We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way...”
other travellers have booked this property
300 years later...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
300 years later...
All the private outside area for your joy and happiness Delighted decoration and comfort inside the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
300 years later...
All the private outside area for your joy and happiness
Delighted decoration and comfort inside the bedroom
Kitchen, lounge and dinning area
Nothing is missing for your delicious cookings
A Madeira Wine for a toast on arrival
The main entrance for the apartment
Comfort and good taste, what else?...
Sweet dreams in this king sized bed...quiet room....
Another sofa, TV, wifi, wardrobe, bathrobes, comfortable pillows...
Modern equipped bathroom with jacuzzi
Good taste all around..
Some details will spoil you...
The sofa bed for a 3rd person at the lounge area
Enjoy your meals here with everything you need...
Time is running so quickly...make your booking right now...
Micro wave, oven and dish washer, kettle, toaster, coffee maker...
Some of the promised vegetables directly  from the Quinta kitchengardens
Something like this will surprise you on arrival.
Dinning table, deck chairs, sun umbrella, sofas...
From the apartment´s door connecting directly to the gardens.
Bring me one, please...
Fresh onions ready to be picked...
You can pick whatever you like during your stay.
Enjoy the view...
...while preparing a barbecue.
Secular gardens and trees hiding years of History...
Cruises ships arriving and leaving...what a scenery.
A special place to enjoy the view over the city.
The beautiful entrance of the Quinta full of History...and a lot more to see.
No need to tag this photo, yes, taken from the Quinta.
This is the place!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Angus C
1 review
“Perfect in every way...”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Quinta do Bom Sucesso is a beautiful old building, lovingly cared for by the owners and set in a gorgeous garden. The location is perfect, just far enough from central Funchal to be out of the bustle but only 5 minutes away on the frequent buses, which stop outside the door. The apartment is spacious, comfortable and fully equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay. I have to say, we have never stayed anywhere so spotlessly clean..! It truly was immaculate. On arrival, we found a basket of fresh eggs & produce from the garden, wine, including the famous Madeira wine, fresh bread and the most amazing homemade passion fruit pudding…! The new pool was a welcome addition, perfect for cooling off with a spectacular view over the harbour. There is a supermarket, pharmacy & café/bakery just 5 minutes’ walk from the apartment and, if you have decent leg muscles, central Funchal can be reached in about 15 minutes, down a steep road. Madeira is hilly..! We were made to feel so welcome by Abel & Teresa; it really felt more like staying with friends. They’re hospitality is second to none and when we come back to Madeira, we will certainly be staying here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2018
Thank you very much for sharing this kind review about your experience in the Quinta!
We hope you get the chance to come back to Madeira.
Best wishes,
Edgar, Abel and Teresa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Alan B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely apartment, gorgeous location and perfect hosts!”
Reviewed 18 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This is a real gem - A lovely apartment set in a beautiful garden, with views out over the town. Far enough out of town to relax, and close enough to walk down the hill to dinner, at one of the many excellent restaurants in the old town.

Out hosts were great - everything was as it should be, and more! More than once we enjoyed home grown salad from the prolific vegetable garden - a perfect accompaniment to the location.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Quinta!
Hope you have a chance to return to Madeira in the future.
My parents send their best regards.
All the best,
Edgar.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEV446
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable flat in a beautiful Quinta overlooking Funchal harbour.”
Reviewed 30 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We choose this place because of all the glowing reviews and we were not disappointed! The flat is spacious, very comfortable and nicely furnished and decorated, and everything is impeccably clean. The kitchen is very well equipped with hob with 4 rings, full sized oven and microwave, dishwasher, large fridge freezer, toaster, coffeemaker, nespresso machine, panini toaster, electric juicer. Also plenty of cookware, crockery and cutlery. The fridge was very well stocked , and on the table there was a huge bowl of all sorts of fruits and breadrolls, there was also a bowl with a selection of vegetables, red and white wine , a bottle of Madeira wine and a Madeira specialty cake, and 12 eggs from the chickens that are kept at the Quinta. Needless to say that we did not have to buy much additional food! The patio in the beautiful front gardens with views over Funchal town and harbour is a fantastic place to unwind after a day of sight seeing with a glass of wine or poncha!
The owners Abel and Teresa are incredible hosts. They live in another part of the house, and are very helpful and make one feel really welcome, without being intrusive. On our last evening they invited us for dinner which was really nice and not expected.
As for the location - there are a few shops close by, and Funchal centre is approximately a 20 min downhill walk away, coming back on foot on the steep slope is a bit more taxing for people like us of a certain age so we took taxis (about €5) or a local bus. Taxis are plenty and the public transport network is very well developed and frequent, including to other parts of the island, and there are of course many tours available too. We therefore did not find it necessary to hire a car.
In summary, the Quinta do Bom Succeso is a great base from which to explore this beautiful island. This holiday really exceeded our expectations, both because of the accommodation and the island itself. We unreservedly recommend a stay with Abel and Teresa in their beautiful Quinta, and when we return to Madeira in the future we will look to stay there again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in our Quinta!
We work very hard and therefore feel delighted with such rewarding reviews.
Best regards,
Abel, Teresa and Edgar.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reubun
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a wonderful holiday in Madeira thanks to the kindness and generosity of the owners at the Quinta, who provided everything you could possibly need for a great holiday. The apartment was absolutely lovely and the owners were so kind and helpful. We really appreciated all the fruit, vegetables, wine and food were left for us to enjoy. We loved the garden, its views, privacy and comfortable seating. I can completely agree with all the positive comments made by all the previous reviewers.

We hired a car but found the local bus service so good that a car was not really necessary. We would love to come again and would recommend that you give it a try!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2018
Thank you very much for this lovely review!
We truly hope you have the chance to come back to our Quinta.
Best wishes,
Abel, Teresa and Edgar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing