We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athens Lotus Hotel
Ranked #51 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands
Level Contributor
263 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a 2-day city break. It is easy to review, because everything about the hotel and staff was nigh perfect. If fault has to be found, I can say that the coffee at the breakfast was not the best.
Others have commented adversely about the neighbourhood. It was not as bad as we had feared, and we had our evening meals in the Barelia Taverna, immediately adjacent to the Lotus. This unlikely-looking place was first-rate, and provided a genuine feel of Greece. There was also a good market in Chiou Street (on Wednesday).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    345
    104
    30
    25
See reviews for
134
411
56
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Conveniently reaching the hotel by metro, at first we were dismayed by the neighborhood, in which the beautiful renovated hotel stands out like a pearl in a broken display case! But the comfortable hotel and superb, helpful, friendly staff made our stay, helping book day trips, giving us directions for getting around Athens and general charm. The room was sparkling clean - and cleaned every day (not every hotel does that...), the breakfast generous and the location proved excellent: walking distance to many attractions and the metro next door. Yes there's a construction site next door but the works didn't wake us because the windows are double-glazed. The open-air market on Wednesday is charming. (And check out the taverna across the street.) If I have a comment - it's that the bathroom is dark. We will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthLSchuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My 3 grown up daughters and I have just spent 3 nights at this hotel. We had a family suite which consisted of 2 double rooms accessed through a main door leading to a private corridor. This meant that we could leave both room doors open as it was totally private. This would be ideal for parents travelling with younger children. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable and the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The buffet breakfast was better than most continental buffets and you could have as much as you wanted. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again and would recommend it to others looking for a smaller, more intimate hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Getxo, EUSKADI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hotel is very nice with a good choice of breakfast buffet, the front office staff is hlepfull and courteous always trying to help. It is located very close to Metaxurgio metro station just 50 m away, the area itself is not very wellcoming, but you can avoid it using the metro, so I dont think it is a big problem. I you want to come back to the hotel at night on food you have to pass omonia and metaxurgio this are special places, so take good care at night,just be aware no more, if you do not want to risk, take the metro and that is all. I would recomend this hotel in recently reburfished and it has a good price, very good standards and close to all the atractions via metro. If you have the chance do not miss the market on the same street, fruits and vegetables but some clothes and good bargains also. every thursday i think from 8AM to 8PM

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eusko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I have just spent four day in Athens, staying for three nights at the Athens Lotus Hotel. What a truly lovely little hotel, which has clearly been recently refurbished to a good specification. Everything was clean and comfortable and the room was well equipped. There is a nice dining room/ restaurant which serves good food/coffees etc at very reasonable prices. The breakfast is very adequate and the dining room has sufficient space to maintain comfort. The only thing we missed was tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
The hotel is close to Keriaskakis Square, which is not a very salubrious area, however we were able to come and go at any time of the day without feeling at all compromised, and it was very convenient for the Metro and within a short travelling distance of all attractions.
The staff were fabulous. English is spoken well by them all, and they are so friendly, welcoming and helpful. We found Sarina to be particularly helpful in directing us to good restaurants, whilst telling us that they were good, not cheap!!
All in all we could not have chosen a better hotel for our first brief visit to Athens and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#52 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#58 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Property: Athens Lotus Hotel
Address: 9 Chiou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price range (per night): $73 - $255
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the best access to the centre of Athens, the Acropolis, historical monuments and museums, as well as the airport, the port, and railway and metro stations.The Athens lotus hotel, a neoclassical building dating from the early 20th century, fully renovated in 2009 as a 4-star hotel, is the starting point of a new activity that prioritizes aesthetic rejuvenation and hospitality.In the historical centre of Athens, 50 metres from the Metaxourghio metro station, within walking distance of the National Archaeological Museum, the main railway station and the suburban railway, the hotel is an ideal home-base for direct access to all of the cities important destinations, as well as to the airport and the port. Additionally, the hotel has free private parking facilities for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing