We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house for excellent New Year in Funchal”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
15 minutes walk
15 minutes walk
10 minutes walk
10 minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great house for excellent New Year in Funchal”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This was a great house for our stay in Funchal over New Year - spacious, nice terrace to relax on and one of the best equipped kitchens I have come across. Plus a good view of the wonderful fireworks on New Years Eve.
Very convenient for Funchal centre, and even a great cafe 50m up the road.
No problems, and definitely hope to be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachpeop...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a great location.”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were 3 retired couples staying in this house for 7 nights. We found the house very spacious with plenty of bedrooms. The 3 bedrooms we used all had very modern spacious ensuite washrooms.
Our host Luis was very nice and met us nearby to show us where the house was and gave us a thorough tour of this beautiful property.
The location was excellent with just a 10 minute walk to the downtown area of Funchal which is where the market is and the cruise ships dock. Lots of bars and restaurants with outdoor cafes. The road back to the house was very steep so make sure you have good walking shoes or take a taxi which is only about 5 Euros.
Our only complaints were that the beds are even smaller than our double beds in North America. Also, whenever you moved on the mattress which was sitting on a piece of particle board it was very noisy. As we are not small people this made it very difficult to get any sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of this beautiful house
Liked least: Small noisy beds
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming, lovely house in funchal”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I only have to said the best about this House.i sent the most amazing vacation in my life in Madeira and this has an important part on that because it had everything that i need to have Fun and relaxang journey,
My family loved this place because it had an amazing outdoor space for my kids play and make family barbecue and a pool table which was an amazing extra that we live
It was on a quiet place and Very well located i couldn't ask for more
Finally a word for Luis because he was Very kind and always available for us
Thank you i will Be back soon for sure

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis F
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“House Exlente”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house is beautiful and very well located. It has everything you need for the house. Large indoor and outdoor space until there is a kennel for pets. Large outdoor garden and beautiful interior garden. Fantastic house. Views of the stunning funchal. Me and my family love this house. Let's go back for sure. Luis is a very friendly and helpful person.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell1...
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location within easy reach of old town”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from our first trip to Madeira. If you are looking for a spacious, family house in quiet location but within a 10 minute walk to the market and old town restaurants, Casa das Martas is a fantastic holiday base. We had a rental car...not necessary for a stay in Funchal as taxis are very economical, but location of house is good for accessing day trips out of town. The house itself is very well equipped with lovely views of harbour and surrounding hills. Easy downhill walk to town. Taxi recommended for return journey but only 5 euros. Luis very welcoming and provided lots of local knowledge. This house accommodates four couples or variation of family/friend groups with privacy and private bathroom facilities. Our teenage boys loved the cellar room with pool table.. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, character property, location for town, privacy
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2016
Dear Michell
Thank you for your comment on our house Casa das Martas.
You are always welcome at our house and the island of Madeira.
I said you'd like a lot of our house.
See you soon.
Kind regards.
Luís Carvalho
CASA DAS MARTAS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing