We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do a lot better.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residencial Palanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residencial Palanca
Ranked #61 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Could do a lot better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

I stayed here a while back when I stayed in Porto. I split my trip between two different hotels but wish I had spent the full week at the other one!
I got checked in ok but when I got to my room I discovered that it doubles up as a fire exit and a key to get into the room was hanging up outside the door! I went down to the reception and explained that I wasnt happy with this as anyone could get into the room and they did remove it. The next day, I couldnt get any hot water in my room. I went to reception again and they said it would be fixed during the day. When I returned that evening, nothing had been done and they had to let me use another room so I could have a shower and get ready.

Breakfast was of poor quality, a couple of stale bread rolls, curly ham and cheese and stone cold coffee!

On the plus side, it was in a good safe location and the price was reasonably fair for what it was.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    41
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
40
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

I have never before meet so helpful and open staff. They removed some cars from free parking to make place for me, organized bottle-opener, helped with maps and orientation in Porto. Hotel located 5min by walk from metro station. Tasty breakfast has been included. Room and bathroom was clean. Only noisily working elevator makes me nervous fo first minutes but I was tired enough to get over it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly, breakfast was tasty and generous (served individually instead of buffet style), and the room was clean and quiet, all for a very affordable price. The decor is definitely outdated, but that did not bother me. The only thing that bothered me was the darkness of the hallways; one of the lights had burned out and was not replaced. The hotel is close to the subway, but if you have a heavy suitcase it will seem like a trek. I would definitely stay here again, as a budget traveller with high standards. Please note that this is not a four-star hotel - it is a four star pension; something like a 2-star hotel, as the manager explained to me.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murdocki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Clean and basic room, but what a staff and what a location. The people here, Annabell, Juan Carlos and the guys we don't know names of were so kind, so helpful, and so willing to give you some of their time, it was a joy. The hotel is located really near the metro, bus stop, taxi rank, or a brisk fifteen minute walk to the centre. Ask at reception about restaurants in the area,better than ones in town. Restaurant Rito or Grauo Douro both within three minutes of the hotel are superb. Have a coffee or a beer at Cafe Bugatti on your way home will finish off a great night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenandv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
148 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Rooms clean and spacious.
Avoid rooms near the elevator: noisy and makes you not sleep at night.
Breakfast simple but plentiful.
Staff very kind.
Free indoor parking is difficult, but is convenient free parking on the street.
Metro station 500 meters.
Good quality-money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EzPox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Porto Nobre
Hotel Porto Nobre
#65 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Poveira
Hotel Poveira
#60 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 km away
Residencia LIS B&B and Parking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Residencial Triunfo
Residencial Triunfo
#84 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
4.3 km away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#87 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Palanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Palanca

Property: Residencial Palanca
Address: Rua Faria Guimaraes 779 781, Porto 4200-291, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price range (per night): $54 - $70
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Palanca 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Residencial Palanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing