We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
119
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fruit trees northern portugal vinho verde three nights an amazing host family property wine making process cook dinner home made cakes every morning a wonderful stay fresh bread rooms are comfortable arthur grapes generations guests
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We stayed 4 nights with Arthur while touring northern Portugal in late October. We’d been traveling for a week and a half and were looking for a laid back, relaxing experience. The quinta (a wine growing estate) was perfect for us. The quinta has been in Arthur’s family for generations. He has done a magnificent job of restoring it. The rooms are modern and comfortable. The common areas–a library, a dining room, and a wonderful balcony are spectacular. There is a nice, well stocked kitchen available for guests to use. We had happy hour on the balcony every night and also picnicked there one night. It was pleasant to walk through the vineyards and look out on the hills and valleys of northern Portugal. Breakfast was included and we were well taken care of by Antonio. We had very interesting discussions with this smart young man every morning. And finally as a bonus, on our last night Arthur and Antonio combined to serve us a traditional Portugese meal with wines from the estate. So there you go!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank waterwizard_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Arturio and Antonio were extremely gracious and helpful during our stay. Rooms were perfect, breakfast and conversation with Antonio was delightful. Arturio gave us lots of information and advice about the surrounding area and a delightful tour of the family property and its history. We'd highly recommend this lovely place for a couple or a family group. Looking forward to our next visit with our new friends.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mooresville2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur_Carvalho, Owner at Quinta da Cancela, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for your Kind words !!!
You'll be glad to know that António has finished is "internship" here, and has gone to IBM in Budapest !!!!
Amazing!
It was a joy for both of us to host you and to enjoy our conversations !!
Whenever you want to come back, we'll be delighted and waiting for you !!
All the best
Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Everything about the Quinta invites relaxation; the surroundings are breathtaking and beautiful and the rooms are comfortable and very stylishly designed with great attention to detail.

We had our own impressive terrace with a spectacular view and a beautiful bathroom.

Arthur went above and beyond, giving us everything we needed and guiding us through the premises and explaining the wine-making process. He booked restaurants, ordered taxis and even drove us into the village on the first night when we were unsure of where to go and what to eat!

The pool and surroundings were also enchanting and the breakfasts delicious.

Thank you so much Arthur and family for having us to stay and for a lovely introduction to Portugal and one we won't forget. Highly recommended.

From Marie-Claire, John and Family x

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdenyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur_Carvalho, Owner at Quinta da Cancela, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hello Marie-Claire and John !!
Thank you for your wonderfull comments! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and defenetely we would like you to feel like visiting family or friends !!!
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip as much as here !!
All the best, and say hello to the children !!
Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Quinta. A beautiful house in beautiful surroundings. Whether lounging by the pool or sitting on the terrace watching the nesting swallows with a glass of vinho verde in hand, all very relaxing. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. Arthur is a wonderful host and a very good cook! Thank you Arthur!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur_Carvalho, Owner at Quinta da Cancela, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you very much Anne for your kind words !!
It was great that you had a relaxing, revigorating time here.
DO come back some time !!
Cheers !!

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Quinta. Arthur, the owner, was so incredibly welcoming. We loved relaxing around the natural spring pool and picking fruit from the fruit trees. There is a vineyard on the land and wine is made at the Quinta. All guests get a complimentary bottle of wine which was a very kind gesture. We also got to try the olive oil made at the Quinta with our salad. It was delicious. The Quinta is about 25 minutes from Braga which has lots of choice for restaurants including vegetarian and also 15 minutes from a beautiful beach. The owner even offered for his cleaning lady to do our toddler's washing. He is such a great guy. We had a 3 year old with us and she loved to play on the swing and slide and to play alongside Arthur's little girl of similar age. Very family friendly. We even ate oranges from their tree one evening. Also the breakfasts were delicious. We had Arthur's mother's home made cake which was scrummy. Highly recommend this place. It is perfect for couples wanting a romantic break and for families. It ticks all the boxes. A truly beautiful place.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Team_ABSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur_Carvalho, Owner at Quinta da Cancela, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hello Team_ABSB !!
"It ticks all the boxes !!" What more could we want, than knowing that ??
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay so much !!! Henriqueta still remembers your daughter by the name "L", so she made a great impression there !!!
All the best, hope to see you again in the future !
Cheeers
Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews