We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty darn good !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tamarind Hills, B8

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
John S
1 review
“Pretty darn good !”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The villa is spread over 3 floors. The top floor has 2 king bedrooms with massive walking closets and one twin bedroom. We were two families with 4 adults and 3 children aged 4-10. One child slept with the parents in the king bed and the other kids slept in the twin bedroom. Sleeping worked out really well - and every morning started with a relaxing swing on the hammock the was placed on the very large balcony outside the two king bedrooms -stunning views to wake up to.

Their was another bedroom with a king bed that was part of the games room. That room was however two floors below the other bedrooms and only accessible by going outside. I don't think that bedroom is suitable for children but could work well for a couple that wanted their own space slightly removed from the rest of the party.

The main floor was very open plan, chic and modern looking. Decent modern kitchen that at first glance did seem to be a little light on plates and cooking utensils but in the end, provided we started the dishwasher each night, we had pretty much whatever we needed and took fully advantage of the kitchen.

We had a small problem with the ice maker in the fridge and with getting the bbq started the first night - but any minor problem was addressed very quickly and efficiently by the villa staff. They always seemed to arrive quickly, followed up to make sure things were still OK and always came with a smile.

The open plan main floor opens out onto the covered, outdoor seating area and infinity pool. The setting and views are spectacular. We stayed two
weeks and we were as taken with them on the last day as the first. We ate at the outdoor table most nights and found it a perfect setting. (The outdoor table fits 6-7 while the indoor one could fit 10).

The infinity pool is stunning and a great place to relax and take in the view.

There are two beaches close by to the villa.

Darkwood beach is visible from the Villa and is the easiest to get to with kids. It does require a 5 minute walk to get to either on a road without a pavement or on a rough grass walkway - alternatively, for adults or older children, it is possible to enter the sea just below the villa and walk through the water to the beach - the water goes just above waist height. Getting to the beach is a small hassle but the beach is beautiful, the water stunning, and getting to it is only a minor inconvenience.

The other beach near the villa is called Frye's beach. Darkwood is beautiful but Frye's is a dream beach. It is however more difficult to get too on foot. There are three choices: 1) Walk around the road for about 15 mins (for adults). We found it too far that way for young kids. 2) Walk up the hill through the area of Tamarind Hills that is under development and then down the other side of the hill. This took about 5 mins and was by far the fastest and easiest. (When the whole complex is finished accessing Frye's beach will be a breeze). 3) enter the water below the villa and walk around the point via the water (in the same way we got to Darkwood beach but just going the opposite direction).

We did 2 and 3 a couple of times each and always thought that it was worth the effort.

We didn't eat on Darkwood but did eat at Dennis' restaurant on Frye's. Great food in a relaxed atmosphere.

Supermarket and restaurants all really need a car to get too. That said, we didn't rent a car and instead used "taxis". Taxis are more like private drivers and usually take you where you want to go and wait (often for hours) until you are ready to go back home. If you want to do lots of touring you may want to rent a car, but if it's just to restaurants, supermarkets and the odd day trip then you probably aren't going to pay much more to take taxis than to rent a car.

The villa owners will set you up with your first taxi driver, he will then be your best contact point to arrange any other trips you might want.

Great villa, stunning sunsets and views, helpful staff - what's not to love !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Dear John,
We are all delighted with this splendid review.
We will continue to make every effort possible to make your vacation enjoyable.
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you and your family again at Tamarind Hills.

Kind regards,
Gillian (gillian@tamarind-hills.com)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malissa H
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were very excited to come and stay in what appeared to be a truly amazing home in Antigua. While the views were stunning, the home itself and the management was extremely poor. When we arrived we discovered they had us double booked so we needed to stay somewhere else for the night before - and it took 4 months of fighting to get a refund for the night we missed in the house.

The sink in the kitchen leaks and leaves a massive puddle all over the floor all the time. There were not enough dishes/plates/silverware to accommodate the 8 of us who were staying there. And, relevant for us because we have children, the games room is not attached to the rest of the house. It is below the pool and only has an outside entrance. Our children are too young to sleep there alone so all 4 kids ended up sleeping in the room with 2 twin beds. This was not our idea of a vacation in paradise. Also, to get to the beach you need to walk down a very narrow road and across the bridge. It is about a 5 minute walk for an adult, or 10 minutes with little ones. Once its built up and it has the amenities it is planning it will hopefully be better than it is.

It was next to two of the nicest beaches on the island.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Dear Guest,

We appreciate and go through all feedback so thank you for your comments.

Thank you for commenting on the two beautiful beaches plus the view, however clearly we have failed to live up expectations in other areas in this case. There was an early miscommunication between the booking agent and the previous Manager that led to the villa being available one day too late. We worked closely with the villa owner and his family who were in residence to change over as early as possible, but unfortunately this was not until after lunch. We have replaced our management systems and have some great new staff, this was an area we recognised needing improvement. We did also approve the nights discount to the agent early so I am very disappointed to hear this was not refunded to you for some months?

The leaking sink was the first time this has happened in this villa, and thank you for contacting the maintenance staff who did attend and repair.

As you say the new facilities will really add to the superb location and views, and I would be delighted to invest you back in the future to show you the changes. Please email me personally at rufus@tamarind-hills.com if of interest as I would like to assist with all arrangements. Very best Rufus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in March 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
shumatejo...
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing! High End Property with Fabulous View!”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are going to book a stay on the beautiful and endearing island of Antigua, this is THE place to stay. It is meticulously appointed as a fine home with great attention to detail. Whether it's the modern fixtures, the infinite pool, the spacious rooms, the option for an indoor/outdoor shower, or the location itself perched over the beach, it's a fabulous place to call home during your stay. The management group is very welcoming and helpful. We will be going back. I highly recommend Tamarind Hills!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Infinite Pool
Liked least: Can't think of anything to critique... honestly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nachomack
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: El departamento
Liked least: Que no pudimos quedarnos un día mas
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;