We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We spent two nights at this hotel during our annual trip to the Douro valley. The hotel is very nice with very comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Small and tastefully decorated with a very good restaurant. The tour of the winery was interesting and the little bar where the wine can be tasted is very pleasant on a warm summer evening.
Although there was a wedding party on the site on the day we arrived, the hotel rooms and rest areas were very quiet and well separated from the party.
The location is good and withing easy reach of Régua, Lamego and the Douro wine quintas. If staying with a family, the children might find there is little for them to do as this property, unfortunately, does not have a swimming pool or other activities.

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2015

We were only staying for one night but would have stayed longer if we've had the time. The hotel has very nice and romantic rooms and is also very quiet. If you want to you can hire a bicycle for free and bike around to discover the environments. You also get a guided tour in the winecellar. The guide was a nice french guy but unfortunately his english pronunciation made it quite difficult to understand what he was telling about the winemaking. The staff and the dinner was excellent, we had several different dishes and everyone of us were satisfied. If you are visiting this area we can highly recommend to check in here for a while!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lena p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

A really wonderful place. The hotel is clean, modern, peaceful with wonderful staff who go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Room was extremely comfortable.The food and service in the restaurant was also impeccable. We were welcomed with a glass of Port and a tour of their wine and Port making facility. A perfect base for traveling in the Douro Valley or just as a place to relax. It was suggested that we come back in September when the guests are invited to press the grapes for the wine (in the traditional manner - with the feet!). However, after two weeks of eating and drinking in in Portugal, I fear that we will still be on a diet in September!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stemor1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We spent two nights at this hotel!!! I wish we would have spent a week. It was fantastic. Clean, quiet, peaceful, beautiful grounds, fantastic food and great staff. I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a place that is a little off the beaten path.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank AnitaG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

A real wine vineyard experience with the comforts of a comfortable hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They also offer a tour of their wine making facility and process... interesting. We liked it enough that we wanted to stay a third night, but, they had a wedding that booked it up. Only negative that you should be aware of is that there are no elevators. You will need to walk one flight of stairs if on the first level or two if on the second level. The staff, however, will bring your luggage to the room. Otherwise definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try to get the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamego
1 km away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
265 reviews
21.5 km away
The Vintage House Douro
9.9 km away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hotel Regua Douro
Hotel Regua Douro
#1 of 3 in Peso Da Regua
341 reviews
18.9 km away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
285 reviews
1.8 km away
Six Senses Douro Valley
Six Senses Douro Valley
#1 of 1 in Samodaes
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Rua do Relogio de Sol 261 | Cambres, Lamego 5100-014, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Lamego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Lamego
Price Range: $154 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta da Pacheca Quinta da Pacheca can be visited at any time, in every season there is a new experience to be lived. Guided tours, to wine tasting, the wine courses, passing through lunch and dinner, everything can be done. Here, the possibilities are numerous and flexibility is total. All your ideas and dreams can be held here. Harvest a unique experience ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing