We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location, restful and homely.”
other travellers have booked this property
300 years later...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
300 years later...
All the private outside area for your joy and happiness Delighted decoration and comfort inside the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
300 years later...
All the private outside area for your joy and happiness
Delighted decoration and comfort inside the bedroom
Kitchen, lounge and dinning area
Nothing is missing for your delicious cookings
A Madeira Wine for a toast on arrival
The main entrance for the apartment
Comfort and good taste, what else?...
Sweet dreams in this king sized bed...quiet room....
Another sofa, TV, wifi, wardrobe, bathrobes, comfortable pillows...
Modern equipped bathroom with jacuzzi
Good taste all around..
Some details will spoil you...
The sofa bed for a 3rd person at the lounge area
Enjoy your meals here with everything you need...
Time is running so quickly...make your booking right now...
Micro wave, oven and dish washer, kettle, toaster, coffee maker...
Some of the promised vegetables directly  from the Quinta kitchengardens
Something like this will surprise you on arrival.
Dinning table, deck chairs, sun umbrella, sofas...
From the apartment´s door connecting directly to the gardens.
Bring me one, please...
Fresh onions ready to be picked...
You can pick whatever you like during your stay.
Enjoy the view...
...while preparing a barbecue.
Secular gardens and trees hiding years of History...
Cruises ships arriving and leaving...what a scenery.
A special place to enjoy the view over the city.
The beautiful entrance of the Quinta full of History...and a lot more to see.
No need to tag this photo, yes, taken from the Quinta.
This is the place!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Amazing location, restful and homely.”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

An amazing location with great views over Funchal. Abel and Theresa gave us a warm welcome, left us fresh fruit and produce from their garden during our stay. They were very kind and helpful if we needed any help. The apartment was well equipped and spacious. It was really nice to pick herbs from the garden for tea or cooking. We would recommend the apartment and Mr Edgar and his family as hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brindifie...
cheltenham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We arrived at Quinta da Bom Sucesso to a lovely welcome from Abel who showed us around the grounds of the property. It is stunning place with a lovely garden and accommodation to match. It lived up to everything I had hoped for and had seen in the pictures. We had beautiful vegetables from the garden and fresh eggs from Abel and Teresa's chickens which we enjoyed every morning for our breakfast. The weather was lovely and so good to have the warmth from the sun at the beginning of February! The views from the garden over Funchal are magical especially at night. Would recommend this acccommdation! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Siena, Italy
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Dear Carolin,
Indeed in Winter time bathing at the sea may not be the best option. But in that time of the year there are inumerous activities related to nature and exploring Madeira at its best. We sent you a link with all that, seems that you didn´t open it.
Regarding the smell you mention we had someone at the house immediately after reading this review as during your stay you didn´t mention anything. At the same day you left, other guests arrived and they confirmed they didn´t notice that too. anyway, we wanted to be sure so a tecnichal was here and indeed found nothing.
Reading all our reviews after yours, or even before, anyone can see there is absolutely no mention of such a thing. You stayed just for 3 days as we already had other bookings and we could see you weren´t very happy to leave, maybe this is why you wrote that.
But our guests comfort are our priority and we get only 5 stars rating which means a lot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brian L
2 reviews
“Beautiful garden retreat”
Reviewed 9 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Incredible gardens and lovely hospitality made our stay wonderful. Thank you so much for your thoughtful planning and warm welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
70STP
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enchanting and idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The accomodation and garden are just as described an enchanting and idyllic retreat set high above the port on a good bus route The views from the property are stunning- watching the cruise ships coming and going -the twinkling lights of Funchal at night and of course the sun making the houses on the slopes of the city glow in the morning.The gardens around the house are extensive, beautifully kept and a real joy to wander in. Beds of roses, strelitzias and chrysanthemums, not to mention the climbers such as bougainvillia etc and the well stocked vegetable gardens and fruit trees.When you rent the property you have the the whole garden to your self! The owners are so kind, thoughtful and generous in their hospitality. We had arranged through them a taxi at the airport which made our arrival smooth and stress free and later a car hire. When we arrived in the evening there was a meal prepared for us, along side a huge basket of fruit and one of vegetables much from the garden. During the stay you can pick the garden produce which was a real treat. The wifi is trouble free we were able to listen live to Radio 4 etc. There is a superb bakery a few minutes walk away and of course the wonderful market in the centre of Funchal.
Teresa, Abel and their son Henrique went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful holiday and we did..This is a very special place run by very special people. Thank you all again, to Henrique for translating so perfectly duirng our stay, to Abel for getting us to the hire car company on time and to Teresa for her wonderful preserves and passionfruit dessert.We found that what has been said in previous reviews to be totally accurate and would thoroughly recommend this lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden and the warmth of the welcome from the family
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing