We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large village property with high quality...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Cachada

garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Braga, Braga District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
thegreate...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Large village property with high quality finishes, lots of character and charm with excellent hosts”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 weeks in August 2017 and we found the property to be excellent all-round, Sandra was always available to help with anything. The property was clean with a high quality finish, excellent Wifi speed and air-conditioning. Pool was a great asset to the property we used it daily. Well located for town and country activities, even a short trip into Porto. We recommend the Abidia (abadiadeste.pt) restaurant, book for Sundays though as is very popular, if you like steak try the 'Big grilled Steak' you won’t be disappointed. Also try to find the Rio Toco in the mountains (Road Bridge, near to Fafiao, over the Dam), the rock pools and waterfalls are such fun and beautiful to swim in the clear water with the small fishes and dragonflies, etc. (about 1 hour drive north into national park)

We would definitely stay again! Thanks Sandra!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Andy, thank you so mutch. it was very nice to meet you and your family. I realy hope to see you all again...
kind regards,
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fandango1...
Southampton Uk
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Fabulous villa, fabulous owners!”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Casa Cachada is unusual in that it is used as a small hotel when not rented out as a villa. There are five rooms but we rented just three - the others were locked but the whole villa is yours. The rooms are very spacious and two of them had lounge areas as well. There are TV's everywhere here with a good range of English channels compared to the usual selection. There is a good kitchen, lounge and dining area. The aircon is great, with units all over the house that make almost no noise, although we found we didn't need it much as despite the hot weather, the two feet thick walls kept the villa cool. These same walls also made the wi-fi a bit hit and miss in some areas but it was best in the garden. You can always find a good spot.

The owners were very nice. Sandra was good at responding to my emails, and in person couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy. We mentioned that we couldn't find a kettle or a large sharp knife and the next day Sandra arrived with newly purchased items. I suspect we were one of her first English clients as Portuguese people don't use kettles apparently.

There is a great authentic restaurant in the village, a bakers round the corner and a very small mini mart but it is not far to the big supermarkets or Braga. Sandra recommended a very fancy restaurant down the road and the food there was outstanding while still being a reasonable price.We loved our week here, and loved the area, which is not yet very touristy. Very few people speak any English but they are a friendly lot and we got by just fine.

I highly recommend Casa Cachada, we had a great time, but there is always room for improvement and in this case we didn't use the pool half as much as we usually do because it is unheated. By 3pm it was to the stage where it was cold when you get in but OK in a few minutes, but none of us was brave enough to use it in the morning. I suggest the owners put heating in and Casa Cachada would be the perfect villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely villa
Liked least: unheated pool
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
107thierr...
Nancy, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
107thierr...
Nancy, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation
3
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigator...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation
4
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
ça a été un plaisir vous connaître et pouvoir vous receboir. Merci! à bientôt!
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing