We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,845)
Filter reviews
3,845 results
Traveller rating
2,959
628
157
62
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,959
628
157
62
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service rooftop restaurant winter garden butler floor cigar bar gb roof garden syntagma square parliament building beautiful hotel deluxe suite steam room indoor pool greek parliament top floor marble bathroom king george our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2,654 - 2,659 of 3,845 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Recently stayed during the elections of June. The rooftop bar and restaurant proved to be a great spot to watch the action. The views were unmatched (of the Acropolis and the square below). The service is top notch and I found the hotel to be charming.

A few notes ... I have read the other reviews and yes, this hotel is a bit pricey. But it is a luxury collection hotel after all. Since you are in the heart of it all, cheaper alternatives to food and drink can be found by simply walking outside and down the street. They do charge 30 euros for breakfast and since I don't normally partake of this meal, I did not find it to be a problem. There are several coffee shops right outside the door.

The hotel is walking distance to the Plaka and the Acropolis. It also is about 50 steps from the metro stop and was very convenient to get to the airport. The staff was great. Good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior courtyard tend to be quieter than those facing the street.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Lived up to its reputation. We got a room with a view of the Sytagma square & the Parliament. The rooftop restaurant has a great view of the Acropolis.

Thank Binay_bombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We spent one night in the Grande Bretagne last week, and it was simply wonderful. The location is perfect, the rooms are beyond luxurious, the spa is wonderful, the rooftop pool area is wonderful, and the rooftop restaurant is perfect (along with its view of the Acropolis). I felt like it was a huge treat, and loved every minute of my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eager_TravelerNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The hotel is located centrally and right opposite the parliament building. Although marred by the turmoil of Greece at the moment, it is fine to go there. The hotel is an oasis of calm and comfort and over our two days there we have received great service from all the hotel staff. The rooms are grand, the service good and the rooftop restaurant is top. One of the nicest set ups I have come across. Views across to The Akropolis are stunning and the evenings are superb.
A wonderful hotel to stay at when in Athens.

Room Tip: Although we had a junior suite facing into the courtyard, I believe there are rooms with view of the Akropolis which would be the ultimate.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The setting is sublime, rooms are luxuriously comfortable, the pool area on the roof is great, but the best dimension of the Grande Bretagne is the restaurant on the roof. It ranks for me as one of the most stellar settings in the world. The hotel's service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for an Acropolis view with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojobaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews