We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful winery, generous tasting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We stayed here overnight during the low season. It was very quiet and the grounds are beautiful (we even went for a jog in the winery). The staff were very helpful.
When you stay for a night, a visit of the winery and tasting is also included (which was not indicated on our reservation). It was really worth it.
The restaurant seemed a bit over priced, but its really close to Regua (by car) where you have many other dinning options.
The rooms are really nice (actually much nicer then the pictures suggest) and the complementary bottle of porto in the room is a nice touch.
Breakfast was excellent and generous. The view from the dinning area on the surrounding vineyard is really pretty.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cattwo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017

Recently my family and I stayed at this beautiful property. It was everything and more than what we expected and we did not want to leave. The amenities and service were impeccable, the property was breathtaking, the staff friendly and very competent, and the food was fantastic. The included breakfast was just lovely and had so many options for every different kind of taste. The restaurant was fantastic, with a beautiful view of the rolling hills and vineyards in the distance and expertly prepared food. We also really enjoyed the tour and tasting, especially since it was during the harvesting and we got to see the workers stomping the grapes. Was an awesome experience. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: No elevator so if that's an issue get a room on a lower floor. even low floor rooms have beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunabcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Our day tour from Porto to the River Douro included a winery tour, tasting and then lunch in the restaurant (well we paid for lunch on top of the tour cost)
What a great experience this was. The location is stunning with views from our table across the vineyards, and a true fine dining experience.
The food was spectacular, with not only excellent presentation but finely balanced flavours so that we enjoyed the last mouthful as much as the first.
The deserts (shoosh) were to die for. Rich flavours and again stunning presentation. When it came to presentation, even the coffee arrived in a cup on a specially designed plate that also contained a Portuguese tart.
Great value too, so highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just a day visit so didn't see the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gerryp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We stayed at this hotel for only one night as part of a tour we booked. We were a family of 11 and each of us were immensely impressed with the Hotel, Staff, Food, Wine and Location.

we pulled up to the Quinta through a "calcada" road with a tree canopy to a quiet and quaint estate. Entered the building to a very friendly and inviting staff. The lobby is so incredibly cozy with large and plush seating that was very needed after sitting on a boat for nearly 8 hours and a large fireplace. Our dinner order was taken at this time since it was part of the the whole package; we each had an app, an entree and a dessert. Upon choosing our dinner and confirming the reservation for both that and the wine tasting, we were each handed a key to our rooms in which the staff then guided each of us too. Each of our rooms were adorned with some type of touch to give them a "homey" feel, a large bathroom with deep soaking tub and rain shower head, robes, slippers and large beds that felt like i was sleeping on a cloud. My husband is 6'4" so this was quite a treat for him to have what we considered to be a California king size bed.

Dinner was served promptly, hot and delicious. Each dish was exquisite. we finished our night by playing cards and dominoes in the 2nd floor lounge that was again just cozy and homey in every sense of the word.

The next morning we were given a wine tasting and the wines were absolutely delightful and the guide was knowledgeable, funny, enthusiastic and bubbly. Her love for the wine was very much apparent and she helped to make our experience all the more enjoyable. After the wine tasting, we finished off the morning by exploring the grounds and views which took your breath away with both its charm and beauty.

The absolute most relaxing 24 hours of my 3 week vacation in Portugal. I will return with my just my husband for a couples getaway the next time we come to the Douro region.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We enjoyed the wine tour (interactive, well paced and knowledgable guide), followed by a one night stay at Pacheca.

The hotel is well designed, luxurious and relaxed. We didn't want dinner here as we had a large lunch, and it was a shame that there was nothing light available in the hotel or locally without driving.

However, the staff were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was good and they are clearly working hard to provide a good experience for guests. We would happily stay again if passing through.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lizziewarr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamego
9.9 km away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
21.5 km away
The Vintage House Douro
1 km away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hotel Regua Douro
Hotel Regua Douro
#1 of 3 in Peso Da Regua
342 reviews
26.8 km away
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
18.9 km away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Rua do Relogio de Sol 261 | Cambres, Lamego 5100-014, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Lamego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Lamego
Price Range: $154 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta da Pacheca Quinta da Pacheca can be visited at any time, in every season there is a new experience to be lived. Guided tours, to wine tasting, the wine courses, passing through lunch and dinner, everything can be done. Here, the possibilities are numerous and flexibility is total. All your ideas and dreams can be held here. Harvest a unique experience ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing