We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, comfortable and well-equipped apartment...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jackiemar...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect, comfortable and well-equipped apartment for two people”
Reviewed 12 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A perfectly located apartment for seafront, shops and all bus routes a short distance away, with a wonderful outlook over an attractive park and mountain in the distance. There are many restaurants and cafes nearby from which to choose plus a theatre just across the street where they hold frequent concerts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfectly located, superb apartment”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is the second time we have stayed in this apartment and we cannot rate it too highly. In the heart of Funchal overlooking lovely gardens, with easy access to restaurants, cafes, shopping, museums, churches, and links to regular buses to all parts of the island, this would suit anyone who had no hire car. However, if you hired transport there is a secure underground car parking space which is fully manned and monitored 24hrs a day. A pleasant stroll would take you to other places of interest such as the market, the harbour and marina. Spotlessly clean and simply furnished with comfortable, stylish pieces and a fully fitted kitchen area, a bathroom with bath/shower and the usual other furniture, a bedroom with a lovely, comfortable double bed and adequate storage space and a large, comfortable lounge/dining room, the accommodation is perfect for two. The owners, Lorraine and Peter, were on hand to greet us and the welcome pack was a lovely, thoughtful touch. Throughout our stay they were available for advice and help with our questions about the island, places to visit, walks, restaurants - in fact nothing was too much trouble for them and they made our stay even more enjoyable. We intend to return to Madeira in the future and will make this our No.1 choice in Funchal. Many thanks to you both - we will soon return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you will consider us again for any future stay in Madeira and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterbaxt...
Santo Antonio da Serra Machico, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Best ever apartment”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed in Apartment Arriaga 7-14th of February 2017, couldn't be better located for all city (Funchal) centre activities, only 100 metres to the seafront and access to transport for the whole of the island. Plus no hills to climb (a rarity in Madeira)! The apartment is on the high side of luxury but at a very affordable price, set in a quiet condominium overlooking the Municipal gardens and park with many cafes, restaurants and shops in easy walking distance. The apartment is fully equipped for all needs although we ate out every day except for breakfast. Will certainly go back to this apartment when visiting Madeira again, hopefully soon as Madeira has so much to see and do.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Madeira and, we hope, to Apartment Arriaga.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joolsmacl
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location changed our Madeira holiday. We got to know Funchal so much better. It's close to everything, transport, restaurants, sights and concerts. Housekeeping was very good and the apartment is really comfortable. A quiet location apart from Saturday night when everyone comes out to play. Join in or bring earplugs. haha!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are glad to hear that the location was good for you. Sorry about the Saturday night music - City Centre life! I hope we will see you back in Madeira in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful apartment in the heart of Funchal”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A beautifully located spacious apartment for two, tastefully decorated and comfortable with all amenities within walking distance. Shops, entertainment, places to dine or purchase groceries. Television (with channels in English) and free Wifi.
Great value and a pleasure to stay in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to facilities and decor. Plenty of places to visit close by.
Liked least: nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review of Apartment Arriaga. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you for a return visit in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing