We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,813)
Filter reviews
3,813 results
Traveller rating
2,933
624
155
62
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,933
624
155
62
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicerooftop restaurantwinter gardenbutler floorcigar bargb roof gardensyntagma squareparliament buildingbeautiful hoteldeluxe suitesteam roomindoor poolgreek parliamenttop floormarble bathroomking georgeour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2,755 - 2,760 of 3,813 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed three nights for holiday. Perfect location in the times also without strikes, but this time it was really important. All sights are reachable by foot. Acropolis 25 min, Lycabetus hill train 30 min. Stadium of antic olympic games and Presidential palace 20 miutes. Restaurants and shopping streets 10-15 minutes.

Luxury room at 6th. floor with big balcony was very comfortable, large, cousy and absolutely no nois from the streets and protesters.

Brekfast at rooftop restaurant was very memorable with great views to the Acropolis and city. Pool was great and not overcrowded. Pianobar at the evening also really memorable.

Perfect and quick service in all places in the hotel.

Room Tip: Luxury room in 6th or 7th. floor.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at the Grand Bretagne Hotel for three nights. The hotel is stunning, the staff own up to their 5 Star Rating (not as common in the luxury hotels in Europe), the roof top restaurant serve authentic Greek food with a view of the Acropolis that will wow you.
Our butler (George) took care of all the fine details and special needs of our trip so that we could relax. If you've ever had to drive into or out of Athens to explore you will know exactly what I mean.
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelSGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Situated on historic Syntagma Square and within walking distance to all the major sites. The restaurant at the top was perfect for dinner and drinks our first evening when we were too tired to venture out. THE place to be to view the "peaceful protests" below in the square in the evenings (even though we had to elbow our way through the very large crowds encroaching onto the hotel steps each night). We were glad we'd booked at this well-respected hotel because of its security and the peace of mind we felt being at a "name" place during the protests. We traveled with our teens, who had an adjoining room. We only had a slight view of the square, but given the protests, we were happy to not have the crowd pointing laser pens into our windows! Small business center was helpful for printing boarding passes. Pleasant, but packed pool at top of hotel. Service in general at the hotel was good, but not great. I think this is the best it gets near the big sites.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking square are noisy during protests. Interconnecting rooms available for families.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75205Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

delightful, elegant, warm, charming - i could go on. everything you want from a 5 star hotel - from the service to the sheets.... this is THE place to stay in Athens. Look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazydaysNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in every aspect. Feedback such as yours motivates us even more, to exceed our guests’ expectations and offer the best service and facilities. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here one night before a cruise and, after some begging at the front desk, was upgraded to a superb Acropolis view room, albeit a tiny one, with step out balcony--thanks to Marina. The property is in excellent condition--our room was perfectly maintained, clean, and quiet. Unlike many other Grande Dame hotels, this one is not surviving on reputation alone. The rooftop restaurant has a spectacular view, and although I reserved prior to arrival via email and requested a "best view" table, we were put on the side terrace with a good, but not great view of the hill. We arrived a bit late due to flight delays and needed to postpone the reservation by an hour to get cleaned up for dinner, which we informed the front desk upon arrival. We were told we could only be accommodated thirty minutes later, so we rushed to dinner to arrive at the new prescribed time, yet when we arrived, the place was half empty, as it remained during dinner, and was when we left--long past our preferrred dining time--very odd not to accommodate a hotel guest, especially one who has reserved in advance and has run late due to an unforeseeable circumstances.
That said, I've stayed here before and will do so again if in Athens--it's the best location and offers reliable luxury and service. But, a guaranteed uprade would be a nice touch the next time around as a reward for repeat business.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueerTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews