We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guimarães Half Day Private Tour from Porto
17

Book in advance
from
AU$210.44
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Centro Historico de Guimaraes
from AU$210.44
More Info
from AU$97.38
More Info
from AU$146.90
More Info
from AU$132.04
More Info
Reviews (3,126)
Filter reviews
3,126 results
Traveller rating
2,266
787
65
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,266
787
65
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town day trip historic center narrow streets beautiful city every corner train station ducal palace cafes and restaurants porto portugal birthplace castle stroll unesco towns tourists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 3,126 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2019 via mobile

Really nice small walkable area with lots to see and plenty of cheap bars and restaurants. Totally changes character when all the day trippers leave and everywhere is lit up nicely.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank jezzc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2019

We went for the day and visited the castle and the museum. It is interesting to visit, but there is so much else to see in Portugal.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank suehere883
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2019

It was a great pleasure to visit this well preserved medieval part of Guimaraes and to hear the interesting stories about the old buildings and places from our guide. Just to mention a few of them: Convento da Carmo (a former nunnery), the scenic Praca de Sao Tiago square, the Largo da Oliviera square with a church and a monument dedicated to a miraculous olive tree... The sculpture and the gargoyles on top of the Palace Council, located on the same square, are very interesting.

The Portuguese branch of the El Camino to Santiago de Compostela passes through this historic center, there are symbols of scallop shells carved into the pavement to guide the pilgrims.

Date of experience: April 2018
5  Thank Seeking True Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2019 via mobile

Took a walk around the old town of Guimaraes, the fist capital of Portugal and was not disappointed. Narrow streets then open piazzas with lots if outdoor cafe/restaurants to choose from.
Allow at least one hour to walk around, longer if you want to sit and people watch.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2019

UNESCO site and the birthplace of Portugal had to be seen.

Castelo de Guimaraes and the Paco dos Duques are absolute must-sees. The core historical area is very walkable. You need a minimum of a day to see the key sites.

To top it all off, we stayed and ate at the pousada, Mosteiro Santa Marinha da Costa, another historic site overlooking town.

Not be missed , Citania de Briteiros is only 15km (9 miles) north of town. One of our two favorite ancient sites in Portugal.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank WC-Travelers-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews