries and plenty of drink options.

The room was fine with a large comfortable bed, a small sofa and enough storage space. Was happy with the size of the room.

The thing for me was the bathroom door, not sure if this is because I am English and things are different on the continent but I like some privacy when in the bathroom which the doors did not. After some island hoping I was looking forward to a good honest bathroom and this was not what I was after. What's wrong with a good old fashioned wooden door? If this is the future I don't want any part of it.

Review would have been one higher if it wasn't due door.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Jonjon1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Jonjon1224,
We thank you for your comments further to your recent stay.
You enjoyed your overall stay with us and we were happy to read your feedback.
We also took into great consideration your remarks regarding the glass door of the bathroom and we thank you for having mentioned it.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Novotel Athens hotel.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Very good place as far as hotel/restaurant is concerned. even close from Concordia place. Parking for car No issue , the only drawback is the location area which is not clean with a lot of "strange people " As a consequence if you want to go for evening diner in Plaka or in Athens downtown you ABSOLUTELU need to take your car or a cab. But for the rest place is great and view from the top ( restaurant) is gorgeous...

Room Tip: Use the roof restaurant in the evening to enjoy one of the best view to Athen Partenon
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Joseph R,
Thank you for your positive feedback further to your stay at the Novotel Athenes hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We have stayed here several times over the years and find the price and service to be excellent. This time, Angelina and Thannasis were especially helpful. The breakfast is very good, too. We really enjoy the roof top restaurant, with its great views of Athens, especially at night. I agree that the immediate neighbourhood is not the best, but I have walked around many times and it's perfectly safe during the day. At night, Monastiraki and all the action is only a 5 Euro cab ride away, so really, whether the immediate area is nice or not has never been an issue for my family and I (we have daughters aged 15 and 11). We will definitely stay here again since there's no reason to pay double the price or more to be near the Acropolis.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Steve K,
We would like to thank you for your preference to the Novotel Athens hotel.
Your comments were shared with the hotel's team and we were delighted to receive your positive feedback since our mission is your satisfaction.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again at the Novotel Athens hotel.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is not far from the main square but i would not recommend walking it. Walked in very modern. Rooms are modern and very clean. There is a pharmacy across the road and also on the next street about a 2 minute walk. If you turn right and walk a few more minutes there is a laundry mat and a supermarket next door There is a bar/restaurant on the 7th floor go up there at night and you can see the Acropolis light up at night amazung views

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Tania T,
We would like to thank you for your preference at the Novotel Athens hotel. We were pleased to read your positive review and we're delighted to learn you enjoyed the hotel's services.
We look forward welcoming you again during your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

My family with 2 kids stayed for 2 nights in Novotel and it was a very good experience. We especially enjoyed the rooftop pool and restaurant, and the amazing breakfast. This was by far one of the best hotel breakfast accommodations we've had.
The only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is the small room and the not so nice location of the hotel, otherwise can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirben7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear sirben7, We would like to thank you for having shared your review further your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel.
We were pleased to read your positive review and we're delighted to learn you and your family enjoyed the hotel's services.
We look forward welcoming you again during your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews