We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port University”

Portologia Porto, La Maison des Porto
Ranked #3 of 83 Nightlife in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Very informative. Server gave comprehensive overview of different types of port wines. Nice cozy atmosphere. Cheese or cold cut trays are paired to the type of port you are drinking. Fun experience.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Michifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"small producers"
in 21 reviews
"port tasting"
in 36 reviews
"port bar"
in 3 reviews
"great place to try"
in 3 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 5 reviews
"white port"
in 6 reviews
"great port"
in 6 reviews
"local producers"
in 3 reviews
"port houses"
in 9 reviews
"small port"
in 3 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 10 reviews
"across the river"
in 8 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 3 reviews
"douro valley"
in 3 reviews
"ports"
in 80 reviews
"ruby"
in 18 reviews
"tawny"
in 29 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018

While everyone else is heading over the Vila Nova do Gaia to the Port Houses, come here to Portologia for an objective tasting. Here you will get a taste of different port houses not just one. And, you can pair it with chocolate! French, English, and Portuguese is spoken. Very lovely staff.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank cgnapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

On a friend’s recommendation, we stopped by Portologia one evening and enjoyed a hour or so learning about port wine. Rafa was our guide and he expertly explained the differences between the various local producers, methods and vintages. Order the local cheese plate...it complements the ports perfectly!

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank kate9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

My wife and I visited here when we were in Porto. If you're looking to learn more about ports and expand your palate, this is the place to go. I think this is just a wine bar, so no food that I recall, making it a great after-dinner place.

That staff is extremely knowledgable about ports, which is impressive since most of their ports are made by local cellars that don't do much exporting outside of Portugal. You can do various types of tasting to get a range of flavors and experiences, and you can taste some really interesting stuff there. Absolutely worth your time!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

A friend and I stopped in for a wine tasting, as we were told there was an hour wait for dinner. Portologia was a great stop for a wine tasting. We shared the tasting of six port wines and ordered the cheese platter. The restaurant was able to work with our time restraint, they gave a good explanation of the wines, and informed us of what cheeses pair with which wines. We would recommend getting a cheese platter with the port wines, as they are quite sweet unlike table wines. The cheese helps cut the sweetness of the wines and they are very delicious. While the price of the tasting and platter was very expensive relative to cost of food and drinks in Porto (25 euro for one tasting, 10 euro for the platter) we would recommend it... especially if you do not have a chance to head out to the Douro Valley for wine tasting.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank NeedsAVacation26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portologia Porto, La Maison des Porto also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Portologia Porto, La Maison des Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing