We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“overall a very good hotel, with a few caveats” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #9 of 334 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“overall a very good hotel, with a few caveats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Plaka for three nights at the end of March. We stayed in a room on the 5th floor (of 6 floors) and had a terrific view of the Acropolis, visible when walking around the room or reading in our chair, not in our room from the bed itself.
The beds pushed together were very comfortable as was the chair for reading, and the room was very peaceful. The staff worked hard to help us with requests for info etc.
The best part about the hotel is the wonderful rooftop terrace, which has pleasant lounge chairs and comfortable tables and chairs and wicker couches and of course the view. In the evening a bar was opened up for guests. (I think it just opened as we came for the season.).
The flaws have to do with the fact that there is one very small elevator for 67 rooms and with the way our closet doors opened out just across from the narrow hall area where the bathroom door opened out across from them. It was awkward. The last flaw is just an irritant to my partner and me, and that is the fact that when you turn on the bathroom light, you also get the fan; there are no separate switches.
The breakfasts were quite good, offered a fairly wide variety.
We would probably choose to return to the Plaka despite the flaws because all in all it is a good hotel and very well-located for seeing the most important sights of Athens. .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to know that your stay at the hotel was positive experience. In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,650
    1,163
    177
    48
    16
See reviews for
618
1,476
218
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have just returned from five days in Athens. What a treat! Our hotel , Hotel Plaka, was very central to the Metro, shopping and restaurants. Most of the historical sites we wanted to visit were very close by, unexpectedly so, and it was very easy to get to them all. I had been worried about reports of pick pockets etc but everyone was very friendly. Yes we were on our guard and there were people coming up to you asking for money, but a firm NO! was all that was needed. We had asked for a quiet room on a high floor and this is what we had.We had wanted a view of the Acroplis but all of these rooms were occupied. Our room was clean, large and had everything we wanted. The bathroom was excellent! The view of the Acropolis from the roof garden was stunning! The front desk was manned 24hours daily by very friendly, courteous staff who went out of their way to help. Breakfast was good with everything that we needed-hot and cold food. We would return to the hotel most lunchtimes to freshen up and make use of the free coffee/chocolate and biscuits. The only thing missing was free WiFi. Thank you for an excellent city break!

Room Tip: High floor rooms are quieter. Some room overlook the Acropolis but obviously, they are usually reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TES520_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

What a treat we received from your positive review and pictures !!
Thank you for mentioning the new bathrooms and the service you received from our staff.

Hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callifornia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We just spent ten days at the Plaka Hotel in Athens and could not have found a better place to stay. Besides the perfect location, this hotel has a front desk manned 24 hours a day by friendly, courteous and helpful people who will book tours, help with local transportation schedules, and share general knowledge of the area.. The generous free buffet breakfast is very nice and includes some of the best yogurt I have ever had. The rooms are generously sized with impeccable cleaning service. The rooftop bar has a spectaclar view of the Acropolis and the surrounding city of Athens. When we return to this city I would not consider staying anywhere but the Plaka Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review so soon and for your recommendation.
We are delighted you experienced the cleanliness of Plaka Hotel, the good quality of Greek yougurt during breakfast and our friendly staff !
It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again in the future.

With kind regards. from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

When we were choosing the hotel for our staying in Athens we were looking for a hotel in a good location, then we selected Plaka Hotel because it is located in a great neighborhood but we never thought that we were going to have such a pleasant surprise. From the hotel you can see the Acropolis, magnificent views of it, the best you can get. Rooms well appointed and a bottle of wine as a gift. The hotel has gone through an extensive renovation. Every thing is new, clean and the bed are very comfortable for a good night sleep.Great breakfast with lots of hot and cold items, great Greek yogurt, olives, Greek cheeses. Something you should know is that the breakfast is served in a very elegant dining room on the second floor and you can also drink hot chocolate, coffee or tea till 5 pm for free in the same place.
The hotel staff was very helpful at all times and showed they do care about their guests. Among them there was this gentleman Miguel,( Mihail in Greek ) who spoke perfect Spanish.
There is no doubt that if I ever go back to Athens I will stay there again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoyocu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that your stay in Plaka Hotel was a pleasant surprise !
Yes, the hotel was renovated last December and now all the rooms have elegant and designed bathrooms.
Thank you for your review , the picture and your high score.

Best regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The breakfast could use some hot dishes and most of the other hotels I stay give their guests free wi-fi but overall comfortable, clean and affordable.

Room Tip: Acropolis view not necessary since every restaurant has the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bal266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay ..
Your feedback helps us examine our achievements and to improve our services.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 334 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,766 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#11 of 334 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#14 of 334 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#29 of 334 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): $112 - $595
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing