We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Modern Hotel”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #20 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
bo'ness
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Large Modern Hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend in august. We got the train from the airport and hotel is only a short walk from the train station.

We were pleased with our choice when we arrived. Hotel is large and modern. Quick and easy check in and our room was ready. Room was modern and very clean. Also nice bathroom.

The main reason we chose this hotel was that it has a swimming pool. Many of the hotels in the area dont and after a long day sightseeing it was nice to cool down at the pool. It can get very busy and i think non guests can pay to use the pool as well, so can be busy in the hotter months.

Hotel is close to the centre but on the edge, a short walk from a street with lovely restaurants. We had a drink at the hotel bar and sat on the terrace one night to enjoy the views as the sun went down. It was nice but the bar didnt have a very relaxed feeling and was a bit expensive and snooty.

Buffet breakfast was fab and lots of choice, cereals, fruits, breaks, eggs, pancakes! One of the best buffet breakfasts ive had on holiday!

I would recommend this hotel and defo stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Madame,

Many thanks for your warm and positive feedback regarding your stay here at the Hilton Athens last August.

We were pleased to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. Your comments have been communicated to my colleagues and have been much appreciated!

Look forward to welcoming you back and extend once again the renowned hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,787
    1,181
    383
    142
    79
See reviews for
621
1,217
212
1,032
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Another Hilton under the belt. This time for two nights and a quick week-end trip to find spring.

The Hilton is the largest building in the area which gives you (provided you have a room facing it) an amazing view of the Acropolis. So make sure you book a room with a view, and yes, they charge you for it, but sitting on the balcony, sipping Ouzo, watching the sun set behind the Acropolis in the Aegaen sea is well worth it. How often does one travel to Athens?

The hotel is newly renovated and stylish on the inside. The service however leaves much to be desired, from lazy to complete apathy we got the whole treatment from the executive staff, at least some of them. Others tried, but failed due to lack of competence ad/or silly rules: they refused to print our boarding passes, which was a first in all of my travels...

We only had breakfast in the exec lounge and that was nice, no worries there.

I'd definitively go back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Hilton Athens.

We were pleased to note that your general impression of your visit was positive.

Your points, regarding the service provided by some of our colleagues, have been taken into serious consideration. Appropriate actions will be taken in order to prevent something similar from recurring. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you.

Do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Having seen many Hiltons and Sheratons, this must be one of the very best ones. You get an immediate good impression just stepping inside the lobby area. You feel the high quality at once. The hotel offers you just about anything you want, from the popular pool area, to the cool roof-top bar/nightclub (Galaxy Bar). The view from up there is fabulous, the Acropolis can be seen. If you find the music a bit loud inside, just step outside in the comfortable evening temperatures. The drinks don't come cheap, though. I'm not sure if there's a drink for less than 10 Euro, but the best view in town is included! :-) Going to bed you'll certainly enjoy the modern and luxurious room with a wide and very comfortable bed (there's no lack of pillows). If you're a couple you might get annoyed by the glass walls between the bathroom and the bedroom, no chance to hide your nightly visit to the loo since the whole room gets bright. Next morning, don't miss out on the excellent breakfast buffet. I've seen many and this one is fantastic. Try the thick Greek yoghurt and add some of the five different honeys offered. The bread is fresh and delicious and the hot items, just as perfect as you can imagine.

I always return to the Athens Hilton when I'm there for business. It's never a let-down, in fact, a better place is hard to find.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berrahugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your kind input regarding your recent stay here at the Hilton Athens!

It was a pleasure to learn that you were satisfied with the hotel's facilities and services rendered. Your comments will be communicated to our team and I am sure will be much appreciated!

Thank you for the loyalty you show to our hotel! Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Athens for 1 night in October 2011.

One of the first things you appreciate about this hotel is that it has EVERYTHING! Restaurants, rooftop bar with panoramic view, pool, shopping, etc., it's like a mini-resort within the city. While the outside looks dated, the inside of the hotel is anything but; rooms are very large and modern, with beautiful furniture and modern amenities. The bathroom was very spacious, with separate marble bathtub and rain shower. The room had a balcony with a beautiful view of the Acropolis.

The location is a bit further away from the action from let's say, Grande Bretagne, but with the situation in Greece right now that's not a bad thing! The hotel is easily accessible by metro and bus (we took a bus from the airport), and is a 10 minute walk to Syntagma Square. It's located in the embassy district, which is a bit quieter at night, but we walked it to Syntagma, and then on to Plaka, etc. with no problem.

The staff is great, very courteous and helpful, and they all speak excellent english. We were looking for a more affordable place for a quick breakfast (coffee and croissant), and the bellman suggested a place right behind the hotel, which was great! They called us a taxi to take us to Piraeus, and the taxi driver was honest and did not overcharge us.

I've stayed at the Grande Bretagne, and if I compare it to the Hilton, I would say location of GB is a bit better (but not these days with rioting outside their doors), and GB is more classic looking, but Hilton is a more modern hotel with modern amenities (and somewhat more affordable).

If you're in Athens for a few days and wish to do some site seeing before heading off to the islands, than I highly recommend Hilton Athens.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandK786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your comments and impressions regarding your stay here at the Hilton Athens last October.

We were mostly pleased to see that you were satisfied with the hotel's facilities, services rendered, location, as well as our staff being courteous and helpful. Your positive feedback will be communicated and would like to assure you that this will be much appreciated by them!

Once again, thank you for having chosen to stay with us and for recommending us to other people, visitors of Athens.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Athens for 4 nights in Feb 2012 while attending a convention. I had a king room facing the Acropolis on the 9th floor and access to the Executive Lounge as a Diamond loyalty level for Hilton. When I checked in, there was no offer for an upgrade to a higher accommodation as has supposedly been the new practice this year for Hiltons and Conrads.

The room was well laid out, comfortable, and had a nice view of central Athens, especially in the evenings. Incidentally, my original room was on the 6th floor, but I requested and received very promptly a change during the 1st night when a loud party started in the adjacent room at about midnight. The two rooms were essentially identical. Soundproofing from the Athens street noise is good. I did not use room service, but the housekeeping was efficient and timely. I would stay here again.

I used the executive lounge for breakfast one day, and for a pre-dinner drink on two occasions. The choices were good enough and friendly service. The lobby areas have a typical modern design with a notable lack of comfortable seating, the design does not encourage lingering at all.

Room Tip: I believe even number rooms are on the Acropolis side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind input in reference to your recent stay here at the Hilton Athens.

It was a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your visit and were satisfied with most of the facilities and service rendered.

We always do appreciate the feedback received by our guests, as this helps us improve our services and correct any shortcomings.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
358 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#17 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): $161 - $584
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing