We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Heaven!”
other travellers have booked this property
The stunning view from the grounds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning view from the grounds.
Fabulous view from the shaded dining area. The stunning view of the river and mountain.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The stunning view from the grounds.
Fabulous view from the shaded dining area.
The stunning view of the river and mountain.
The private pool with river view
Stunning private pool with new shaded area
View to the river and mountains beyond
The wonderful view from the pool
The pool terrace and loungers - the perfect way to unwind and enjoy the view
The large pool is so inviting on a hot day!
Lovely dining area
The view of the Douro from the front of the property
Explore the extensive grounds and find hidden gems!
The lovely shady area under the wisteria
The house from the garden
The wisteria in summer
The river at its best
House and grounds from Porto Antigua
Showing the area of the house and grounds from other side of the river.
Looking down on the house and the river view
The front of the property
The stunning view over the river
The view of the river late afternoon
Cosy lounge with log fire for the cooler months
Chic dining area with wonderful views
Well equipped fitted kitchen
Large fitted kitchen
Double bedroom 1
Double bedroom 2
Each room is full of character and period furniture
Original furniture and traditional features
Amazing river views from all bedrooms
Beautiful wrought iron bed with charming linen and curtains
Bedroom 3
Double bedroom 3
Amazing carving on wardrobe
What a view to wake up to!
Double bedroom 4
Double bedroom 2
Enchanting view from each bedroom
The hallway with period furniture
Modern bathroom
Bathroom with a large shower.
Second bathroom with shower.
Bathroom 1
The cellar with history of the area and tourist guides
Covered area for barbecues
View from the Port Antigua Cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
susan b
1 review
“Just Heaven!”
Reviewed 13 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

A wonderful three days in one of the most spectacular settings in the world. A charming house with every convenience, a beautiful pool, fresh figs and lemons from the enchanting garden, stunning views everywhere we turned and a our proud host, Francisco, was welcoming and generous with his time and information about the area. Just heaven!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickH5...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic views of the Douro river”
Reviewed 26 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Francisco is a great host who knows a lot about the area which really helps to the most out of your holiday.

The house is situated on the best spot along the river with the most beautiful views. Although it was built centuries ago it is well maintained and very comfortable.

Real value for money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
davidwQ78...
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very helpful”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fransisco was very helpfulin offering advice on activities in the area and the farmhouse was very clean and tidy.Great views over the river too

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
It has been a great pleasure to welcome you at my home and give you all the assistance to enjoy better all the Douro Valley.
Thank you for your stay, you are welcome any time.
Best wishes
Francisco Neto
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophie a
Guildford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful old house, with incredible views. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I have just got back from a wonderful holiday in Portugal, having stayed at this beautiful old farmhouse high above the Douro river. It was stunning - I couldn't stop staring at the view across the valley, over the river far below, the steep hills dotted with tiny houses. The farmhouse is surrounded by privately owned land, so it is not overlooked at all. The owner and his wife live in a nearby house, but they are very helpful and friendly, and also tactful, not wanting to get in the way of our holiday. The pool was lovely, and a good size, and what a location! The house is surrounded by orange and lemon trees on steep terraces, so we had freshly squeezed orange juice or lemonade every day. Bliss. We will be going back if we can. The only downside to the farmhouse is the surrounding roads. We have never driven such bendy roads! Terrifying, and requiring total concentration. But you do get used to them!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Hi S.

Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at our family home.
We do our best to make our guest´s holidays a memorable stay.
Douro Valley is a great region to visit with their Port wine farm producers and
the cities around as Régua, Lamego, Vila Real and others nearby.
The roads are in a very good condition but our area is a mountain area so,some
bendings to give attention.
As we live near the main house ,our guests have, as they may need, our full
assistance.
We have been delighted to have you and family with us, you are welcome any
time you come back.

Kind regards

Francisco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing