We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I can hardly wait to go back.”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the apartments  entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the apartments  entrance
Balcony entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
62 reviews
View from the apartments  entrance
Balcony
entrance
Entrace
Terrace
Entrance River place  N.2
Garden
Garden
View from The apartments
Tourist Stop Bus 50m
surroundings Area 200m
surroundings Area 200m
surroundings Area 200m
surroundings Area 200m
surroundings Area 200m
Luis Bridge 150m
Metro station 400m
Metro station General Torres 400m
surroundings Area 200m
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
GermanySh...
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I can hardly wait to go back.”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Pedro provided us with great suggestions for the time we had to spend. The facilities were the best we had stayed in all week. We can hardly wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location and host
Liked least: our stay was too short
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling...
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Phenomenal view and Hospitality by Pedro”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Our family vacation was a success due to our host, Pedro. His apartment just above the riverfront shops and Port cellars of Vila Nova de Gaia was comfortable and exuded old world charm. There were modern comforts and Pedro was happy to oblige any requests. Our communication was very detailed as Pedro serves as a personal guide for Porto and the Douro Valley. We took advantage of his services to allow for pick up at the airport and taking us to popular local eating places. His knowledge of the town and comfort of his small SUV made all the difference in being able to enjoy the sights and not stress about driving the small, winding streets of an ancient city. Across the street was a local café where they treated us like kings when they knew we were visiting. The walk to cafes, shops and port cellars was ten minutes down the road, with a short walk over the Luis I bridge to Porto Ribiero. On a clear day, the view and the breeze were breath taking. My husband said he felt like we had visited a cousin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and personal service of the owner.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKrish201...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice apartment, amazing views!”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at My River Place for a week in Feb and had a lovely time despite the wet weather in Porto. The apartment was comfortable for us (family of 4) and is beautifully furnished. It is close to some good restaurants and opposite the Ribeira. The views from the apartment are fantastic and is perfect to wake up to in the morning!

Like the other reviews on Trip advisor, our host Pedro made our visit memorable. He picked us up from the airport ( our flight was delayed and he waited patiently for us) and dropped us back. It is evident he loves Porto and was full of recommendations - places to visit, things to do, foods to try. There is no one better to give you tips about a city other than someone who lives in and loves the city!! We loved Pedro' recommendations and it made our trip so much more memorable.

If you're visiting Porto you won't find a better rental than My River place!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
876Joyce5...
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Start to the Portuguese Camino!”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

River Place Was Fantastic and the Owner Pedro Even better!
If you are looking for a great starti to walking the Portuguses Camino. We spent a few days here before we starting walking. Staying on the Gaia side of the river is the best. I have also stayed across the river in Porto. But, the problem with that is you could'nt enjoy the beautiful scenery and evening lights.River Place Apartments with the awesome big windows looks out to Porto. The views were right out of the movies! Just a short walk over the bridge to Porto.
The Gaia side is also beautiful with the Port Cellars and a great boardwalk!
Pedro the owner made the apartment feel like a home away from home.
He was the greatest host and tour guide. We took three different tours with him. He is local and excellent at what he does. Don't hesitate to book this apartment. You"ll have the best of everything!
Thanks again Pedro for looking after us so well.
A real pleasure to have met you?
JT. Waterloo,Canada

I see in an earlier review, that a party complained about some noise..We too experienced some. Nothing that would make us move to another place. I understand the occupants of that apartment have now moved out. problem solved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanvasStr...
Ayr, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Vacation”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 6 adult Canadians, going to Porto, to walk the Portuguese Camino Way to Santiago de Compostela, Spain. Pedro met our group at the airport and delivered us to both rental apartments. After a long flight it was great to meet the man from the River Place apartments, on time with a welcoming smile.The apartments are centrally located on the opposite side of the river from Cais da Ribeira, allowing a magical view of Porto under the shimmering lights. Our five days unfolded with Pedro supplying tours to Fatima, Douro Valley wineries and a great day with a long walk through his city Porto - a great warm up for the next part of our journey. The apartments, food recommendations and highlights of Porto are as described on the website. The one word to describe our our experience with the apartment and Pedro was magical, and way beyond our expectations.
We are planning to do a Camino Coastal walk in 2017 and plan to spend time with Pedro at his River Place apartments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Only 24 hours in a day
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing