We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
265
40
7
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
40
7
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner casa dos buffet dinner for sale dining rooms the main house old mansion winter garden two double beds separate building douro valley fruit trees great landscape incredible place salt water swimming pool fascinating history set in beautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We feel terrible that we haven't written a review until now but every time we sit down to write it we are totally lost for words!

Last September we had the most incredible weekend of our lives at Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes.

Maria and her amazing team helped to make our wedding incredibly beautiful, memorable and enjoyable. She went out of her way to ensure that our style, despite being a little different to what she was used to, was expressed perfectly and we are so grateful for that. Our family and friends had the most wonderful weekend and were constantly telling us how lovely the staff were, both front of house and the chefs and kitchen staff. The food was insanely amazing, it went on for days despite us cutting down the menu quite a lot! Presentation was lovely. Maria made sure we had all the flowers we requested. We chose to marry under the cherry trees which had never been done before but she and her team were happy to make that happen and it was amazing.

Our friends and family stayed there all weekend with us and felt like they were at home the entire time. We will never forget the time we spent there and are still being told a year on that it was the best wedding any of our friends have been to.

Huge thank you to Jorge & Francisco who went over to look after us and all our guests, you were amazing.

We cannot thank you all enough for letting us takeover your beautiful home and grounds, it meant the world to us!

We hope to be back to soak it all up again and again in future years.

Love
Genevieve & Chris

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but the main "bridal suites" are gorgeous!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Genevieve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Unforgettable, magnific, exelent.
It was very very pleasant to stay in that
Fantastic place , I really suggest to go .
Very good food and kind person.
I hope to go again in that dream .
Thank you to everybody .

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank stefet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

The setting is superb and I can understand why it is a popular site for weddings. The mansion house is beautiful and a pleasure to explore or pause to read a book and relax. There is a large cellar area where a buffet dinner is served in the evening (for an extra charge) which is good as this locale is fairly isolated. Our rooms were in a separate building. While nice, the bed was on the very firm side. Our bedroom was on a platform above a sitting area and the bath, so evening trips to the loo involved darkened steps down unfamiliar stairs if one typically needs a bathroom visit during the night. While our friends had a hair dryer in their room, ours was MIA. There were bathrobes and slippers for guest use and the usual toiletries. At age 68, I found the deep bathtub a bit challenging to get in and out of and a slippery place to shower. The staff was very nice and accommodating and guests are invited to explore the beautiful grounds surrounding the mansion. A nice breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Niamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic! Very special place! Beautiful, friendly, fantastic food, romantic scenery. We where 8 adults and 4 kids and we loved it. It’s a big place and there where many guests but we felt it was only us. Because it’s so big and many different places to hang out. The rooms and the dining area and the lounge area and the swimming pool is so beautiful. Very cosy! Stayed 3 nights. Amazing! Beautiful nature, perfect for walks around her land with wine yard. Boat trip recommended on the Douro river.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

This 300 year old mansion is like a museum to visit. Everything from the bedroom - bathroom - lobby - saloons - dining rooms are beautiful and creates such a fantastic athmospere.Food and service is also great. We enjoyed the buffet dinner twice and were completely satisfied. Breakfast was also on the same high level. The hotel offered an excursion package with cruising on the Duoro river between Pinhao and Tua. We also as part of the package received picknic baskets with plenty of food and water plus white wine. Much appreciated but a little expensive (per person: 20 EUR for the rabelo boat and 27 EUR for the picknic food)

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank leifatp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews