We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location...wow. rooms...wow. romance factor...wow. service....WOW. trip of a lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

my boyfriend (now fiance) traveled there over the christmas and new years of 2010/2011. the hotel is utter perfection and it was the trip of a lifetime for us. even though we do a lot of international travel and stay at very nice hotels, nothing seems to compare to this. things get close but we always end up saying "remember the bretagne?" the location....right in the middle of syntagma square, perpedicular to the parliament building with a perfect view of the acropolis off in the distance. the rooftop restaurant is heavenly. the decor is old world style and especially at christmas time, was just breathtaking. our room (junior suite) was extremely spacious with very elegant furnishings. (they upgraded us to the suite as a courtesy upon check-in so don't hestiate to at least ask!) the bed was super comfortable and bathroom spotless. bathroom was spacious as well. the walls seemed completely sound-proof as we very rarely heard noise from any other guests in the hallways. the breakfast was delicious and presented beautifully even when ordered from room service. the turndown service was better than any i'd ever had. housekeeping folded and hung-up any clothes we had lying around each and every day which was fantastic. after long days of sight-seeing, we came "home" to a neat and tidy room which always felt good. now onto the hotel staff and their butler service. each one (they are on a rotating schedule) was professional, knowledgeable and willing to go the extra mile to accommodate virtually any request we had. they arranged drivers for us to do sightseeing tours. they recommended restaurants and were always spot-on. they always gave us pointers on how to stay safe in the city and which areas we probably shouldn't go to. alwasy felt like they were looking out for us and took responsibility for our safety and well-being. on the morning of our departure, they pulled us aside and let us know that our flight had been cancelled and had already checked to make sure they could accommodate us for another night. if they didn't pro-actively check on guests' flight status, we would've paid for a cab all the way to the airport only to realize we were stuck and would've had to come all the way back. i would recommend this hotel moreso than any other i've ever stayed at. taking everything into consideration, you simply cannot get much better than this. ENJOY!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mskutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,359)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,286 - 2,290 of 3,359 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

We were only able to say one night in Athens after a cruise and we are so happy we chose HGB! Our room was available when we arrived, 7th floor. Beautiful balcony and view of Parliament and the Acropolis. A stunning terrace restaurant with more views. It's almost surreal as you're sitting there. Our dinner and breakfast was excellent. The sommelier recommended some Greek wine that we truly enjoyed. All was so easy and luxurious. Must stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank day1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed there for our honeymoon, and there could not be a better hotel of all the places i've been around the world. Service was impeccable, design was nice and the view from the rooftop was amazing. It's pricey, but it's worth every penny!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank osubuckeye415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

What a beautiful old fashion style hotel. From the elegant lobby to the high ceiling rooms with marble bathrooms, very modern thru out but not loosing the charm of an old world hotel. Not to mention the view from the roof garden...amazing! Dinner on the roof garden was wonderful, service excellent, including the buffet breakfast, strawberries were the ripest I have ever had! Staff was warm and friendly. Concierge very helpful...our new spot when cruising in and out of Athens, you must stay here!

Room Tip: court yard is very quiet
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Napafoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

It was my first time in Athens and a friend suggested "Grande Bretagne" hotel. I am really glad I took that advice! The hotel stands right in front of the greek Parliament and only a shot walk away from the Acropolis. Couldn't find a better location in Athens!
As I made my reservation online I recieved an email from Alexandra, the pr of the hotel that asked me if I needed any assistance with transportation, restaurants reservations etc.
She organized a car transfer for us and it was nice to find a chauffer with a sign with my name waiting for us at the airport.
As we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the bell boys who took our luggage and sent it straight to our room
The lady at the check in desk was very kind and helpful
We got a room on the 6th floor. Rooms on the 6th floor have got a nice balcony with one table and two chairs and we loved spending some time there especially at night
Breakfast is on the 8th floor on a wonderful half covered terrace which has got the best view of the Parthenon u could get in town.
Food is delicious and service perfect
In the afternoon after having walked all day we relaxed by the outdoor pool on the 7th floor, which is not too big but very very nice. The pool bar serves beautiful greek dishes and the stuff are super nice
The pool closes at 6pm so then we moved down to level -1 by the indoor pool and spa
What can I say.... the spa is amazing! And free for the hotel guests
Steam bath, dry sauna, and many other facilities, plus a big indoor pool and jacuzzi
If I ever go back to Athens again I will definetly stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flippo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hilton Athens
#20 of 324 in Athens
3,700 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 324 in Athens
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 324 in Athens
475 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 324 in Athens
3,836 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 324 in Athens
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $424 - $1,137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing