We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
51
14
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
14
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2013

special place
special people
thank you for my amazing New Year stay
so cozy and charming
feeling at home best location and neighborhood

room is exactly as pictured
full of light, very large and comfortable
the bed exceptionally comfortable - very nice to sleep in
the house which was nicely decorated in retro style, is kept very clean every day

hearts and hugs go to Joao and Sara

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We had a real mess finding this place as there are 3 Casa Formosa's listed on Google. It was a non residing owner and the place had a very unlived in feeling. There were no pictures on the walls and altho the beds were comfortable it seemed rather odd to be staying there without a host. Real coffee would be a good thing to have on hand, not instant. We did like the owner tho, he did his best to make our stay pleasant. A huge downside tho is that it cost us 24 Euros to park for a day and a half as there was no parking on the street.

Room Tip: The single bed is fabulous.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACasaFormosa, Owner at A Casa Formosa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Rita,
sorry for the fact that you didnt have the proper address and waist so much time to find the house.
Although i dont live in the house, i try to make guests stay the more confortable and pleasant possible. Unfortunately, i was not in the city on your stay, and i regret it, because your stay it was not the best.
If you ever come back again, i will make sure you have an unforgettable stay.
Thank you once again.
João

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Nice place, very easy to reach from the airport with the direction sent from Joao.
We spent only one night; our room was very cleand, confortable and spacious. There are two bathrooms shared with other rooms but that was ok and both of them were cleaned. Breakfast is self made so you just select what you want from the kitchen. That is probabily the only uncomfortable aspect especially if all people arrive at the same time.
From Casa Formosa you can easly reach the rest of the city with a nice and easy walk. There are also typical and not touristic restaurants nearby. Just ask the owner from some suggestions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CleoBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had a lovely time (3 nights 4 days) in Porto thanks to very helpful hosts: Joao and Andrea, who gave us plenty of tips on local restaurants to ice cream shops.
I initially booked Formosa 2 but Joao nicely suggested to put us in a double room in a beautifully restored top floor flat with a sunny balcony in the building just opposite Casa Formosa, as it was a special birthday weekend, we would have the top level just for ourself and only share the bathroom and kitchen with Andrea. The flat is well located in the old town, walking distance to every sites, the Douro and going out areas. Simple straight forward continental breakfast with instant coffee, weak wifi signal week but we had a comfortable stay and could check out our room quite late (6PM). I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank voyages081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The 2 occasions I have visited Porto, I have stayed at Casa Formosa. The first time, my husband and I stayed in the spacious double room, the second, as he could not travel that time, I stayed in the lovely single room. It is a great place to have as your Home from Home for your visit. Joao works hard to keep the place spotlessly clean. It has 2 terraces so you can come back 'home' and sit outside and relax after a day out. The real plus for Casa Formosa is the well equipped kitchen, fully stocked with the main food ingredients you need, so that you can go to the market, come back, and cook your evening meal if you do not want to eat out each night. There is a comfortable sitting/dining room, so you can really make yourslf at home and relax with, in effect, an appartment to live in, not just a B+B. The other guests are fun and interesting to meet, and there is an atmosphere of friendship and warmth. We will be returning for another visit later this year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ixellesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews