We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Toural(Guimaraes)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bergui Hostel(Guimaraes)(Great Value!)
USD 54
USD 49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 81
USD 78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mestre de Avis(Guimaraes)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Stay Hotel Guimaraes Centro(Guimaraes)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 69
USD 67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 147
USD 118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 57
Booking.com
View Deal
Boutique Senhorial de Guimaraes(Guimaraes)(Great Value!)
USD 47
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 176
USD 167
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
118
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruit treesnorthern portugalvinho verdethree nightshome made cakesan amazing hostfamily propertywine making processcharming accommodationcook dinnerevery morninga wonderful stayfresh breadbeautiful placerooms are comfortablearthurgrapes
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Arturio and Antonio were extremely gracious and helpful during our stay. Rooms were perfect, breakfast and conversation with Antonio was delightful. Arturio gave us lots of information and advice about the surrounding area and a delightful tour of the family property and its history. We'd highly recommend this lovely place for a couple or a family group. Looking forward to our next visit with our new friends.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mooresville2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur_Carvalho, Owner at Quinta da Cancela, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for your Kind words !!!
You'll be glad to know that António has finished is "internship" here, and has gone to IBM in Budapest !!!!
Amazing!
It was a joy for both of us to host you and to enjoy our conversations !!
Whenever you want to come back, we'll be delighted and waiting for you !!
All the best
Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Everything about the Quinta invites relaxation; the surroundings are breathtaking and beautiful and the rooms are comfortable and very stylishly designed with great attention to detail.

We had our own impressive terrace with a spectacular view and a beautiful bathroom.

Arthur went above and beyond, giving us everything we needed and guiding us through the premises and explaining the wine-making process. He booked restaurants, ordered taxis and even drove us into the village on the first night when we were unsure of where to go and what to eat!

The pool and surroundings were also enchanting and the breakfasts delicious.

Thank you so much Arthur and family for having us to stay and for a lovely introduction to Portugal and one we won't forget. Highly recommended.

From Marie-Claire, John and Family x

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdenyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur_Carvalho, Owner at Quinta da Cancela, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hello Marie-Claire and John !!
Thank you for your wonderfull comments! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and defenetely we would like you to feel like visiting family or friends !!!
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip as much as here !!
All the best, and say hello to the children !!
Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Quinta. A beautiful house in beautiful surroundings. Whether lounging by the pool or sitting on the terrace watching the nesting swallows with a glass of vinho verde in hand, all very relaxing. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. Arthur is a wonderful host and a very good cook! Thank you Arthur!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur_Carvalho, Owner at Quinta da Cancela, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you very much Anne for your kind words !!
It was great that you had a relaxing, revigorating time here.
DO come back some time !!
Cheers !!

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Quinta. Arthur, the owner, was so incredibly welcoming. We loved relaxing around the natural spring pool and picking fruit from the fruit trees. There is a vineyard on the land and wine is made at the Quinta. All guests get a complimentary bottle of wine which was a very kind gesture. We also got to try the olive oil made at the Quinta with our salad. It was delicious. The Quinta is about 25 minutes from Braga which has lots of choice for restaurants including vegetarian and also 15 minutes from a beautiful beach. The owner even offered for his cleaning lady to do our toddler's washing. He is such a great guy. We had a 3 year old with us and she loved to play on the swing and slide and to play alongside Arthur's little girl of similar age. Very family friendly. We even ate oranges from their tree one evening. Also the breakfasts were delicious. We had Arthur's mother's home made cake which was scrummy. Highly recommend this place. It is perfect for couples wanting a romantic break and for families. It ticks all the boxes. A truly beautiful place.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Team_ABSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur_Carvalho, Owner at Quinta da Cancela, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hello Team_ABSB !!
"It ticks all the boxes !!" What more could we want, than knowing that ??
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay so much !!! Henriqueta still remembers your daughter by the name "L", so she made a great impression there !!!
All the best, hope to see you again in the future !
Cheeers
Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Can't say enough about this place! Arthur is so welcoming, super friendly and you feel at home right away.

The family property is very charming, and well-decorated with a great old Portugese atmosphere.
The location is great, close to many great little cities (Guimaraes, Bragga, National Park,etc). If you're looking for a great charming accommodation in Northern Portugal, look no further!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur_Carvalho, Owner at Quinta da Cancela, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hello Dominic L!!!
I am so glad you found our family house charming and welcoming!!
The idea is that you feel at home, with friends !!!
Thanks for considering us THE place to GO in Northern Portugal !
All te best !
Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews