We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Acropolis

Ranked #3 of 287 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The most famous site in all of Athens, this large hill lies in the center of the city and contains a cluster of ancient ruins.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I have visited this place in April and It was pretty hot, so I do not recommend any visits later In the year. It was one of the nicest places I have ever visited

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank AdamsTheGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30,999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bring water"
in 353 reviews
"bucket list"
in 324 reviews
"ticket office"
in 197 reviews
"worth the climb"
in 236 reviews
"amazing site"
in 185 reviews
"avoid the crowds"
in 236 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 198 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 234 reviews
"restoration work"
in 174 reviews
"take your time"
in 287 reviews
"visit athens"
in 420 reviews
"bottle of water"
in 186 reviews
"ancient history"
in 222 reviews
"hill"
in 1,349 reviews
"ruins"
in 1,194 reviews
"temple"
in 1,351 reviews
"scaffolding"
in 719 reviews
Filter

2,512 - 2,516 of 30,999 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Words cannot do the Acropolis justice, amazing sums it up! It really is one of the wonders of the world.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank SteveR772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

After going to Delphi, Corinth and Olympia, this was the MOST crowded visit we had. REALLY incredible but honestly, glad we paid only the 20 Euro visit and not the 30 Euro. Also, I know they are constantly doing renovation - but the cranes and the scaffolding were kind of disappointing. It was prettier to look at from the bottom all lit up at night.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kr00ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Be sure to hire a guide right where the line begins—you will walk right in. Well worth the information for sure. Our guide had 2 sons who are architects as is her husband. The conversation was fascinating.
Bring water tho there is a water fountain and restrooms at the top. Wear comfortable walking shoes—preferably not sandals.
Plan to spend half a day—note that currently the entrance closes by 5pm so go early.
One of the most amazing sights I have ever seen!!!!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank LBHouston11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Acropolis is a must see place while visiting Athens. Its full of historical areas. Also good to walk around listen to the street music and take nice photos. Tho 1 day is enough to tour around the place by walk.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Sevag D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acropolis also viewed

 

Been to Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing