We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in every way!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't begin to express how perfect my stay was at this property. It's been some time since my visit, but still wanted to go back and show my appreciation by expressing to the world how amazing they are.

First off, location! I took the train in from the airport and the stop was just next to the hotel making that quite convenient. The property is also walkable to the Acropolis. I took much of my time just walking around. They are also in walking distance to nightlife which was quite fun!

The property: BEAUTIFUL and luxurious. You experience that from the moment you walk into the hotel. The room was stunning and huge. It also had a long balcony facing out to Syntagma Square. I also took time to enjoy their spa which was quite lovely as well. Then there's the rooftop. WOW! What a beautiful view of the Acropolis, especially at night when it's lit up.

The rooftop restaurant: Service at the restaurant was spectacular. Wait staff was helpful with recommendations and was always attentive. The food and wine pairings were all lovely. I enjoyed every last bite of the dishes I experienced there. The bartender was also helpful in providing suggestions on where to head out for drinks in the area, and he made some wonderful cocktails as well.

Reception: walking into such an extravagant hotel, I expected to feel a bit out of place. I was wrong. They made me feel welcome and were incredibly friendly in each interaction. This was very much appreciated, especially since I was traveling alone and it felt reassuring that they really pay attention to their guests.

This was easily one of my top 5 favorite hotel stays and recommend this property to anyone visiting Athens.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saenzl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 3,478 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed at dozens of Luxury Collection branded hotels and this one is for sure the worst.

Positive:
- Great location next to subway station to airport as well as within walking distance to most destinations in Athens downtown
- Excellent view of Acropolis from roof top bar during sunrise / sunset. This is the primary reason we've selected the hotel over other Starwood hotels in Athens. However you don't have to be a hotel guest to get to the roof top bar. My suggestions is to stay elsewhere and come to the roof top bar for a drink

Negative:
- Watch out the charge at the roof top bar. Drink prices charged was 1 - 2 euro higher than listed in menu. Both me and my friend noticed the discrepancy.
- My check-in experience was on the 6th floor at the Butler office as I was confirmed into a suite pre-arrival. Arrived early and was told the room was not available yet. Went out and came back after 2pm check-in time. Was told room is still unavailable. Asked to cancel reservation and a room magically became available.
- Check-in agent keeps saying that I have been upgraded to a suite which is not really the case as I used a Suite Upgrade Award certificate which confirmed me into a suite 5 days before arrival and the upgrade will be paid by Starwood corporate. Claiming she upgraded me is quite a bit deceptive.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback following your stay with us. We always strive to provide our guests with exceptional service and we are truly disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with some aspects of your stay. Your comments have been carefully considered and thank you for highlighting these to our attention. Regarding the prices of the bar menu, we would certainly investigate this issue should you send us your bill to info.gb@luxurycollection. On a positive note, we are happy you enjoyed the views and central location of our Hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This rooftop terrace is next to the King George and being 1 floor higher gives wonderful views across Syntagma Sq towards the Acropolis. The service was impeccable, the food excellent and to watch the sun set behind The Acropolis was an added bonus!!!. Highly recommended

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 88ChrisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel Grande Bretagne features a beautiful lobby that is grandiose in old world classic style with marble ornate flooring. The service was immaculate throughout the stay. The rooftop restaurant features a global menu and has a fantastic view of the Acropolis and the Parthenon. This is a must see!
The indoor pool was a delight along with the numerous steam rooms and saunas. What an added bonus to being a part of such a beautiful palace of a hotel in the middle of Athens. It is worth splurging and staying here. You deserve it!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank nyconcierge2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Classic, Beauty, High Level Service! During a fam trip for my company Oxygen Events we stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel. It has a classic style, but I love it and you feel really welcome, comfortable in a relaxed way. Walking distance from the major attractions. The roof top restaurant is great and spectacular views.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank IHCas72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,842 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $415 - $1,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing