We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night pre-cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We opted for a classical room (at approx. US $400 - cruise line rate) per night since I was not sure when and if I'd be back in Athens any time soon. We arrived at 9:30 am. We were offered an upgraded room at no charge (slightly larger) that would be ready in a hour's time. Instead, we decided to take the classical room which was ready so we could get organized quickly before heading out to explore the city. Our room faced the inner courtyard which was perfect, 4th floor. I heard no noise from the street (not sure if the rooms facing it would have been nosier but from what I've read, the rooms are quite insulated from exterior sound). The room was beautiful, although, yes, a little small but for the little time we were spending there, it really didn't matter. We enjoyed the small roof top pool around 4pm. It has a beautiful view of the Lycabetuss Hill. We decided to splurge and enjoy both cocktails and dinner at the roof top restaurant. I have to say that it was one of the most memorable and pleasant meals and views that I have ever enjoyed. Yes, the bill was the price of our room (Euro 295 all inclusive with a bottle of wine and gratuity)...but we spent a leisurely 3 hours taking in the changing colour of the sky overlook the Acropolis, the sunset and the lights at night. So the value of it all, was well worth it. It was a Friday evening and there were some protesters that approached the square around 7:30 pm but I have to say that it just added to our experience. It did not really disturb us once we got up and had a look at what was going on down below. The food and service was excellent. We were never rushed. The atmosphere A+. There are options on the menu to likely spend 75 Euros less than we did (e.g. pasta dishes, salads as starters). The next day, we enjoyed the excellent, great variety, buffet at the roof top (it was included in our room rate). We actually slept 10 hours (heard no noise!) so we went to "brunch" at 10:00 (it closes at 11:00 am) before heading out for some nearby shopping. The doorman arranged for a taxi to take us right to the port which took less than 20 minutes to get to on a Saturday afternoon. A great 24 hours at La Grande Bretagne! No regrets.

Room Tip: Splurge on at least cocktails at the roof top restaurant at sunset...even better, an evening meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We find it greatly motivating receiving feedback such as yours. It makes our effort, to exceed our guests’ expectations, worthwhile and puts a big smile on our face. Looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,477 - 2,481 of 3,475 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed three nights for holiday. Perfect location in the times also without strikes, but this time it was really important. All sights are reachable by foot. Acropolis 25 min, Lycabetus hill train 30 min. Stadium of antic olympic games and Presidential palace 20 miutes. Restaurants and shopping streets 10-15 minutes.

Luxury room at 6th. floor with big balcony was very comfortable, large, cousy and absolutely no nois from the streets and protesters.

Brekfast at rooftop restaurant was very memorable with great views to the Acropolis and city. Pool was great and not overcrowded. Pianobar at the evening also really memorable.

Perfect and quick service in all places in the hotel.

Room Tip: Luxury room in 6th or 7th. floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at the Grand Bretagne Hotel for three nights. The hotel is stunning, the staff own up to their 5 Star Rating (not as common in the luxury hotels in Europe), the roof top restaurant serve authentic Greek food with a view of the Acropolis that will wow you.
Our butler (George) took care of all the fine details and special needs of our trip so that we could relax. If you've ever had to drive into or out of Athens to explore you will know exactly what I mean.
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelSGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Situated on historic Syntagma Square and within walking distance to all the major sites. The restaurant at the top was perfect for dinner and drinks our first evening when we were too tired to venture out. THE place to be to view the "peaceful protests" below in the square in the evenings (even though we had to elbow our way through the very large crowds encroaching onto the hotel steps each night). We were glad we'd booked at this well-respected hotel because of its security and the peace of mind we felt being at a "name" place during the protests. We traveled with our teens, who had an adjoining room. We only had a slight view of the square, but given the protests, we were happy to not have the crowd pointing laser pens into our windows! Small business center was helpful for printing boarding passes. Pleasant, but packed pool at top of hotel. Service in general at the hotel was good, but not great. I think this is the best it gets near the big sites.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking square are noisy during protests. Interconnecting rooms available for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75205Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

delightful, elegant, warm, charming - i could go on. everything you want from a 5 star hotel - from the service to the sheets.... this is THE place to stay in Athens. Look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazydaysNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in every aspect. Feedback such as yours motivates us even more, to exceed our guests’ expectations and offer the best service and facilities. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,941 reviews
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,838 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $419 - $1,236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing