We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
USD 58
View deal
ZenHotels.com
USD 56
View deal
PricelineUSD 59
Booking.comUSD 59
eDreamsUSD 59
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
6
38
32
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6
38
32
9
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2019

This hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of town. Check in was quick but we were only given information around breakfast times, the lady on reception in the evening Therese was much more helpful and informative.
Room was spacious and clean with the shower always hot and powerful but the aircon was not quite cool enough.
Breakfast was fine, cold buffet with juice and good coffee. As I had read reviews on here before the holiday I knew that there is a sister hotel only 50 yards away, The Windsor which has a roof top terrace with a lovely swimming pool that you can use. We would have struggled without the use of this due to the heat.
There are hundreds of places to eat, good ones are Trigal, Opiano, Obravo and Sabores. Local drinks are Poncha(Sugar cane juice with different flavours added, Fisherman's Poncha is very strong and blew my socks off!) and Nikita, Vanilla ice cream, pineapple, sugar, white beer and white wine!).
Yellow Hop on Hop off bus trips were 25 euro each for a 3 route 5 day ticket. public buses are cheaper but this option was flexible for us. Places to see among lots are Camara de Lobos, Pico de Lobos and Cabo de Girao(Skywalk over a 580 metre cliff).
An obvious day out is to take the cable car up to Monte(11 euros for a single), Monte Palace gardens(12.50 each, took us 3.5 hours to see it all), Basket Toboggan ride halfway down the mountain(30 euros for 2 people, 2km ride), Taxi back into town (the drivers will ask for 15 euros but we bartered for 10).

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWindsorGroup, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Do Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments. We were pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We will take a good note on the less positive points you mention and will have them in consideration for further improvements.
We look forward to your next stay at our hotel.

Please take care.

With kind regards from Madeira,
Luminita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2019

My wife & i stayed at these premises for 5 nights , like most peeps i checked it out on " Trip Advisor " to gauge our expectations . Everything that most peeps had said were pretty accurate , apart from the following that i shall impart .. in an impartial & hopefully fair manner . The pillows , NOT as lumpy as previously reported .. myself & the wife slept soundly EVERY night ( not using the duck down filled type at home anyway ) . So whether the management had listened to prior moans / groans or not , & addressed this gripe .. i do not know . What we had under our heads was fine , & there was a spare pillow that we only noticed on our last day .. in the top of a wardrobe / cupboard . The breakfast WAS simple fayre , although i have to say in a pleasant clean & recently refurbished area ( as was the reception area & foyer , different to what i saw on " Trip Advisor " photos ) . For 5 days i had the choice of 2 cereals , imitation corn flakes or " choco / bran flakes " ( didn't try or taste the latter , as i merely didn't fancy them ) .. i mixed the former in with separate bowls of currants / raisins & oats ( D.I.Y. muesli in other words ) . Along with Yogurt , 2 types of bread rolls , honey , & the customary " cheese & ham " for the weirdos ! . Various types of tea for the luvvies , but blissfully a big " CHA" tea urn for us English folk .. normal tea on tap ( if a tad weak , so don't add a lot of milk ) . Coffee etc for the toffs , bananas & a weird looking presumably fruit .. so although given what i have mentioned .. we didn't feel the need to rush up the road for a bacon sarnie . " Perfectly adequate " start to the day , if a tad uninspiring .. thank you to the lady who kept everything clean & tidy there ( you were worthy of our 5 euro tip ) . Staff in general were extremely friendly & helpful , as i found out most Madeirans were .. on my first trip to Portuguese territory ( Oh how i wished we'd been here before !! ) . NOISE , from the street side rooms ( where we were situated ) was not a problem .. as you keep the window shut !! . What was a problem was the lack of PRIVACY , being positioned on a narrow street having flats , offices etc opposite .. meant that on exiting the SPACIOUS well equipped bathroom .. one had to protect ones modesty by drawing the curtains first . NET CURTAINS ..(please note management ).. would simply eradicate this major flaw , & a " tonight Matthew " situation arising . For us gents on the shaving front , a brilliant large mirror with PERFECT lighting . Bidet for the ladies , plus a good new looking hair drier .. plus electric shaving point . The biggest 3 star bathroom we've ever encountered on our travels , a definite plus . ONE power point though in the hotel room itself , at skirting board level , so take a DOUBLE European plug adaptor . Copious clean towels & toilet rolls , were a welcome bonus too . Also if like us , you like a brew in your room , take a travel kettle ( we forgot ours , gutted ) . T.V with Sky & BBC 24 hr Br-exit coverage, if you like your news & want to be depressed on holiday . Unfortunately the lift is cosy (4 peeps max) , or in our case .. 2 peeps + Samsonite case ( cosy enough ta ! ) . Never the less perfectly adequate, as is the rest of this hotel . Supermarket next door the size of the Albert Hall , & a pharmacy a SHORT walk to the left up the road .. with the lovely Nadine serving ( who spoke perfect English ) She was a great help when the wife went down with Delhi belly , from having a dodgy drink at unbelievably " the Ritz " .. which taught me not to go posh again on my birthday . A swimming pool at the 4 star Windsor hotel , a SHORT walk up the street opposite to the Do centro is available to use .. & is worth a visit as we did just to look . Very nice area with a great backdrop view , if you want , or feel the need for a dip .. plus a small pool bar . Plus if you hire a car , you can leave it at the Windsor .. no parking at the Do Centro .. good luck with the one way system though ( previous visiting peeps would understand that one ) . Perfectly positioned for short walk to sea front , shops etc , cable car & old town .. we would definitely stay here again ( or the Windsor , dependant on price of course ) . All round nice adequate place to stay , you won't be disappointed .. unless your minted .

Room tip: Read my report , that should suffice .. never explored the rest of this small Hotel .. just FUNCHAL .
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank banos p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWindsorGroup, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Do Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Dear Guest,

We were pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel.

We will take a good note on the less positive points you mention and will have them in consideration for further improvements.
We look forward to your next stay at our hotel.

Please take care.

With kind regards from Madeira,
Luminita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2019

All you really need: wifi, hot water with good pressure, flat screen TV, hair dryer, balcony with two chairs, all super clean. Why they don’t get better pillows is a mystery… Location is very convenient: 5 min walk to Mercado, under 10 to cable car/bus station. Helpful staff, though one offered tours and car rental at prices higher than you could get from the tourist office, which is not well signed--it's a 10 minute walk down the same street as the hotel (to the left), opposite the Palazio Sao Lorenzo—very helpful and knowledgeable staff there.
Walls are a bit thin, breakfast is not great. Use of the Windsor Hotel pool nearby.

Room tip: back side away from street
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank PlanetMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWindsorGroup, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Do Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I’m sad to see that we did not manage to correspond to your expectations. We shall carefully analyze the less positive points you mention and will have it in consideration for further improvements.

We would be happy to see you again at our hotel in order to meet your expectations.

Please take care.

With kind regards from Madeira,
Luminita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

This was nice moderate hotel in the centre of Funchal. If you prefere hotel with short walking distance from everywhere in Funchal centre this is your hotel. No pool in the hotel. Hotel was small with very helpful staff. Room we had was with balcony to the silent side of the hotel. Breakfast was very basic but good enough for us. Therewas also a minimarket on next building if you want to buy something to eat or drink. Hotel was 100 m from main street and very close to Mercado dos Lavradores market place and also the old town.

Date of stay: December 2017
4  Thank Kirsti58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Very central location about a 10 min. walk from the old town where you catch the cable car and the Mercado dos Lavradores. In the opposite direction you come to the Sé (main church).
Next to a supermarket and plenty of places to eat.
Rooms are clean and staff friendly, although a bit outdated.
Breakfast was OK, but not much variety.
If you're looking for a no frill hotel with a great location then this will do.
Our room faced the street, so it was a bit noisy Our friend'sn room faced the back and had a balcony which was nice and quiet,

Room tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing the main street
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c0rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews